We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
42
126
123
55
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
126
123
55
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelwalking distancecar parkmy opinionbeautiful old buildingcity centre locationbreakfast roomfew minutes
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is not 4* but somewhere between 2 and 3*. No-one available at reception. Service bordering on the unprofessional. (Single) room without airconditioning and intermittent internet. Noisy too even with windows closed. Not living up to its terrific location and impressive facade.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face the road or parking lot.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertfM2964OM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HampshireZutphen, Front Office Manager at Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014
Google Translation

Geachte heer,

Wat spijtig om te lezen dat uw overnachting niet is geworden wat u er van had gehoopt, hiervoor onze excuses. Uw punten van kritiek worden zeker besproken met de diverse afdelingen.

Bedankt voor uw reactie op deze site, we kunnen hier zeker mee aan de slag.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My daughter and I stayed here one night, after having stayed in a much cheaper and better hotel in Arnhem.
The room was very disappointing, it needs updating and the beds were soft and uncomfortable.
It was at ground floor level, with a view of a wall, close to the outside terrace where quite loud music was played.
The bathroom needs updating too and was very cramped.
The breakfast was very good, but overpriced, especially compared to our previous hotel.
The staff were helpful. A shame we were given the wrong advice about lockers at the railway station - there were not any, so we had to walk back to the hotel to leave our bags there, costing us valuable time as we were on a tight schedule.
The location is excellent, in one of the nicest streets of Zutphen, a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marmarhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Again I had to change room twice in order to have a connection to internet! Started with 246, door closed no internet, then 226 , same problem and finally 122 and there it worked !!
So it is the sexond time that I have the same problem in this hotel, they really should solve this !
For the rest the hotel is ok.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank clementineWavre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohannesHuisma, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you, for your review on Tripadvisor, regarding your stay in Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen.

Lately, we made several improvements to our Wifi network at certain floors.
I regret to read that you did not had full acces to this facility and therefore had to change your room, but I am glad that it worked at least. I can assure you that we will do everything to avoid such situations in the future, and will certainly look in to this situation, to see what happened and wherefor the connection felt down.

Finally, it would be our delight, to welcome you again in our hotel

Kind regards,
Johannes Huisma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I don't understand why this hotel has a 4-star rating.

Pro's:
- Nice staff;
- Good breakfast with different kinds of bread, only fruit was over the date;
- Rituals soap in your bathroom.
- Perfect location in the city centre

Cons:
- blurry spots on the carpet;
- poor paintcondition of the walls;
- Most of the lamps in the room don't work;
- Poor Wifi-reception in the room;
- Most of the foto's shown on the internet are taken in the better looking brasserie (next door).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Whilst it's located almost in the very center of Zutphen, Hampshire in Zutphen is still not very easy to find, also the entrance can be quite confusing, especially when it's dark as there is no clear signage.

We stayed here in May one night, but we had a High Tea there earlier in August of last year.

Service is usually good, but you still have the odd insufficiently trained member of staff.
There happened to be many issues with the room, for example the lock system, certain small appliances missing, the pillows where old and very uncomfortable, and the room needed also some painting badly! But beyond these things it was ok, and breakfast was just fine.

If it wasn't for the central location of this hotel I would not really recommend it.
Although just dining or maybe a High Tea here might be worthwhile.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Experienced T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohannesHuisma, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you, for your review on Tripadvisor, regarding your stay in Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen.
We will certainly take your comments seriously and asure you, that we will do our best,
to improve these specific points mentioned, about the signage and the room.
Nevertheless, since it's been a while, we hope to welcome you again for a stay!

Kind regards,
Johannes Huisma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews