We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find”
Review of Au 21

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Au 21
Ranked #1 of 1 Dainville B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

For anyone seeking a break when visiting the battlefields or traveling on south or wanting a break before returning home this takes some beating , great value for a large room and bathroom with lots of hanging space the use of the downstairs lounge and kitchen plus garden and pool, all immaculate , the breakfast is beautifully presented by Sylvain who does all he can to keep you happy and inform, he puts a lot of effort into running this place and it shows.
Arras itself has a great historic centre in the Flemish style and the Grand Place is quite a sight, this guesthouse is for the standard rooms great value for money and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiggiatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    10
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
49
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed at Au21 for 1 night, having arrived in Arras with nowhere to stay. Sylvain extended a warm welcome to us and could not have been kinder. The whole property is clean, thoughtfully decorated and furnished.

Our room was spacious with a large en suite bathroom and the bed was comfortable, although the headboard rattles at the slightest movement.. Fortunately, we have been married for many years, so it didn't matter, but newly weds might find the rattling headboard a bit disconcerting. The headboard is a small criticism....in all other respects the bedroom was excellent.

The lounge/dining area is exceptional, particularly as it overlooks the beautiful gardens. It is a lovely venue for breakfast, which was fresh and enjoyable. The overriding ambience is definitely French, but lovers of a pot of "English builders" tea will not be disappointed. Everything served at breakfast was of excellent quality.

Sylvain also operates an honesty bar for guests. We didn't use it, but it is a nice touch.

Overall this is a very nice place to stay in and visitors will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Towcestrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

The gypsy caravan we stayed in was not romantic. It was cold, the bed was uncomfortable, there was no TV, no wi-fi, nowhere to place your clothes and you have to eat breakfast sitting on the bed. Also would have been nice to have toiletries in the shower room. 150 euros a night is excessive for staying in this!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank deborahtosler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
705 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

A great find if you seek something a little special and out of the ordinary. Au21 is set in a large modern residential house in a quiet residential area. Your host provides the warmest of welcomes and excellent personal service. We had the ‘Room 1 suite,’ a bedroom, large bathroom, separate WC and a study lobby at the level of the principal common rooms. These provide a kitchen where you can make hot drinks, a lounge and the breakfast area. We had a view of the extensive beautifully landscaped grounds to the rear with a large pond occupied by a duck and 10 ducklings, an area for Boulle and the romantic gypsy caravan room option. There’s also a hot tub and a small swimming pool if you want to emulate the ducklings. The whole was delightfully presented in a very personal and romantic style. Breakfast included coffee, fresh orange juice, and croissants and bread that were quite the best you’ll ever taste. Au21 is a few Km from the centre of Arras that comes alive at night (ask your host for advice on restaurants – we went to La Cave des Saveurs) and a convenient 70 minutes drive from the Channel ports.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
441 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

A small, but extremely cosy and well kept B&B, with very friendly host. This place only have 3 rooms in the house, so you have to book in advance to make sure they have a room available. Breakfast was superb. Big garden outside. You will love this place and wish to be back soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GroningenCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We were en route to the French Alps and stopped by for one night. Sylvain is a lovely man who has good English (thankfully) and was very accommodating to our early arrival despite him having mailed me to tell me he would be home late! He welcomed us into his lovely home and made us feel very comfortable. The room was great with a huge bathroom and comfortable bed. We'd have loved to have stayed in the caravan, in the garden, but it was booked and another time of year we would have used the swimming pool and taken a look around the large and impeccably managed garden. The ability to park behind a security gate suited us too. Breakfast is special too with pain au chocolate and croissants, jam, fresh coffee and a lovely fresh fruit salad.
AU21 is a great place to stay. Its a little off the beaten track but much better than a nameless, faceless hotel of similar cost.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarry52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I cannot say enough good things about this place that will do it justice, Its simply excellent it has great decor and a great feel about the place everything is done to implicable taste outside and in, Sylvian ( owner) is a great host and has some great advice on where to eat and where to go, The breakfast is the best continental breakfast I have ever had abroad..Instead of the usual stale bread and warm cheese you get fresh crusty breads, Crossiants, Jams , Meat and cheeses!!
You can take full use of the jacuzzi and massage that they have on offer. The rooms are great, Very comfortable beds and excellent rooms, We only had a bath and usually you can get one bath of hot water but this was continous!

As like most people i think you have to have a car and a sat nav is extremely usefull to get there, The local area is lovely but we took the time to drive to Lille which is only 30 min drive and great for shopping and eating! so please take a day to do this!!

Once again I highly recommend this Bed and breakfast, Even the pickest person really will struggle to pick a fault with this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luganolp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dainville
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Arras
1.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Arras
B&B Hotel Arras
#7 of 14 in Arras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Diamant
Hotel Diamant
#8 of 14 in Arras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ibis Arras Centre Les Places
3.2 mi away
Premiere Classe Arras - Saint-Laurent-Blangy - Parc Expo
Premiere Classe Arras - Saint-La...
#1 of 1 in Saint-Laurent-Blangy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Moderne
Hotel Moderne
#9 of 14 in Arras
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au 21

Property: Au 21
Address: 21 rue des Tilleuls | Arras, 62000 Dainville, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Dainville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dainville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a family house with many attractions : swimming pool, spa, sauna. So if you are tired come on over with pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Au 21 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing