We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knowledgeable host, beautiful gardens, warm welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horquetas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tico Rainforest B & B
Ranked #1 of 1 Horquetas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We had the great pleasure of staying two nights at Casa Araya, near Horquetas, before and after going to nearby Rara Avis Lodge.(see our review of that experience too) Victor and Magda Araya receive visitors in their very comfortable home, set in beautiful gardens by the river. Victor, a forest engineer, generously took the time to identify and explain the many varieties of trees and flowers he has planted on the extensive grounds around his house. He has many kinds of Heliconia. He also pointed out the sloth and the toucans in the trees in the yard. Magda offered us coffee and biscuits when we arrived. In the evening, we sat out on the wide balcony, listened to the night sounds and ate our picnic. (We'd had a big noon meal, but otherwise it would have been possible to arrange dinner there.) Breakfast was copious and delicious. We ate with our hosts before their working day started. Our room was large and comfortable and the shared bathroom (which we had to ourselves since the other two rooms were unoccupied) was very clean. This was a restful place to stay, in the home of a welcoming Costa Rican family. Had we stayed longer, Victor would have taken us to his nearby 6-hectare property and given us more of an introduction to the tropical rain forest. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mangau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WParks, Public Relations Manager at Tico Rainforest B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Friend, thank you for being part of our family at Casa Araya B & B. It was a pleasure to share and learn a little about you and your culture. Your recommendation is very important to us, as it helps us grow as an international family friendly destination. The idea is that with your input about our service, we can achieve our desire that you feel the ''pura vida'' that is Costa Rica. Come back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Tico Rainforest B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

Casa Araya was a great place to stay for my first trip to Costa Rica. The accommodation were great. Victor and Magda were excellent hosts. What really made the trip was Victor was my tour guide for the week. He knew the right places to go and I got some many excellent images to add to my web site.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pineytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Caminar por toda la propiedad te permitirá observar muchas aves y río al fondo.
Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Fernando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WParks, Public Relations Manager at Tico Rainforest B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maddan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WParks, Public Relations Manager at Tico Rainforest B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaux C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WParks, Public Relations Manager at Tico Rainforest B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessMartijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WParks, Public Relations Manager at Tico Rainforest B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Marcelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horquetas
10.7 mi away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
166 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
198 reviews
7.9 mi away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sarapiqui
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 1 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
140 reviews
10.6 mi away
Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tico Rainforest B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tico Rainforest B & B

Address: | Isla Grande, Horquetas, Costa Rica (Formerly Casa Araya Bed & Breakfast)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > Horquetas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Horquetas
Price Range: £30 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tico Rainforest is located in the Northeast Costa Rica, and it is less than two hours from its Capital, San José. Our region is privileged to be highly recognized for our global biodiversity and can be characterized for hosting more than 500 species of birds, more than 3000 plant species, more than 120 mammals, 87 species of reptiles and more than 50 amphibians. And many of them only exist here. No other country can claim such diversity. Our average annual temperature is 26 degrees centigrade (74 degrees Fahrenheit) with an annual precipitation rate between 4000 and 10000 mm (roughly 40 inches to 100 inches), which is distinctive of the rain forest. Tico Rainforest has accommodations for your vacation in a harmonious environment, so you will be in just the right place to enjoy your trip. Besides that, part of our pride is that on our property alone, we have 209 different species of birds, which makes us a special place for people who love bird watching and photography. There is also a river that is very well known because of its calm waters that runs along wild forest that embrace important biological stations such as La Selva Biological Station and others. Ten minutes from our hostel we have 16 acres of secondary forest where you will find plenty of species of flora and fauna true to our environment, including trees that grow naturally that are In danger of extinction. Our strategic location allows our visitors to go investigate other sites such as volcanoes, National Parks, Biological Reserves, Wildlife Refuges, and in addition, to perform other adventure activities like river floating, canopy rides and hiking, among others.(Spanish/English) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tico Rainforest B & B Costa Rica/Sarapiqui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing