We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend for our exclusive hire!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newenden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bodiam Boating Station
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked out the campsite for a group get together and this place was PERFECT, Alex and Vanessa couldn't do enough to help us and were always on hand when we needed anything, especially coffees! The toilets and showers look deceptively rustic, but were lovely, clean, hot & spacious. The grounds were a great size for what we needed with only 15 pitches around the outside of the field it was nicely contained yet allowed for plenty of room for ball games. Fires in pits and dogs allowed and the fact that there is a gate meant the younger children were safely contained.

But campsite aside, what made this place even better was the location, river and activities, we steam trained it to Bodiam castle and ferried back, Alex, who runs the ferry, let all the children have a turn and was very informative during the pretty and relaxing journey. We then had an hours kayaking on the river - which was a lot of fun. A group of children also did the paddle power with Paul - a 2 hour sit in kayak lesson, which they all loved.

Everyone who came have raved about how wonderful it was and how fantastic Vanessa, Alex and all the staff are - so a MASSIVE thank you to you all for helping make the weekend so successful & we will be back soon!

PS if you are planning a camping party and fancy a night off the BBQ then Sahebs Indian will provide a delicious banquet to take away and the Northiam Fish Bar does children's portions, made for a perfect evening.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I picked up a leaflet about this place at Bodiam Castle last year and have been wanting to visit since.

This week I got the chance and took my caravan and 2 children for a two night stay at the campsite. The weather wasn't great but we still had fun in a canoe and had ice creams from the small cafe in the gardens.

The owners were very friendly and helpful as was the young lady in the cafe who helped us with the life jackets.

We had a very enjoyable stay overall and hope to return to enjoy some fun in the sun!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Moongardners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely words. The weather did let us down this week, but so pleased you had fun anyway and hopefully see you in the sun next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have just camped for 2 nights at this wonderful little spot. The owners and staff were all very friendly and personable. They offer kayak/boat hire as they are right next to a river or if your not feeling that adventurous, there are some scenic walks and if you time it correctly you may even see the local steam train chuff by. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Since you are not far away, I hope to see you here again over the summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed on the campsite and can honestly say it is an fantastic spot for walking, boating and even cycling and the general area has a lot to offer. Vanessa and Alex can not do enough to make your stay enjoyable and being honest of what they need to do. I can't wait to follow their plans to improve their site and I can't wait to stay again. A big thankyou.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salpot56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Wow, what a lovely review. Fingers crossed the new cafe will be built this winter. Keep in touch and hope to see you here again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed on the campsite in the complex,( river trips offered, outside teas & cakes area and the cosy camping area) location is great as lots to do and see ( bodiam castle, the e sussex steam train, great Dixter, Rye) in the area, but even if you don't want to drive there are lovely walks and also a village across the river ( 10 min walk) highly recommended place to stay

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Barquit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your first family camping trip with us and hope it's the first of many with us. Thank you for taking the trouble to write such a glowing report, it really does help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Have just returned from a pleasant visit. Found the boating station by chance in a "things to do in..." booklet. Two hours rowing with kids and dog was plenty and though we didn't reach Bodiam Castle, enjoyed it immensely. A cup of tea and ice creams back at the cafe, served by very genial staff, were great. We did go to the pub up the road for a proper lunch but the cream teas and baguettes looked good. Took the opportunity to check out the camping facilities for a camping trip another time - I'm sure we will give it a go!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ng0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thanks for sharing your experience and hope to get your camping booking soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I arranged a 30th birthday party stay for two nights for my wife and a group of friends during the middle of July. The checklist for the ideal location to host this was extremely high and to be honest I did not think I would find it. A stunning location, plenty of things to do during the day, a warm welcome, a pub close by and a camp side fire. Bodiam Boating Station ticked every single box and more.

Alex and Vanessa were absolutely fantastic right from when I made contact. They were understanding in accommodating a large group of people, they offered advice on what to do during our stay and provided a warm welcome throughout. I cannot recommend enough to stay here as there is something for everyone. A beautiful location over looking Sussex pastures, a stunning river that you can swim in with a picturesque bridge, a cottage cafe to visit first thing in the morning to sit and have a coffee and croissant, a steam train railway line within walking distance that stops right beside the castle, a great pub serving fine food, a wonderful well kept castle to visit and a sunset boat cruise to top it off. There is more than this to do but that’s all we could fit in over two days.

All our guests were raving about their stay and will all be coming back soon. I read one or two reviews prior to booking that mention the road among other things but can reassure anyone thinking of staying here that we did not hear it once and that every single one of our 20 guests had only positives things to say about their stay. I would thoroughly recommend the sunset boat cruise where Alex was the best host with plenty of history of the waterway and the surrounding countryside to inform us about as well allowing the party to let their hair down and celebrate. A swim in the river, The White Hart pub, Bodiam Castle, The Castle Inn pub, the steam railway, a camp side fire toasting marsh mellows, a coffee and ice cream from the cottage cafe and a boat cruise along the river. All recommended. Our weekend at Bodiam Boating Station will live long in the memory of all our guests and will ensure we visit time and again. There are already plans being hatched to visit the same time next year. You will be seeing us again very soon.

Thank you Alex & Vanessa.

Jordan & Hannah.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan-MR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bodiam Boating Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodiam Boating Station

Address: Riverside Cottage Rye Road | Newenden, Newenden TN18 5PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Newenden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Newenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing