We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portobello Motel Cottages
Nearby Hotels
US$375
US$357
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Aria on Bank(Dunedin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
414
77
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
77
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsotago peninsulablue penguinsbedroom cottagefish and chip shopnew zealandalbatross centerpenguin viewinghighcliff roadscenic drivefriendly ownersstayed longerelm wildlife tourpenguin placequiet locationminute drivestayed for nightslarnach castle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 496 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Keith and Sue made my stay in Portobello most enjoyable. The rooms are well equipped, clean and very comfortable. I very much enjoyed having a proper living room apart from the separate bedroom. Sue and Keith are really friendly and they were always looking for ways to make their guests feel at home.
I found the peninsula overwhelming with its beautiful scenery and wildlife in abundance (sea lions and seals, penguins, albatrosses). It was the perfect place for a last stop before my flight back home.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a view over Portobello harbour.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulrike128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Ulrike,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our motel. We were very pleased to host your stay on the Peninsula and delighted that you enjoyed the whole experience so much.

We are very flattered by your remarks and thank you most sincerely.

All the very best,

Sue and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We really recommend this motel. Right from booking the owners through e mail write back giving helpful suggestions, making you reassured that you are going to be staying somewhere where the owners really care about your stay.
Excellent recommendations and help for booking and even fresh eggs from their own hens available.
Very good wi fi and if you a lucky enough to have a harbour view this is icing on the cake.
We will definitely return and wish Keith and Sue continuing success in their venture. Thank you very much.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Thank you Lynn. We're so pleased you found our motel comfortable and enjoyed all the Peninsula had to offer.

It was lovely to meet you both and we would be thrilled to see you again any time!

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's good to know we are managing to tick the right boxes!!

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Portobello Motel. Our room was a bit dated, but very well kept and maintained, immaculate clean and comfy. We had a studio room with a great view to the sea. The motel is in walking distance to the 1908 restaurant (great food) and the pub. What make this motel most special are the wonderful hosts Sue and Keith. Upon our arrival they were not able to greet us in person as we were later than expected and thus left us a long explanatory and very helpful letter with some recommendations. We met both in person on the next morning and they were very friendly and helpful. Sue also booked for us some interesting tours on the peninsula. The Otago Peninsula is a very special place and so beautiful. We highly recommend staying at the Portobello Motel and like to thank Sue and Keith for the great stay we had.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milmiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your very kind review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that our recommendations helped you to make the most of what was available on the Peninsula while you were here.

The blue penguins continue to come onto Pilots Beach in very large numbers (150-200 per night) and the rather windy weather recently has showcased the Royal Albatross and their graceful gliding, making viewing spectacular.

Thanks again and kind regards.

Sue and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had a wonderful time staying at this motel. The host/managers were so nice, friendly and helpful. Location is great, too. Everything we needed was there.There is a lot to explore in the area and this place gets you much closer then staying in Otago. Portobello has restaurants and shop open even on Christmas day for a few hours.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tondastours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Keith and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us over Christmas, and found the motel (and us) to your liking!!

We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday and wish you all the very best for the New Year.

Kind regards,

Keith and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Immaculate modern warm comfortable accommodation. Although just a very lucky unplanned one night stay, it was difficult leaving as we enjoyed our stay so much. Keith & Sue made us feel so much at home that they felt like family to us. Perfect hosts! We would definitely like to stay here again if we're down this way.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Keith and I were delighted to be able to help you out with your overnight stay and were very pleased to meet you.

I do hope you'll call in and see us next time you're in town!!

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews