We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and nice owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portobello Motel Cottages
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portobello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Though it was not a very easy drive to the motel on Otago Peninsula, it was very worthwhile. The couples who run the motel were very friendly, which made us feel very comfortable. We were also very glad to know we can buy fresh eggs from them and we did so. They seems surprised when we said we would like to buy all the eggs :-). As Chinese people, we were also very happy to see the kitchen is very well equipped and we were even provided a rice cooker which helped us to make the best rice for dinner during the whole trip. The motel is a very good choice if you plan to spend some time visiting Otago Peninsula, which I will also strongly recommended for very beautiful beaches. But if you only want to visit the city of Dunedin, it may be too far away from the center.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank everlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you so much for writing your kind review!

We're very pleased you enjoyed using the rice cooker!!

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Thank you for choosing our motel.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was a lovely comfortable motel and it was run by a friendly couple. The location was great and it was a peaceful place to stay. The rooms are very well maintained and comfortable. We really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you so much for your review.
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in our lovely corner of the world.
Please come again!!

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Lovely motel, great attention to detail,eveything it says it is. Owners very friendly and helpful.Quiet with excellent view from our studio.What a peaceful place stay. Now what more can I say- there is not a lot to say as negatives are not here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Well thank you so much. Exceeding expectations is what we aim for!!

We were delighted you chose to stay with us...please come again next time you're coming to Dunedin.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, travelling as a family with 3 kids.
Very friendly and helpful and Keith and Sue made us feel very welcome.
The 2 bedroom cottage was warm and cosy. Short walk to shops and café.
Kids LOVED the nearby park (opposite Happy Hens).
Would definitely recommend. We really enjoyed staying on the peninsula.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fidgetgidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

We were delighted to host some of your stay in New Zealand and thank you for choosing us!

We really enjoy having families here and seeing them enjoying our beautiful area.

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to write it.

Best wishes to you all.

Sue and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My wife and I had a four night stay here in late September 2013. As some of the 2-person rooms were being given new carpets - to keep up the impressive quality of the rooms - we were given one of the more spacious apartments that could sleep four. We had a L-shaped lounge, dining and kitchen area with a good sized bedroom and large comfy bed. There was a clean shower room with large shower and continuous hot water on tap. What more could one ask for?
The hosts who, like us, had come from the UK were very friendly and helpful - giving us, for example, a 4 page booklet telling us what one could do for an up to 4 day stay and provided us with detailed walk descriptions produced by Peter who runs the Penguin Cafe. One, out to the end of the Portobello Peninsular starts just across from the motel. We did others during our stay to see sea lions on Victory Beach (one) and in Sandfly Bay (many - but it is quite a steep climb back up to the car park).
The owners can provide a continental breakfast if required.
The motel is located in a pretty village with shop, fish and chip takeaway, cafe, bistro and up-market restaurant close by to cater for all tastes. The bus stop with an ~hourly service into Dunedin is just a short distance from the entrance.
The skies are dark with the milky-way easily seen over head. (I happen to be an astronomer.)
It is conveniently located to visit the Albatross colony (we saw one) and Blue and Yellow Eyed Penguins by driving further out into the Otago Peninsular or, towards Dunedin and high up, Larnach Castle.

In conclusion, this was a superb place to spend a few days in the Otago region and one that can be highly recommended.

Room Tip: If a couple and staying for a few days it might be worth paying extra for the larger apartments, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you so much for your extremely complimentary and comprehensive review!! It's always so nice to hear that our guests' expectations have been reached or have been superceded!

We also really enjoy knowing that our guests have taken full advantage of all the lovely things the Peninsula has to offer...the walks, the wildlife, and the general environs.

So thank you for reinforcing all that!

We hope to see you again some day when you're over here on your travels again. In the meanwhile enjoy the rest of your trip and have a safe journey home.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

It is a lovely place, a family running motel. Comfortable and nice. 20 mins driving way(lovely highcliff path)to the city, 10 mins driving way to the beach. Easy to take a tour to see wild lives. Had a wonderful time. Thx!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22Erica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write them!

It's lovely to hear what our guests think and to know they have enjoyed the area as much as we do!

Thanks again.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was a great little find. Extremely great service and very clean facilities. I think we all had our best night sleep here. Very close to the wildlife and beaches. The fish and chips were great and only a short walk from the motel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aytunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review for us!!

We're delighted you enjoyed your day and slept well...it must be the peace and quiet and Portobello air!!

We hope the rest of your trip went well.

Thanks again.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portobello
7.2 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
751 reviews
1.9 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 61 in Dunedin
646 reviews
7.7 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 61 in Dunedin
295 reviews
7.1 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
299 reviews
7.2 mi away
Alexis Motor Lodge
Alexis Motor Lodge
#5 of 61 in Dunedin
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello Motel Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello Motel Cottages

Address: 10 Harington Point Road, Portobello, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin > Portobello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portobello
Price Range: £80 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portobello Motel Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel is set back off the main road through the little village of Portobello. The setting is peaceful and quiet. Our 4 studio rooms have lovely views over Portobello Harbour. Our 2 one-bedroom and 2 two bedroom cottages, whilst not having harbour views, are both spacious and comfortable. All the units come fully equipped for self catering although the delightful 1908 Restaurant is situated just across the road from the end of our drive. The Hotel next door has a Bistro bar, providing good food and beer and the Penguin Cafe offers hot and cold snacks and picnics. The local shop is well stocked too. The Portobello Motel is 20 minutes or less from Royal Albatrosses , sea lions, seals, penguins and many other sea and shore birds. There are some lovely walks in the area too. Bring your binoculars for wildlife watching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Portobello Motel Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing