We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,193)
Filter reviews
1,193 results
Traveller rating
974
154
38
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
974
154
38
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bungalow water restaurant fish our honeymoon a la carte our waiter main restaurant beach bar eagle rays small island buffet restaurant maldivian evening marine biologist sea plane we stayed in a water villa italian resort nightly entertainment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 1,193 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2023

My husband and I spend 10 wonderful days at this beautiful island resort and it was simply the best!

Everything was just perfect: The food was delicious and very well cooked; the staff was helpful, smiling and very service minded; our beach bungalow was cozy and had a wonderful view over the ocean.

We really liked that the place had an intimate feeling since it’s so small. Still, we didn’t get bored at all. We enjoyed trips around the Ari Atoll; we had wonderful drinks and food and of course enjoyed the beautiful beach and the water. The house reef was really nice with both sharks, eagle rays and turtles around the corner.

We would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wish a beautiful, romantic and unforgettable trip to the Maldives!

Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 935linef
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2023

We returned home early this morning from our amazing nine night stay at Thudufushi. This was our sixth trip in 20 years and we couldn’t wait to visit again.

We stayed in a beach junior suite which had a vast expanse of beach in front. The bungalow had everything you needed. Lovely big bed, nice bedding and soft pillows. Our bungalow boy - Ashik - looked after us so well. Not once did we have to ask for anything topping up. He seemed to notice everything and he did an excellent job of keeping our little bungalow spotless.

The management team were amazing. Jaco and Carla met every guest who arrived and were always around for advice or help if needed. We enjoyed them being so visible as in past years we have not noticed management around the island so much. The cocktail beach party they organised and attended was magical with the lovely canapés, cocktails and music. We hope they will still be there in 2025 when we next visit.

Our restaurant waiter - Hussain - is attentive, humorous and a lovely guy. We always ask for him before we go. And thanks Hussain and Hashima for my birthday present. Very thoughtful. The staff went out of their way to help me celebrate my birthday.

The beach restaurant serves fresh food via cooking stations or salads, fruit, cakes etc., the selection is enormous. A mention also for the bar staff - attentive, friendly and efficient. In fact if I could name all the staff here I would as they go out of their way to make your stay perfect.

I noticed that a TA reviewer mentioned paintwork not looking good. I have to say I was disheartened by this comment. This island is in the middle of the ocean, attracting all sorts of weather and maintenance seems to be ongoing on a daily basis. For me it attracts the natural side of the island. What makes this special is no noisy swimming pool or blaring music all day. Idyllic.

Thank you all staff at Thudufushi for making our stay perfect on this magical, peaceful island.

Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Sue82013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaco Steenkamp, General Manager at Diamonds Thudufushi Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2023


Dear Sue & David,

We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you on your return visit to Diamonds Thudufushi. Thank you very much for your lovely review, we are elated to read you enjoyed your time with us. I will share all your compliments with the Team.
It was great to talk to you from time to time and to learn more about how your experienced Thudufushi 20 years ago and now.

The Island does have a magical charm and one feels close to nature, walking around barefoot, snorkeling with an abundance of marine life, a guest once summed it up as unpretentious luxury.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in 2025 for your next adventure in paradise.

With warm Indian Ocean regards,
Your Thudufushi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2023 via mobile

We have just returned from an absolutely INCREDIBLE stay here, there is not a single thing I could fault.

From the moment we arrived (greeted on the seaplane jetty by Carla), we were made to feel so welcome. The staff here cannot do enough for you and, most importantly, they all seem so happy to be there. Often you can visit places and the staff can be great but you can never really tell if they’re enjoying themselves - there is no doubt here at all, they’re all just so wonderfully happy and smiley all the time!

We stayed in a water villa and well… just wow! The snorkelling opportunities around the house reef are amazing, my son back home loved the fact I was sending him photos of his favourite Nemo characters 😁 The villa itself was fantastic, so clean, had everything we needed and the mini bar which was replenished daily with soft drinks, beer and wine was such a lovely touch. It was lovely to have a glass of wine on the terrace, looking out at the beautiful ocean, before heading out for our evening meal each night. On our second morning of our stay, whilst sitting on the terrace, we saw dolphins swimming past and couldn’t believe it when one actually did a big flip out of the water! We felt so lucky to have seen this and then, to top this off, we then saw a sea turtle just two days later. Incredible.

Food here was amazing, we chatted to the Food & Beverage Manager, Nick, quite a few times during our stay and it was obvious how much he cares about the customers and their dining experience. We ate most of our meals in the over water restaurant (a la carte) so got to know the staff here well - Mauween (apologies if I’ve spelled incorrectly) was outstanding and Anil always on hand with the wine! We were fortunate enough to be able to experience two of the Gala dinners during our stay - “dining with the stars” - whereby chefs from around the globe prepare a 5 course meal at the over water restaurant. Both of these were outstanding so I would highly recommend getting booked in for this if the opportunity is available. We also booked in for the Teppanyaki meal one evening - just wow - so much food, absolutely delicious and really good fun! On our last two days we decided to give the main restaurant a try for lunch and we were not disappointed - this is a buffet but with several fresh cooking stations. So much to choose from, I just wanted to eat absolutely everything (and this is probably why my clothes are now too tight)! 😁

There are far too many staff members to mention who made our stay so memorable but to list a few that I’ve not already mentioned above - the golf buggy guys who are just the happiest people I’ve ever met; All of the guys working at the main bar and the beach bar for keeping us topped up (those grasshopper cocktails are amazing 👌🏼), The marine biologists who are clearly so passionate about what they do and so friendly; Elisa from the front desk for just being the kindest person ever and obviously Carla & Jaco for being such fantastic hosts.

Thank you everyone, we had such an amazing time and will definitely return! We miss you all already ♥️

*I’d also like to give a special thank you to the island doctor. I had a bit of an accident during our stay and he was absolutely amazing, I could not fault the care that I was given by both him and the rest of the staff following this incident. Whilst the accident was just unfortunate and could not have been predicted/helped/avoided, everyone went out of their way to check that everything was ok and that I was ok. Thank you so much!

Room tip: Stay in a water villa!
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank 1303JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaco Steenkamp, General Manager at Diamonds Thudufushi Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2023

Dear Jess and Paul,


We are humbled by your amazing review, thank you very much. It gives us great pleasure to read you enjoyed your time with us on Diamonds Thudufushi.
The word "sustainable" is a frequent term in modern travel, along with the elimination of single use plastics, greener energy practices and more, we believe a healthy work environment is key to our Teams sustainability on the island.
I have shared your wonderful compliments to our Team whom are just as happy to read you had a memorable stay with us, and safely back home.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our shores in the near future, maybe to show your son "Nemo" in real life, along with all the beautiful, colorful, weird and wonderful marine life around our reef.

We wish you a beautiful 2023!
Your Thudufushi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2023

Wow paradise from the very moment you arrive on the island. This was our first time visiting the Maldives and we can honestly say that Diamonds Thudufushi exceeded our expectations in every way. What makes this place a true stand out location is the tranquility of the island together with the very hard working staff.
Met of the sea plane by Bianca who welcomed us to the room and ensured we settled in, then Miguel provided us a fantastic tour of all the facilities. We stayed in a beach suite which was roomy and well equipped, what a view from the decking just breathtaking each morning. Food was 5 star from breakfast through to dinner. Presentation of the food was top quality.the deserts were incredible all presented by Kalana and Michele. Each night our own waiter would ensure we had a good table and was ready with our favourite drinks thanks to Munnim. Salads were great served by Sandeep. The room was cleaned each day and the turn down service at night was fab thanks to Beek.
The whole holiday was a fabulous Maldives experience that will be hard to beat … thanks to all at Diamonds Thudufushi your all a credit to the team.

Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank garypB8671AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaco Steenkamp, General Manager at Diamonds Thudufushi Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2023

Dear Gary,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at Diamonds Thudufushi. We are elated to read you had a memorable stay with us on your first and hopefully not the last visit to this beautiful country in the middle of the Indian Ocean.

Situated in the South Ari Atoll with a short 25 minute seaplane flight from Male, the Diamonds Thudufushi's location is within some of the best diving and snorkeling areas in the Maldives, also with a beautiful house reef accessible from each Villa.
We have year round whale shark sightings and frequent visits from the majestic oceanic Manta, sometimes in our lagoon.

I am very proud of our Team, standing out from your arrival and will be sharing your great comments.
It is not just the island, location and marine life that makes a holiday memorable, it is the Ladies and Gentleman in service who really love their profession and who make our guests feel at home and wishing every guest a memorable experience. 3

We hope to welcome you back to this small piece of paradise in the near future.

With warm sunny regards,
Your Thudufushi Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2023

We visited here for 12 nights in November and we had the most amazing time.
We stayed in a beach villa which had everything we needed, was comfy and immaculately cleaned each day.
The choice of food each day is huge and absolutely delicious.
We consider ourselves to be quite well travelled and we have never been anywhere with staff quite like all the staff at Thudufushi. Every single one has a huge, genuine smile and are so helpful and friendly. They all appear to be a really happy team.
We are sure that we will visit again.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank susanhZ3040TI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaco Steenkamp, General Manager at Diamonds Thudufushi Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2023

Dear Susan,

Thank you very much for your amazing review of Diamonds Thudufushi, I have shared your compliments to the whole Team, it gives us great pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to visit our small piece of paradise again.

Our al la minute section in the Main restaurant is a big favorite to our guests, where the Team will prepare each dish to your liking with special care. With many other options from Asian corner, fresh pasta, Japanese charcoal grill, salad bar and more, it is sometimes difficult to chose.
The a la carte Aqua Restaurant over the water has a more fine dining concept with sustainability in mind, in months December to April we host a JRE chef every week making master creations using local produce. If you like a romantic dinner the Team will set a table under the stars on the beautiful white sand of Diamonds Thudufushi. We also have a Teppanyaki restaurant and a Maldivian Dinner in the Garden once a week.

I am sure you also enjoyed our beautiful house reef, which we are very proud of, with an abundance of marine life and fantastic colours.

We are hoping to welcome you back to our shores in the near future.

With warm Indian Ocean Regards,
Your Thudufushi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews