We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the centre of the lovely town Zutphen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Zutphen
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed at the Eden hotel (hampshire hotel) during our visit at Zutphen for 2 nights. We did choose for the upgrade because there were no other rooms available (there was a wedding at the hotel). The suite was fantastic. Breakfast was ok. The staff during the breakfast didn't had a good morning, could be more friendly. We had dinner at brasserie 6, next to the hotel and had a good evening overthere. I read some negative things about this hotel, but it is a fine place to stay, you're in the centre of Zutphen. It's a fine town to walk around and to explore the nature of "Hoge Veluwe" that's nearby. And visit Bronckhorst, also very close to Zutphen. A very small town, lovely to walk around.

Room Tip: Ask for the upgrade to a suite. Fantastic rooms!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roeland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
There are newer reviews for Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

Seriously shop-worn, I travel with full line of toiletries I've never needed them til now there's not even soap in the bathroom!! Bare-bones is not an exaggeration not maintained at all, torn furniture, sparse towels, lights don't work, this place is an embarrassment, if it wasn't late and if i weren't here for one nite I'd insist on another room the town is charming so there MUST be another place to stay... Find it

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60763Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDooren, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Dear Madam,
I just received your review about your stay at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had such a disappointment stay. I do apologize for all the inconveniences you have had! Could you please contact me, so I can contact you personally? I look forward hearing from you!
With kind regards Marieke Dooren (info.zutphen@hampshire-hotels.com / 0031-575-596868)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I stayed here for one night, during a 2 day course. The room rate is supposedly €129 a night exclusive of brf. Way too expensive. It is a so-called 4* hotel, the room doesn't show it though. No soap in bathroom, no tea/coffee making facilities, lamp broken. Bed is good though but rather small. Location is in city centre which is lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nibicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDooren, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012
Google Translation

Geachte heer/mevrouw
Spijtig dat de kamer waarin u heeft overnacht u zo is tegengevallen. Mijn excuses voor de geleden ongemakken en dat de zeep niet was bijgevuld had natuurlijk niet gemogen. U heeft waarschijnlijk in een van onze Economic Singles of Economic Doubles overnacht. Op deze kamers staan niet standaard koffie/thee zet faciliteiten, maar we hadden u met alle plezier een set gebracht. Misshien een tip voor een volgende keer: Buiten deze kamers beschikt ons hotel ook over ruimere Twin kamers, Superior kamers en suites. Misschien dat deze kamers meer aan uw wensen en verwachtingen voldoen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Visiting wellness center Ryokan for the day, we needed a two night stay and decided to book at the Hampshire.
Stains on the carpet, bathroom towels with holes in, no coffee or tea to welcome you - but who cares when you have friendly staff?
Check your bill though, they tried not only to overcharge us but also invoiced 4 breakfasts we did not consume. All was sorted in the end, but it's not very pleasant to check out in this way thinking about what would have happened had we not complained immediately.
Another thing to consider should you contemplate booking at this hotel, there is parking outside but you have to pay. There is an option to rent a parking card from the hotel but this will set you back 12.5O euro/day. You can park free behind the police station but this is a 10 minute walk from the hotel and, in spite of the police station, it is truly chavtown -park at your own risk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent our wedding night in this hotel and it was absolutely perfect. I dont know exactly what kind of room we had (it was not a standard room off course) but it looked amazing (room nr 311). Inside the room a hoist mechanism was beautiful visible. By looking outside the window we could see the Walburg-church, wich is a great view.

When we arrived, our luggage was already brought to the room by the staff. Also some nice champagne and sushi-like-snacks stood ready.

The next morning we had breakfast at our bed, which was good but could be better (The "fresh-fruits" were from a can).

Checkout went smoothly! Overall a very good hotel (in my opinion) wich i perfectly located in the centre of Zutphen.

Room Tip: Take room 311!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDooren, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012
Google Translation

Geachte gast,
Hartelijk dank voor uw reactie op tripadvisor naar aanleiding van uw verblijf in ons hotel. U heeft overnacht in onze Antique Suite, fijn dat u zo genoten heeft van deze kamer!
Ik wil u hierbij dan ook nog graag feliciteren met uw huwelijk en wens u veel geluk samen!
Hartelijke groet, Marieke Dooren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Booked thru an auction. Room is pretty small, but convenient. Bathroom (including bathtub) is very small. However, all is available. We had a room on the front (old part); nice view on the terrace and square. Buffet breakfast was included. Enough of everything.
Nice and helpful staff (both reception and buffet). Parking vouchers are available at the front desk.

Room Tip: If you want a comfortable night in a convenient hotel against a reasonable price in an excellent are...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDooren, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review at tripadvisor! Nice to read you had a good stay, I have complimented the staff with your comments.

Hope to see you again, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed here with extended family (mother, brother with family and sister with son). We ourselves stayed in a huge suite, of which there were three in the old part of the building on the top floor (but the suite was very dusty, probably not used very much?). But if you stay in the new part in the back of the house, it could be any Ibis hotel (because I wouldn't rate this any higher than Ibis quality). The breakfast buffet was good, although the breakfast space for the size of the hotel is far too small, so you have to "fight" for a table (Dutch people don't stand neatly in line) and the bufffet is half empty if you're out of luck. We had a small lunch in one of the restaurants of the hotel, and this was excellent. And then the check out and your bill: well, ladies and gentlemen, I would look carefully at your bill, because our bill was wrong in so may ways, it was not funny anymore. They were not difficult in adjusting the bill, but we noticed other guests with the same problems, so it seemed to be a systematic problem whereby the staff knew not to argue anymore. F.e every morning they automatically book breakfasts on your bill, even though you did not request breakfast in advance and at breakfast itself your roomnumber was never asked?? We will not be back at this hotel.

Room Tip: only the three suites on top looked adequate as accommodations to us, maybe the rooms in the old par...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jurriaan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zutphen
1.3 mi away
Inntel Hotels Resort Zutphen
4.2 mi away
Kasteel Engelenburg
Kasteel Engelenburg
#1 of 2 in Brummen
288 reviews
4.8 mi away
De Hoofdige Boer
De Hoofdige Boer
#2 of 2 in Almen
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Postillion Hotel Deventer
5.8 mi away
Hotel Landgoed Ehzerwold
7.9 mi away
Sandton IJsselhotel Deventer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen

Address: 's Gravenhof 6, 7201 DN Zutphen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Zutphen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Zutphen
Price Range: £76 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Silver Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing