We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel & really friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Silver Point Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silver Sands
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel & really friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We needed a one night stay over on our way to Bequia and were not disappointed with our choice. Located just 10 minutes drive from the airport, we even managed a quick swim which our 8 and 5 year old children enjoyed before dinner at nearby Cafe Luna (highly recommended too). The beach had rolling waves and is clearly a kite surfers paradise, no time to enjoy this time round and for kids we might have chosen calmer seas. Our room was perfect for our family of four, plenty of space and good views; could easily imagine us being comfortable for a 1 or 2 week stay. We stayed in the building across the road from the main hotel which was manned by security 24/7. The staff were very attentive and helpful, real Bajan friendliness at its best. The two local taxi drivers Clyde and Euclid were also excellent taking us to/from the airport and dinner. Breakfast the next morning was enjoyable, quick service and acceptable value - you can even watch kite surfers out during early breakfast too! Thanks to all at Silver Point Hotel and Clyde/Euclid for making us feel so welcome and at home.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LesJoliesEaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    225
    89
    34
    14
See reviews for
62
394
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

I travel quite frequently and I'm easy going when it comes to hotel quality. However, this hotel and mostly their service staff went and above and beyond lowering ones expectations. Firstly they misrepresented the room, "Ocean View" does not mean you actually take receipt of a room where you can see the ocean or at least their staff tried to explain this to me with a straight face. Amazingly disappointed with their integrity. Check in was handled by the security guard because it was 9:15pm and the ONE front desk lady was busy closing the books and trying to get home. The guard worked in a small booth that was adorned with wonderful bouquet of 10 day old human sweat. To add insult to injury, he proceeded to write my credit card number down on a piece of scratch paper complete with CCV2 number. I would steer well clear of this hotel until their management comes to terms with the gross misrepresentation of their rooms and understaffing / training of their staff.

Room Tip: ask them to take a picture of your actual room and the view they are selling you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We spent four nights at Silverpoint in an Ocean view suite and every minute was enjoyable . The welcome and treatment we received from the front desk folks was as good as any . All members of staff that we interfaced with were also unbeatable . The suite was clean and airy and the restaurant and bar were brilliant .
We had spent two weeks up the coast at a 5 star and found no fault with Silverpoint .
Maybe a small point . Security is good . They keep locals away from the hotel area but do not stop the self-caterers (maggots) from coming off the beach , making themselves at home on the loungers , smoking like chimneys and using the pool , bar and showers .

Room Tip: Beach front are the best . There is only the crash of the waves to listen to and that can be heard i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fordhoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

The hotel is the center for the surfing crowd and not unusual to see 15 kite surfers and a dozen sail boards out in front of the place on any given day. As a result the crowd is a bit younger on average. Doesn't interfere with the older generations enjoyment at all. Beach is nice but the waves are a challenge to older folks like us. The sound of waves all night is heavenly.

We had a full week in a third floor suite, located in the building across the road from the main hotel. 30 step stairway to our door. Rooms are large and airy, A/C in the bedroom

Furnishings are sparse. Excellent king size bed and two small night tables in bedroom. There is not a lot of cupboard space anywhere, we lived out of our suitcases.

The living room has a small pull-out sofa bed and one upholstered chair, and a chaise longue, a coffee table and TV table. TV has about a dozen channels mostly American networks, but reception is so-so, lots of noise on the sound side. Our suite had a great view of the ocean from the balcony; not all do, so ask when booking.

The bathroom is modern but so ill-lit you shower in the dark, inadequate lighting for the ladies to do hair/makeup.

Kitchen wall has a large fridge and a small microwave and absolutely the minimum dishes and cutlery for four, no paring knife, for example.

You can dine in for all meals, but the menu does not change day to day. Breakfast in particular is excellent, other meals average. Dining staff are pleasant and service is good but leisurely. There are no other restaurants of any consequences nearby, need a car or taxi for a 10 minute ride to other eateries or club life. The up side is that the hotel is quiet all night over night.

The staff are polite, pleasant, and helpful, particularly the management folks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fergus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night on arrival in Barbados and for a further 2 days after having been on a cruise around the Caribbean. On both occasions we were made most welcome, were upgraded to a Ocean view studio and were able to have a late check out on our final day. The room was great with a fantastic view over the beach and we were able to watch all the kite surfers doing stunts and amazing fast traverses of the ocean.

The pool was just the right size and temperature and the beach was wonderful silver sands with direct access from the hotel deck and swimming pool area. Although we did not kite surf this is obviously "The Place" to be if you are a expert kite surfer. The restaurant food and service was excellent as were the E.C. banana pancakes for breakfast. The hotel is just a 10 minute taxi ride from the airport ($15 US) and 25 minutes from Bridgetown. There is no other tourist attractions or shops on the doorstep but we understand other attractions, restaurants etc are available within 10 minute taxi ride.
We would strongly recommend the hotel for kite surfers and for a short stay near to the airport.

Room Tip: Try and secure an upgrade to an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin3352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed one night before joining cruise.Easy 15 minute cab ride from airport. Rooms are stylish with ocean view. The staff to a person could not have been more helpful and charming. Resturant had a good range of tasty food with great location on ocean edge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BJHowlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meditteranean
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel is in the perfect spot if you are into your wind sports. Hotel is located right on the kite and windsurf beach of silver point.
Hotel is starting to look a little tired and needs some tlc around the public areas and also in the rooms, broken sunbeds, torn sofa covers etc.
This is our 5th stay here and we have noticed a big change this year. The staff are friendly, happy and helpful as always but the 'nice touches' that previously came with your stay are no longer on offer. There is no happy hour, no complementary drinks or complementary anything on arrival. No specials on the menu, the menu has not changed in past 5 years, no bar snacks. There were always flowers or plants in the rooms and around the hotel, they are no longer here. The hotel is expensive if you stay in a sea front room and is not giving value for money. After being here for 11 days, I have not seen a manager and no manager presence around the hotel to speak with guests and see how things are going. There is a little supermarket selling food basics and gifts at extortionate prices, $10 bottle of water and $16 carton of milk. Since there are no shops close by the shop should be a service for guests, not a way of taking advantage. I would say 4.5 prices for a 3 star experience. Disappointed with our visit. There are so many things that can be done to improve this hotel experience, i hope the hotel management reacts. If it wasn't for the wind right here on the doorstep, this would not be our first choice of hotel in Barbados. But if you love your wind sports, the location is amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are large and better value but don't have a sea view and can be noisy. Rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Windseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Sands
3.7 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,381 reviews
11.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
3.1 mi away
Dover Beach Hotel
Dover Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dover
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
Ocean Spray Beach Apartments
#26 of 49 in Christ Church Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Point Hotel

Property: Silver Point Hotel
Address: Silver Sands Beach, Silver Sands, Barbados
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Silver Sands
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Silver Sands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Point Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Kognitiv US Corp, Travelbag, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Holiday Gems so you can book your Silver Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Point Hotel Barbados/Silver Sands
Silver Point Christ Church
Silver Point Barbados

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing