We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure what happened ”
Review of 1908 Restaurant

1908 Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Portobello
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Classic New Zealand dining in a historic character building with courtyard overlooking the stunning Otago Harbour. Open for Lunch and Dinner.
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

This is supposed to be the fourth best restaurant in Dunedin. It was the worst meal and coffee we've had so far by a considerable margin. The fish had a nice light batter, but had been cooked in oil that wasn't hot enough. The chips looked great but tasted as though the potatoes were old. The vege portobello mushroom on lentil cake was slightly better although there was an odd soapy taste to the dish. The ambience was fine, the service welcoming. Perhaps the regular chef was off for Saturday lunch?

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank ceridwynr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline L, Owner at 1908 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Wow I don't understand what went wrong either. The fish was fresh lemon sole cooked in a light crispy batter served with a fresh green salad home made Dijon mustard red wine vinaigrette, our most popular dish.The chips are bought in so I'm not sure if that company uses old potatoes but never had problems before.The deep fryer is regularly cleaned and had no other problems on that day. We do apologise for your disappointment with your meals just a shame you didn't let us know at the time. Thank you for taking the time to pass on your disappointment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 278 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We were already staying on the peninsula and 1908 was recommended so my wife and I went for dinner. It's a cosy older building kept warm and inviting. The food was excellent. The seafood chowder was superb and the fish of the day was fresh and cooked to perfection. Portions were generous without being excessive. Just be sure to leave room for dessert!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Nothing better on a wintry Sunday evening but to treat yourself to some really good home cooking, the seafood chowder was almost a meal in itself, I had the sole and my wife the chicken and both were fantastic, finished off the meal with mid winter fruit cake, Custard and ice cream, some nice local wine and you have the recipe for a wonderful experience. Great friendly service and the fire was on to warm us all up. It's well worth the trip out from Dunedin.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank honestscotsmana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Did not have a reservation on a wintry Sunday evening - warmly greeted and I really appreciated the friendly service. Chose the seafood chowder which was a delicious way to start. For my main meal I enjoyed a serving of salmon and vegetables. The recommended white wine (can't remember the type or name) matched my dinner well. Finished it off with a coffee which was a lovely way to finish off my dinner at the 1908 cafe.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

I loved the friendliness of the staff, it seems more like being welcomed into someone's home, but with just the right amount of distance. The ambience is amazing, and the views awesome.. now the food I have been lost for words, simply delicious from starter to desert.. take my advice, make the journey, you will not be dissapointed.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed 1908 Restaurant also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to 1908 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.