We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, lovely brekky, shame about the Al a carte in the restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Houstoun House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uphall
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The staff were lovely they were all really helpful, polite and made our stay. The room was very nice except on the Saturday night there was a wedding party staying who were very loud and insisted on screeching in the early hours in the corridor outside our room. We ate at the hotel restaurant on the Friday night the meal was very disappointing. It was not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel. The starter of scallops with a tomato sauce just did not work. The portion of monk fish I received for my main course was tiny and rather soggy considering it was supposed to be pan fried which should have crisped the coating up. The saving grace was the Dundee pudding that was delicious but was extremely simple and even I would have had difficulty spoiling it. Overall I would go back and stay at this hotel the breakfast was delicious and a buffett thank goodness and managed to fill me up. Hurray!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from any wedding party guests, as they can be a little noisy in the wee small ho...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea_d18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Andrea, thank you for taking the time to write a review and for providing me and my team with some valuable feedback.

it was very pleasing to read your very kind comments about the team and please rest assured this has been shared with all.

Macdonald Hotels provide an award winning breakfast and I am glad you enjoyed the experience at Houstoun House. I also noted your comments about the a la carte menu and I will review with Jeremy Wares and the kitchen team.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,485)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Houstoun House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,107 - 1,113 of 1,485 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel has a lot of potential but the decor is a little dated in the accomodation areas. The grounds are lovely and make for excellent photographs. The food is a very high standard and the breakfast buffet has a great selection. There is a supplement for a couple of items which I think is a little tight. If you are paying for bed and breakfast, then I think the breakfast should be fully included.

The reception staff were not the most enthusiatic but maybe we just caught them at a bad time. The waiting staff; however, were very attentive.

The hotel itself is a little disjointed. There are several different blocks and not all are combined. Therefore, if it is raining, you might get a bit wet going from hall to hall.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Gary, thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review and thank you for the very nice comment abou the team, especilly in the restuarant.

Macdonald Hotels invested £10million in its hotels last year and a further £10million are earmarked this year. Macdonald Houstoun House is very much part of those investment plans with already the completion of new leisure club changing rooms. They are other projects in the planning and I look forward to welcoming back sometime in the future to witness those improvements.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had a little last minute treat of DB&B in Houston House. Room 19 was lovely at the top of the main/old building, but no bath. All the staff whom we had dealings with were lovely, kind and polite, O, and Scottish! They are a huge asset to this hotel. Unfortunately our room had not been fully prepared so there were no bathrobes, fruit, wine and chocolates in the room. Trip to reception and an immediate apology, unfortunately it took an hour to send fruit and robes. Further trip to reception to ask about wine and choc, wine then arrived promptly, choc never arrived and a third trip to reception seemed a bit ridiculous. Dinner was nice, adjusted from the set menu for DB&B deal to the main menu. Food very tasty but not really a fine dining experience. Where are the canapés, the amuse bouse the lovely petit fours? Extremely expensive drinks, so we only had one each. Had they been more reasonably priced we would have lingered over a second glass of wine and a liqueur coffee - just an example of how high prices actually reduce profit. Would not recommend the restaurant to passing trade, just too expensive without being special enough. Pool very nice and the steam room great. But the breakfast was incredibly good, probably the best hotel breakfast I have had in years!! Ignore any suggestions of going to Dobbies and balancing a tray through a till and slash on a real treat in Houston Houses breakfast, with the best imaginable staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Robyn, thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the fantastic comments about the team. I am always very proud to pass such feedback to them. They work very hard and it is always nice to hear when it is recognised.

I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your breakfast. Macdonald Hotels have an award winningn breakfast with fantastic quality produce.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

On arrival on 23rd April we were met by friendly staff at the hotel. Staff directed us to the Spa so we could use facilities prior to our check-in time. Our robes, slippers and towel and timetable for the day were awaiting us. All the Spa facilities met with our expectations. We had the exotic lime and ginger salt glow treatment followed by the hot stone massage. We also had the taster facial. Treatments were impressive. Our evening meal and breakfast at the hotel was excellent quality. Our room was very comfortable. The whole stay was relaxed and staff were attentive to our needs. We would recommend this break which we thought was very good value for money. A jacuzzi might have been a welcome addition but its absence didn't spoil our enjoyment as everything else was tip top.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fifers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and it is a great pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your overnight spa break. Please rest assured your feedback has been shared with all my team.

Whenever you need to recharge the batteries... We will be ready to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Booked direct with the hotel and was overcharged by £18.00 which when I complained they credited to my room.

Room 32 looks lovely, a little cramped but never had a bath which was requested at the time of booking, I paid extra for the 4 poster bed package so did expect slightly better..........staff were very helpful and moved us room to room 17 in the old part of the hotel.

Room 17 was really awful the dated furniture and decoration let the hotel down badly, clearly the AA hotel inspector was never show this room, with it yellowed roof and windows stained with nicotine, damp, cracked tiles in the bathroom not to mention the hair found in the bath or the stained grouting and bath seal, the toilet paper was 2 ply certainly no quality or luxury items. The wine,chocolates, fruit which had seen better days in Room 32 was missing from Room 17 and also missing were the robes and slippers paid for. Window in room doesn't even close properly and the ripped and stained carpet is terrible and the floor is slanted to one side . DO NOT TAKE THIS ROOM............

I didn't stay after seeing this and the hotel did offer me a transfer to the sister hotel in Falkirk but after seeing this hotel I decided it would be best to just go home and hotel understood this and refunded my card after I had shown the manager the pictures I had taken off Room 17.

SEE PICTURES BEFORE BOOKING

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank area16rep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is such a shame you didn't stay over as my team would have loved to reassure you of our commitment to great service and quality.

Of course the second room showed to you had some defects which were unacceptable and should not have been there. Most have now been rectified.

Kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here for an overnight stop returning to England via Edinburgh Airport on 28/04 2014. Excellent venue and the staff were brilliant, especially a very helpful receptionist named Stephanie Grant. Stephanie was a credit to the Hotel and made us really welcome.
The breakfast was one of the best full Scottish breakfasts I have had ( black pudding to die for), with good quality ingredients and a range of options. The waiter at breakfast (Alistair I think) was a gem.
A good stopover or base for touring.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Douglas, thank your taking the time to write such a positive review. Rest assured the special mentions regarding Stephanie and Alistair have been noted and they will be recognised for it.

Delighted to read you also enjoyed the award winning Macdonald Hotels breakfast. What a great black pudding indeed.

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My husband and I got married at Macdonald Houstoun House on Saturday 12th April 2014. Our wedding co-ordinator to begin with was Catherine Coleman, however we got a new wedding co-ordinator - Debbie Catchlove, and no matter what your question, worry or request she was happy to answer or do anything for you. Her manner in person, over the phone and by email was always very polite, assertive and reassuring, massive thanks to her for making our day run as smoothly as it did.
The hotel itself can do everything for you, including all the table decorations, chair covers, chair sashes, flowers, cake etc. We decided to organise a lot of this ourself, and again Debbie was able to co-ordinate a lot of this. There are a number of places in the wedding package that you can upgrade and chose from, we went for the most basic package which still provided a lot and with regards to the food we got a 3 course with tea/coffee and petit fours. We got the menu tasting 6 weeks prior to the wedding and in preparation for this we were to select 2 starters, 2 main courses and 2 desserts from the wedding menu provided. The menu tasting took place in the lovely Jeremy Wares restaurant, so the service was fantastic and we also got to try the wine that would be served on the day. From the menu tasting we selected the Chicken and Black Pudding Terrine to start, Pot Roasted Beef with Button Mushroom and seasonal vegetables for main, and for dessert Sticky Toffee Pudding with Ice Cream which was served by an excellent team. Even 3 weeks on, people are still complimenting on the food. You can often find when catering for a large number of people the food can be of poor quality or cold, not here the food was absolutely delicious and piping hot. For the evening guests we had stovies, this maybe was our only complaint - the stovies themselves were absolutely fantastic, however when it came to the evening buffet/stovies, it was what we thought, very expensive. We inquired into bacon rolls which were £6.20 per roll, stovies were £6.20 per portion and for the number of guests we had, an evening finger buffet was working out approx £1000!! This was our only gripe.

My husband and I had a lot of personal touches which we wanted to add to our day, we just dropped everything off the day before and without any hassle or hesitation everything was done and laid out exactly how we wanted.

On the day itself, we had Gianni looking after us as our Master of Ceremonies, wow what a guy, he saw everything, kept everyone right. He had a great manner and had everything running perfectly, both our families commented on how good he was and we absolutely agree. Outside of this, everything ran so smoothly, even the reorganisation of the room was done swiftly and the way Gianni was able to organise the guests was great (we did receiving lines to our day and evening guests) and he seen to all of this.

As the hotel has a large room (Houstoun Suite) and a smaller room (in the courtyard) it is possible to have 2 weddings in the same day, however it was only our wedding on the 12th April and we were able to use all of the grounds for photographs which was great.
Due to the number of guests we had staying at the hotel they did a private breakfast for us and our guests the next day which was a lovely touch.
Overall we had a wedding day to remember and that was mostly down to Macdonald Houstoun House and their great team.

Room Tip: Bride and Groom get to chose either the bridal suite in the courtyard or the suite in the tower, the...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tranquility123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Again many Congratulations on your wedding day. Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.

Macdonald Houstoun House is a fantastic venue for weddings with so many fantistic photo opportunities but what makes it so special, is the very committed team and thank you for the special metions to Catherine, Debbie and Gianni.

We wish you both a long happy life together and we all look forward in the opportunity to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uphall
2.8 mi away
Mercure Livingston
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
544 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club
8.9 mi away
Macdonald Inchyra Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
6.0 mi away
Dakota Edinburgh
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,958 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#2 of 4 in Livingston
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Houstoun House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Houstoun House

Address: West Lothian, Uphall EH52 6JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Uphall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uphall
Price Range: £71 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Houstoun House 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a secluded spot near Livingston just west of Edinburgh, and set in 22 acres of beautiful woodlands, Macdonald Houstoun House is the perfect country hotel and retreat. Once visited by Mary Queen of Scots, the historic building has the classic grace of a 16th century Tower House. Inside, 70 rooms blend luxury and character, with a unique feature bedroom in the Tower For food-lovers, the Jeremy Wares at Houstoun House restaurant has two AA Rosettes for excellent local ingredients, expertly cooked in season. In the cellar, the cosy Vaulted Bar is the perfect spot for a drink or afternoon tea. Our Leisure Club and Spa have ample scope for working off the calories and a host of rejuvenating treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Houstoun House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Houstoun House Hotel Livingston
Macdonald Houstoun Hotel
Macdonald Houstoun Livingston
Houston House Hotel
Macdonald Houstoun House Uphall, West Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing