We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great friendly traditional pub based in Newenden” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Hart Newenden

White Hart Newenden
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newenden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Hart Newenden
Ranked #1 of 1 Newenden B&B and Inns
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great friendly traditional pub based in Newenden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Nice place to visit that is for sure. We arrived here today greeted by a spacious car park and nicely located pub. When we entered the pub I was the last to go through. All I could make out from the locals was that they were very cold by the outspoken remarks. SO word of advice, when you enter make sure you close the 2nd door from the outside as this may annoy the others.

We sat down at a nice 4 seated table with comfortable chairs. We were greeted positively and we ordered some Harvey's Ale's. We ordered soup and olives which was great and then we ordered roasts along with cod and chips. The meal was great, my only criticism is that I would expect fresh produced vegetables. We had frozen veg as you could tell by the color of the broccoli that was bright green.

So word of advice before you enter and leave; shut the door otherwise it will make people unhappy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smks89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan G, Owner at White Hart Newenden, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review "A great friendly traditional pub based in Newenden". It's great to hear that you enjoyed your meal and to reassure you, the vegetables you were served were fresh, not frozen! Our Chef's take care to cook them so they retain their flavour, colour and quality which is why the broccoli is still lovely and green when it arrives on the table! With regard to the pub door, it has become a standing joke amongst our regular locals (who are a very friendly bunch) that it is the job of one in particular to always close the door if it is ever accidently left open (especially during the run of cold weather we've been having)!! Many thanks again for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The White Hart in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    7
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed here on way home from Cornwall and it was a lovely place. very nice location. Food was excellent and good choice of beers. Rooms were clean and comfortable.
Definately go back!

Thanks very much!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Kernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan G, Owner at White Hart Newenden, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Many thanks for your review, we are incredibly lucky to be in such a picturesque location and it's always great to hear that our food, beer and accommodation have hit the mark! It was lovely to meet you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The White Hart in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Have stayed here a few times now and have nothing but good things to say about our experiences.
All the rooms we have stayed in have been clean, cosy and decorated to a high standard
This is a lovely friendly place with quaint B&B rooms that are very comfortable with en-suite facilities that have everything you require.
We always have an evening meal in the restaurant, as well as a full cooked breakfast in the morning and the food is always beautifully cooked and presented at a reasonable price.
This place is perfect if you want to get away for the night, have a really nice meal and amble upstairs to a comfy bed for a good nights sleep!
Its also a good base to explore the surrounding countryside and not far from the coast.
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishlassLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Wanting to spend a couple of days exploring the Kent & Sussex coast after having a day at a friend's we searched the very reliable CAMRA Good Beer guide and came up with a gem.
On the opposite side of the road and between a 13th Century church and traditional village cricket ground stands the white clapboard finished White Hart. A family run establishment with half a dozen rooms, a traditional pub with pleasant dining rooms.
We were lucky enough to get the best room, the young man behind the bar called it "The Honeymoon suite" (£40 pp, b&b), a large room with similarly large and very comfortable bed (beautifully presented upon arrival), exposed oak beams and a bay window looking out to the counryside towards the River Rother and the Kent & East Sussex Steam Railway. The en suite Toilet & Shower room was small and functional.
Four excellent local real ales were to be expected, but the food was of restaurant quality with about half a dozen options in each part of the menu, all beautifully cooked and presented, with sensible portion size and reasonably priced. My wife loved the Pie of the Day! Service throughout our short stay was good humoured and excellent.
Now looking for an excuse to go there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newenden
4.6 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Knelle Dower Studio B&B
Knelle Dower Studio B&B
#1 of 2 in Northiam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Bull Inn Lodges
The Bull Inn Lodges
#2 of 2 in Rolvenden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Newenden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Newenden

Property: White Hart Newenden
Address: Rye Road, Newenden TN18 5PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Newenden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing