We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight for Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Houstoun House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uphall
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Overnight for Wedding”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed as guests at the hotel for a friends wedding.. So looking forward to this as heard lots of good things about this venue, however our room was situated in the adjacent building and prob the furthest away from the main building and when we entered it was cold and smelt horribly foosty!! Having stayed in a Macdonald hotel before I understand the room decor is all the same which is fair enough but feel its a bit dated now, esp after seeing one of our friends room (closer to the main hall) and in the main building which had much nicer up to date decor!! Having paid £100 for this room felt really disappointed and more so when they then charged us just over £15 for a pint of lager and a glass of wine!! Ridiculous!! Don't mind paying over the odds if your staying in luxury but I certainly would not call these rooms luxury!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review, 2 December 2015
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    401
    280
    136
    83
See reviews for
281
639
32
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Booked a relaxing short break at this hotel.
Friendly attentive staff.
Excellent meals from either a la carte or market menu or in fact a combination of both.
Tasty breakfast, comfortable room, what are people complaining about in their negative reviews.
We have stayed on many occasions using the facilities and strolling around the manicured gardens.
We will continue to return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank stum574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review, 2 December 2015
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We have just had a lazy recharge break at this hotel.
The staff were their usual friendly, courteous and attentive selves.
The rooms were lovely, the food was excellent whether on a la carte or market menu.
Great breakfast, what are all these moaning minnies complaining about.
We are frequent visitors to this hotel and have never been disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review, 2 December 2015
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable weekend stay here. The house and gardens are stunning and maintained to a very high standard. We had a 'classic' double room (number 66), which was clean and well equipped with everything we could have needed - iron and ironing board, hairdryer, trouser press, tea and coffee making facilities and TV. Very comfortable bed and spacious, fully tiled bathroom with heated towel rail and shower over bath. As per some of the previous reviews, the decor is a little dated, but this is a historic building and in my opinion it wouldn't be appropriate for everything to be shiny and new.

Breakfast is fantastic, with a choice of huge continental buffet or traditional cooked breakfast. Everything was fresh and of a very high quality and the elegant dining room added to the experience. The pool is great and we found the staff professional and obliging.

Personally I think the 4 star AA rating is well deserved and I hope I have an excuse to stay here again sometime!

Room Tip: Our second floor room was only accessible by steps, so request a room on the ground floor if that...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review, 2 December 2015
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2014

What a surprise!
From check in to Check out the staff were outstanding - the food was outstanding - the effort and help afforded to our daughter was sheer brilliance!

Can't recommend highly enough to anyone looking for something outside the city

Room Tip: Room we stayed in had a lovely garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drewerskine77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review, 2 December 2015
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We got booked in here for the night of our wedding it was beautiful and the breakfast was gorgeous. The little things that add the Scottish touch are perfect. Service was first class and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who was visiting the area.
1st Class...

Room Tip: Our room was amazing - no problem at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaks_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review, 2 December 2015
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife and I booked a room to celebrate our wedding anniversary through Macdonald’s central reservation service, responding to a special offer email which had been sent to us. This mail offered a rate of £146 dinner, bed and breakfast.

The telephonist at central reservations offered to provide a bottle wine awaiting in our room on arrival to celebrate the anniversary – which was duly provided. We were more than surprised (and embarrassed), therefore to be told on leaving the hotel next morning that the booking was only for single occupancy and a considerable extra sum was due for payment to cover the additional cost!

We were disappointed to find the choice of food on the menu was restrictive (unless we wanted to pay extra and choose outside the set discounted rate selection) and the food we were served wasn’t exceptional. Our starter was (supposedly) “ham hough terrine” (maybe someone had misspelt hock) but could just as easily been a piece of spam. (It was certainly spam tin shaped). The shaping apparatus had been employed again for the “slow cooked beef” served for the main course – more akin to a burger than roast beef.

I must thank the staff for the lovely “Happy Anniversary” plate, inscribed with icing sugar – nice touch.

At breakfast we struggled to find a clean glass for an orange juice from the help yourself buffet. The glasses had either not been washed from the day before or the dishwasher was on the blink. I suspect the latter as the cups on our room convenience tray were also filthy. The breakfast cereal bowls were little better, which put me off partaking in the meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katybear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herve B, General Manager at Macdonald Houstoun House, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the feedback you provided. As I haven't got your name or date of stay I was not able to check your reservation but please feel free to contact me direct on gm.houstounhouse@macdonald-hotels.co.uk when I will check any over charges for you.

It was nice to read you enjoyed the Anniversary plate provided in the restaurant to acknowledge your special occasion. On the other end, I was very disappointed to read about some of the shortfall you encoutered and please rest assured I have raised this my team.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uphall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Old Town
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
#55 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Houstoun House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Houstoun House

Property: Macdonald Houstoun House
Address: West Lothian, Uphall EH52 6JS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Uphall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uphall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Houstoun House 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a secluded spot near Livingston just west of Edinburgh, and set in 22 acres of beautiful woodlands, Macdonald Houstoun House is the perfect country hotel and retreat. Once visited by Mary Queen of Scots, the historic building has the classic grace of a 16th century Tower House. Inside, 70 rooms blend luxury and character, with a unique feature bedroom in the Tower For food-lovers, the Jeremy Wares at Houstoun House restaurant has two AA Rosettes for excellent local ingredients, expertly cooked in season. In the cellar, the cosy Vaulted Bar is the perfect spot for a drink or afternoon tea. Our Leisure Club and Spa have ample scope for working off the calories and a host of rejuvenating treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Houstoun House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Houstoun House Hotel Livingston
Macdonald Houstoun Hotel
Macdonald Houstoun Livingston
Houston House Hotel
Macdonald Houstoun House Uphall, West Lothian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing