We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Birthday Bash”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newenden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bodiam Boating Station
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A bunch of us were here for a 'significant birthday' treat a few weeks ago- the birthday girl has asked me to write (as she's not online very often) to thank you for making her day so very special. So on behalf of all of us who had such a great day: a great big thank you! The weather was dodgy that week so it was difficult to plan the day, but you were so flexible and helpful beforehand and nothing was too much trouble when we were with you. Thanks to you, the birthday tea in your lovely garden was long, lingering and with your help went with a real swing. And as for the boating- even on a grey day, the wild flowers and birdlife were stunning and the peace and tranquility were just fab. Such a relaxing and fun afternoon- we loved chatting with your campers too who were brave enough to be swimming as well as boating on quite a cool day. We'll all definitely be back- don't know if we'll leap off the bridge like the wild swimmers did, but we'd like to try to row the 9 miles towards the sea in the other direction from the castle. I know plans are also afoot to bring children and grandchildren on other trips. Thank you for making a special day very special indeed and looking forward to being back for more Bodiam Boating soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank 0InsertNameHere0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you all and so pleased you chose us to celebrate your friends birthday. Look forward to seeing you again here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

We visited Wednesday - Friday in July this year. I'd say this is a good place for younger people and families as there's a good vibe about the place but isn't particularly peaceful. It's quite near the road and if visiting midweek you should be aware of the noisey vehciles that use the complex next door from about 7am - with ear plugs though this didn't turn out to be a problem and it wasn't too bad during the day.

Venessa and Alex can bring you coffee, etc in the mornings which is a really nice touch and they were so incredibly helpful when things were going wrong, such as us needing to leave earlier than planned and our tent breaking! Their two littles kids are lovely too and it was nice to be supporting such a nice family set this place up. There is a bit more work to do around the site, such as finishing the toilets and showers but it is a really good location for the steam train and boating and I would happily go back :-)

PS. The marshmallows with the campfire fire pit also really made our stay :-) Proper camping!

Room Tip: Electric hook ups are closer to the vehicle noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Sad to read everything wasn't as perfect as we'd have liked it to be, but a little constructive criticism is never a bad thing, so thank you for your review.
It is true that the landscapers are not perfect neighbours for a campsite, which is why I think families don't seem to notice, since they are up early. To be fair to our neighbours, it's not every day that they make lots of noise.

Glad you liked the breakfast delivery service and fingers crossed we'll realise our dream of building a lovely new shower block this winter, along with new cafe and small farm shop. So maybe you'll give us another go then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We returned for a 2nd year running for my wife's birthday with a group of 12. The first time we visited we were blown away and we're not disappointed 2nd time around. A warm welcome, incredibly accommodating and understanding of our needs for birthday group combined with a kind personal greeting by Alex to ensure we had everything that we need. Although we only stayed two nights, the feeling of isolation and relaxation within a rural setting is immediate. A perfect way to unwind and spend time with good company around a log fire. We hired out a Canadian canoe as well as booking some of the group on the return boat back from Bodiam castle. The service was fantastic and the experience of rowing along the river as you approach the castle will live long in the memory. We then attempted to register a time on the 'castle run challenge' so didn't have much time to take in the surroundings on the way back. The most wonderful weekend and the whole party said that they will be certainly be returning same time next year. Alex, Vanessa and their staff were fantastic and ensured we had the most spectacular weekend. I would highly recommend to anyone to stay and experience Bodiam Boating Station and immerse yourself in what is on other as it's one of the most beautiful locations in the country.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jordan-MR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you so much for your glowing review. It really is lovely when people make the effort to write about us. For the moment, you are still at the top of the canoe leader's board, though it may be short lived!!! Hope you make it back again soon to better your time. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked out the campsite for a group get together and this place was PERFECT, Alex and Vanessa couldn't do enough to help us and were always on hand when we needed anything, especially coffees! The toilets and showers look deceptively rustic, but were lovely, clean, hot & spacious. The grounds were a great size for what we needed with only 15 pitches around the outside of the field it was nicely contained yet allowed for plenty of room for ball games. Fires in pits and dogs allowed and the fact that there is a gate meant the younger children were safely contained.

But campsite aside, what made this place even better was the location, river and activities, we steam trained it to Bodiam castle and ferried back, Alex, who runs the ferry, let all the children have a turn and was very informative during the pretty and relaxing journey. We then had an hours kayaking on the river - which was a lot of fun. A group of children also did the paddle power with Paul - a 2 hour sit in kayak lesson, which they all loved.

Everyone who came have raved about how wonderful it was and how fantastic Vanessa, Alex and all the staff are - so a MASSIVE thank you to you all for helping make the weekend so successful & we will be back soon!

PS if you are planning a camping party and fancy a night off the BBQ then Sahebs Indian will provide a delicious banquet to take away and the Northiam Fish Bar does children's portions, made for a perfect evening.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I picked up a leaflet about this place at Bodiam Castle last year and have been wanting to visit since.

This week I got the chance and took my caravan and 2 children for a two night stay at the campsite. The weather wasn't great but we still had fun in a canoe and had ice creams from the small cafe in the gardens.

The owners were very friendly and helpful as was the young lady in the cafe who helped us with the life jackets.

We had a very enjoyable stay overall and hope to return to enjoy some fun in the sun!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Moongardners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your lovely words. The weather did let us down this week, but so pleased you had fun anyway and hopefully see you in the sun next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have just camped for 2 nights at this wonderful little spot. The owners and staff were all very friendly and personable. They offer kayak/boat hire as they are right next to a river or if your not feeling that adventurous, there are some scenic walks and if you time it correctly you may even see the local steam train chuff by. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you very much for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Since you are not far away, I hope to see you here again over the summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed on the campsite and can honestly say it is an fantastic spot for walking, boating and even cycling and the general area has a lot to offer. Vanessa and Alex can not do enough to make your stay enjoyable and being honest of what they need to do. I can't wait to follow their plans to improve their site and I can't wait to stay again. A big thankyou.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salpot56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BodiamBoatingStation, Owner at Bodiam Boating Station, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Wow, what a lovely review. Fingers crossed the new cafe will be built this winter. Keep in touch and hope to see you here again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bodiam Boating Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodiam Boating Station

Address: Riverside Cottage Rye Road | Newenden, Newenden TN18 5PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Newenden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Newenden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing