We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little piece of paradise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Rica

Costa Rica
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Horquetas
Cuisines: Central American, Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, South American
Dining options: Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Likes: The pura vida lifestyle, friendliness, climate, prices, FOOD was so fresh and amazing...I actually got sick when I came back to the states because I went back to eating processed junk.

Dislikes: Need to know what areas are safe/not safe (people there told us when we should turn around thankfully...), toilet paper goes in the garbage and hot water was a rarity, but it was well worth it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KayDelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Discover the Costa Rica's people and country.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

I have discover the Costa Rica's people, they are charming, respect and very lovable people. I discover too, the country, visiting with Victor the owner, some nice place in this country, Botanic garden, volcano, coffee's plantation and some very good restaurants.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful, beautiful Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

By all means go to Costa Rica!! Friendly people who are genuinely glad to see you, English is widely spoken where tourists go, the water is safe to drink all over the country, electricity the same as in the U.S. so you don't need a converter, American dollars are accepted, the weather is warm, and the country is clean and very eco-friendly in a non confrontational way. Other than that it was OK.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank johnlobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
128 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Friendly and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

This is one of our favorite countries! It's beautiful, the people are very friendly and helpful and above all it's amazing that they are working so hard to protect their nature and wildlife.
Amazing to see the differences in nature when travelling around. The huge mountins and volcanos compared to the rainforest.
We will definitely go back! Love it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malin_o_Jonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed in Costa Rica in September 2013 and travelled from Tortuguero on the Caribean coast to Drake bay in the south at the pacific coast. Visiting in between several National Parks. We traveled by car and by boat which was a great thing to do. The rainy season implied that we occasionally had a shower in the afternoon. Because it was low season the crowds were not there and staffs had full attention for us which was really an advantage. We did not stay in San Jose and by doing that we did not miss a lot. The Tico's are the most kindly people we ever met on our trips and we have never felt unsafe anywhere in Costa Rica. Pura Vida !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank HollandWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Costa Rica also viewed

Horquetas, Sarapiqui
Horquetas, Sarapiqui
 
Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Sarapiqui
 
Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui, Sarapiqui
Santo Domingo de Heredia, Province of Heredia
 

Been to Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing