We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely island, great house reef but...some of the staff let it down.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Diamonds Thudufushi
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely island, great house reef but...some of the staff let it down.”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This was our 4th trip to the Maldives but our 1st to Thudufushi. We stayed in a lovely
beach bungalow which was identical to that on Athuruga, and in our requested location no.44.
Our first 5 days consisted of torrential, non stop rain. Can’t do anything about the weather and the consequential cancellation of watersports and trips but hey - wouldn't you have
thought that the animation team could have arranged something in the bar or
restaurant area to quell our boredom?
Our last week was sunny, so as we missed a weeks worth of snorkel trips, we
thought we would book some up . We were really looking forward to what we had
chosen - we booked 1 afternoon manta trip and 3 consecutive morning trips.
There were no Manta's spotted on this trip but hey ho that is how it goes
sometimes! We had an early breakfast ready for our morning trip and on our way
to wait in reception, are told that it has been cancelled - this happened each
morning for the 3 trips we had booked. If they know that there aren’t enough
people by the previous evening (which was the last time you could put your name
down) why couldn’t they let you know the evening before? The watersports team
were not promoting the trips enough - this was the problem.
We met a lovely couple on their honeymoon, and as we were getting stir crazy by
this point, we booked a 4 hour game fishing trip with them thinking that who we booked it with - the watersports team manager who loved fishing - was coming with us - at last a great trip was on the horizon! We met the other couple at reception and waited for our trip to start - but the
watersports team manager was not coming with us - instead we had a girl from the watersports/animation team who was barely 18. She did not move from her seated position on the boat, nor talk to us for the duration of our trip! There were drinks and
sandwiches on the boat which she didn’t even hand out - it was the Maldivian boat
lads who were brilliant. My partner caught a wahoo which the four of us had cooked for our
dinner that night.
Now onto the dive centre...
There was one guy I really did not warm to and that experience started on the
jetty on our first afternoon - 'oohh shark, shark, I am scared' he shouted as he
went by us - idiot - we know that the baby sharks hang around jetties as they do
on other Maldivian islands. Then he upset a lady diver on her dive and made her cry - she
had lost her confidence because of him and didn’t want to dive again - she did
though, one of the other 'nice' dive guys took her out into the lagoon. My
initial aim was to do 4 or 5 dives during my 2 week trip but ended up doing none
- I wasn’t going to pay around $150 per dive for the pleasure of his company. One
day at the buffet restaurant whilst standing at one of the self-service counters
I heard him swearing to one of his colleagues about the repetition of food.
Hopefully he is not at Thudufushi anymore and I hope I don’t come across him on
another island.
The food was ok - but the pizza, ice cream and the fish BBQ man were especially
good. It would have been nice to have some different curries though - it was the
same selection every night for 2 weeks.
We were talking to the assistant manager of the resort one morning and asked her
about the recycling policy - she didn't know. We also asked her to show us on
the map where a certain island was - she didn’t know that either. That was the
end of that short conversation! They ought to be a little more clued up me
thinks - and she was Maldivian!

Great house reef but you need to watch the current. As the reef is to the outer edge of the Atol, you can get a strong current (you just need to go with the flow of the current) but you also get some big fish! Napoleon wrasse, large grouper, turtles and we were lucky enough to encounter a group of 11 eagle rays!
Dolphins were a fairly regular site coming past the island.
There were loads of dragonflies and it was amazing to watch the fruit bats having territorial disputes!
We met Hussein who was our waiter on Athuruga - he served us a couple of times – it was nice to see him again.
There is a good selection of wines to choose from - not just a house red or white and also a good selection of cocktails.
The guys at the bar and the waiters and back of house staff were all really nice and polite and would always chat with you.
We enjoyed a few games of boules on the shaded sand pathways of the interior of the island.
On our last night we had a real show – zillions of stars in the sky and green bio-luminescent plankton in the gentle lapping waves on the shoreline.

In all it was a stunning island and house reef, but it is a shame that the front of house staff that were European had a different attitude – they seemed to be there for themselves and not the guests.
We prefered Athuruga - amazing island and staff - see my review for October 2010.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank kentr0ckchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    115
    24
    4
    5
See reviews for
77
568
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Our second visit to this lovely island was not a disappointment. We hardly ever go back to the same place twice but we loved this island and again had a beach bungalow just a few steps from the lagoon - swimming at 28 degrees is like a warm bath! The bungalows are great and have a good hairdryer and complimentary shampoo, shower gel and body lotion - but no conditioner. I did get a few mosquito bites and wished I'd taken some repellent. We loved the seaplane transfers with fantastic views of the islands, the snorkelling is almost as good as the diving. Snorkelling around the island we saw sharks, eagle rays, stingrays, moray eels, turtles, octopus, amazing multi-colour fish and coral. They run escorted snorkelling twice a day if you want company or more information. The diving was great and we saw massive manta rays. You can walk around the island in about 15 minutes and it's really relaxed and casual. The staff are very friendly especially at the beach bar and main bar on the island. We'd definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We loved the beach bungalows - they are all just a few steps from the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LizandGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed on the island for 8 nights in May last year and had an absolutely amazing trip. We were here for my husbands 30th birthday and treated ourselves to a water villa which was well worth the money, having stayed in quite a lot of 5* resorts around the world we were not disappointed at all! After having a disappointing honeymooon trip to Mexico the year before we opted for a small resort without loads of restaurants and bars and masses of guests, we were so pleased that we did. Just out of this world. The room was way beyond our expectations and the modern look and feel is perfect! We couldn't believe the size of the amazing deck to enjoy breakfast, sunbathe and enjoy the idyllic views from! We ate in the a la carte restaurant for almost every meal as the food was so lovely. The fact that the menu changed for each meal was a big plus too. Our waiter was amazing and after the first few days automatically brought our drinks straight over when he saw us! Snorkelling was amazing too. If you are looking for total peace and tranquillity in an amazing resort this is the place for you. Could not recommend highly enough.. one of the best holidays ever!

Room Tip: water bungalows are amazing.. ours was to the right hand side of the bungalows and had the sun all d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndreaMac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My husband and I have just arrived home after a wonderful week at Thudafuahi. From arriving to an escorted trip in the golf buggy to our amazing water villa where fruit and drinks awaited us. We were checked in whilst sitting on the decking, perfection. The view was outstanding. We were lucky enough to have an infinity pool overlook the sea which was wonderful. Throughout our stay nothing was to much to ask, we were told staff were there to make our lives as easy as possible and they certainly did that

We ate nearly all meals in the overwater restaurant and had the same wonderful waiter, Shuja each night. He learnt out drinks and had them waiting for us, lunch and dinner were delicious every night.

We went on the daily snorkels which were well led and the team swapped between languages effortlessly to include everyone.

The island is small whichever you get to know the team, from the daily golf buggy rides by the excellent driver to the watersports team who you said hello to each day


The whole week was amazing. We could see fishes from walking on the decking, the sea was so clear.

It really was the best week I have ever spent anywhere.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sophie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

there is only one word to describe this place "SUPERB"
Amazing food
Super friendly staff
Great night activities like karoake, dance
loads of things to do from Snorkeling to diving, rafting to kayaking
all the food and drinks were included in the value which makes it SUPER value in term of price
December is great time to go cause no rains and really nice weather!
I highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to visit Maldives

Room Tip: Try both Beach villa and water villa both are exceptionally good and have different experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Makkks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

spent 2 weeks in a water villa. amazing surrounding. outstanding service quality.
excellent organization, management team is up for any feedback.
entire team on thudufushi is dedicated to make your stay a memorable one! we'll be back later in 2014

Room Tip: go for water villas, it's worth the surplus. superb food in the overwater restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rafael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I fully intended to write a review of our holiday at a beach bungalow on Thudufushi but when I read everybody else's reviews I saw that it's all been said before. I shall however add my two penny worth but it's only repeating all the great things which others have already said.
It was a totally relaxing holiday; there's nothing to do but relax, swim, eat and drink. I've noticed a couple of criticisms of the staff but they were absolutely perfect. Waiting staff etc were mostly from the Indian Ocean area and on the whole were friendly, courteous and efficient. The other resort staff in the office area and water sports centre were mostly European but were totally wonderful especially the management. I don't know where to start praising them all they were all so good and they all spoke very good English. In fact, English is the adopted language of the island so all the Italians and Germans need to speak English there.
There were two British electric socket outlets in the bungalow combined with the European ones.
I've seen queries about the need for shoes. The vast majority of people go barefoot most of the time. I went barefoot on the soft 'sand' (crushed coral) but preferred to wear espadrilles when walking on the hard packed 'sand' which is on the main non-beach walk to the centre. I did see one woman wearing high heels one evening and she looked ludicrous in that environment.
The bathroom is unusual in that there are only three walls. The sit-upons are secluded inside, the wash basins are semi-exposed and the shower is right outside. The shower itself is excellent with plenty of hot water, shower gel, shampoo and body lotion. You can get an all over tan whilst showering but it is private (see photo). The boundary wall is high enough to guarantee privacy and there is usually planting adjacent to it on the outside to support the privacy.
I was led to believe that insect bites were not a problem but we got bitten quite a bit and itched terribly. The island was fumigated twice at least during our stay which was impressive but they couldn't do the living areas as it wouldn't be safe (I assume) so some insects avoided being killed. We never saw what was biting us which seemed strange. When we resorted to using insect repellent we got no more bites, which was good. There are some large ants which were a bit tickly when they crept up our legs and annoyed us when we sat outside but I'm not aware that they bit or anything. The bungalow comes with an insecticide spray which is effective against ants. It also comes with life jackets!
I can't see the point of writing more about how good the holiday was. Just read all the great things which others such as Roz38, DonAndJM and Amit_Mittal66 have said and don't hesitate booking unless you like active holidays with lots to do

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thudufushi Island
6.9 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
18.9 mi away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
18.5 mi away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
LUX* South Ari Atoll
LUX* South Ari Atoll
#1 of 1 in Dhidhoofinolhu Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,827 reviews
9.2 mi away
Diamonds Athuruga
Diamonds Athuruga
#1 of 1 in Athuruga Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
12.0 mi away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds Thudufushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Thudufushi

Property: Diamonds Thudufushi
Address: P.O. Box 2019
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Thudufushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thudufushi Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds Thudufushi 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kick off your shoes and unwind at Diamonds Thudufushi, a little piece of paradise on its own private island in the Maldives. Set on a white sand island within the turquoise waters of a shallow lagoon, Diamonds Thudufushi offers luxurious accommodation and outstanding levels of service. Located on the south-western rim of Ari Atoll, just a 35-minute seaplane flight south of Male' International Airport, the resort is secluded and tranquil, providing optimum privacy in unspoilt surroundings. The natural beauty of the island has been retained and enhanced. Beach Bungalows have individual verandas and private beachfronts along the coral-sand shore. Experience the diversity of the Maldives by pairing your visit with a stay at Diamonds Thudufushi, offering intimate village charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Diamonds Thudufushi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Thudufushi Beach And Water Villas
Diamonds Thudufushi Beach & Water Villas Hotel Thudufushi Island
Thudufushi Hotel South Ari Atoll
Diamonds Thudufushi Thudufushi Island, Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing