We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best View in Positano”
Review of La Terra

La Terra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$64
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, View, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: It is a typical italian restaurant on the amalfi coast the location is even more than beautiful in a building of the xv century. the food ,natural and organic, comes strictly by the land coultivated directly by the owner. the great chef prepare everything with love, following the traditions and the rules of the typical way of cooking of the amalfi coast. our secrets:goodness, genuineness,hospitality,simplicity.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best View in Positano”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

La Terra is nestled up the coast in Monteportuso 10 minutes from Positano. The restaurant offers shuttle service from Positano. Food was exquisite and service very attentive. If you make a reservation, they are litterally waiting for you and greeting you with attention. The view from the terrasse alone is a highlight. We also appreciated getting away from Positano's crowded atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincent2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    111
    64
    33
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average meal in a gorgeous setting.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

First things first, La Terra is set in a stupendously beautiful setting overlooking Positano and further coves along the Amalfi Coast. There are few sunsets which will beat the one you see here. If you are lucky to sit outside it is truly a blissful experience. The owner is very welcoming and nice and so are the majority of the waitstaff (with the exception of the saxophone-wielding one, who can be grumpy at times). They offer a shuttle to pick you up from Positano but we decided to drive up instead. The road was even narrow by Amalfi Coast standards. Read: Two-way traffic on one way street widths. We definitely had to back up into a cove as a oncoming bus came swinging around the corner. So definitely opt for the shuttle pickup.

Now to the food: While I desperately want to say it was just as amazing as the view, the truth is sadly that it was distinctly average. I have had better meals elsewhere in Italy and certainly elsewhere on the Amalfi Coast. There was just no discernible flavour on any of the dishes we ordered (and each of us went for antipasti, primi & secondi). Especially the mussels could have been done better.

I understand some of the hype on here but to be honest, even though I came on a recommendation from very dear friends, I would probably only come up here again to enjoy the view.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ZZCLSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful and relaxing evening at La Terra. Stunning views, great food, very accommodating and friendly staff. They provide a free shuttle service to and from your hotel.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaribbeanGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent fare once you get there”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Don't be mislead 1.1 km from Positano - maybe as the crow flies. It was all of half an hour from our hotel. So the restaurant offers a car service. Driver on time with 3 other couples. Music too loud and as we climbed up and up and up the feeling of doom "what are in in for, and if we don't like it we're trapped" was rising. The setting is sublime. Open air, view over the valley and water. The fare authentic Italian, great service and friendly staff. Not intrusive but obliging. We were done and dusted a bit over an hour, and there was a car to take us back. The drive back much shorter. We'd dine there again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ann p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Seafood in Italy!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

After 4 weeks of traveling around Italy, our meal at La Terra rated as our favourite seafood dinner so far. Not only was the seafood pasta and grilled fish amazing, the service and the view were also highlights of our dining experience. We arrived to an extremely friendly staff who welcomed us with proseco and bruschetta. The grilled garden vegetables were superb as was the homemade pasta and main course selections. The staff were extremely attentive and we loved the saxophone music shared by one of the waiters. Such a wonderful evening - highly recommend this place!!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Terra also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to La Terra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing