We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portobello Paradise”
Review of Portobello Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portobello Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portobello
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Everything about the Portobello Motel was perfect even though we had some poor weather.
Great Chalet, with excellent views of the Peninsular and everything you could want inside.
Both Sue & Keith extremely helpful with nothing too much trouble including arranging trips and giving good advice.
Car fairly essential although public transport is available.

Room Tip: Ask for a Chalet with a view of the Peninsular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and thank you for being so generous with your comments!!

We're delighted you found everything to your liking in spite of the weather!

Hope the remainder of your trip was a great experience.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

Charming bungalows in a charming village on a charming peninsula in a charming province on a charming island. And Keith and Sue were always ready with just the right amount of advice. Much nicer (in our opinion, provided you have transportation) than staying in nearby Dunedin. 1908 food fantastic!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berekum-ghana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

What a great review!! Thank you so much.

It's really nice to know that Portobello has been a success and that your visit here has added something to your New Zealand experience.

We appreciate the time you've taken to write.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Keith and Sue made my stay in Portobello most enjoyable. The rooms are well equipped, clean and very comfortable. I very much enjoyed having a proper living room apart from the separate bedroom. Sue and Keith are really friendly and they were always looking for ways to make their guests feel at home.
I found the peninsula overwhelming with its beautiful scenery and wildlife in abundance (sea lions and seals, penguins, albatrosses). It was the perfect place for a last stop before my flight back home.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a view over Portobello harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulrike128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Ulrike,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our motel. We were very pleased to host your stay on the Peninsula and delighted that you enjoyed the whole experience so much.

We are very flattered by your remarks and thank you most sincerely.

All the very best,

Sue and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We really recommend this motel. Right from booking the owners through e mail write back giving helpful suggestions, making you reassured that you are going to be staying somewhere where the owners really care about your stay.
Excellent recommendations and help for booking and even fresh eggs from their own hens available.
Very good wi fi and if you a lucky enough to have a harbour view this is icing on the cake.
We will definitely return and wish Keith and Sue continuing success in their venture. Thank you very much.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Thank you Lynn. We're so pleased you found our motel comfortable and enjoyed all the Peninsula had to offer.

It was lovely to meet you both and we would be thrilled to see you again any time!

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's good to know we are managing to tick the right boxes!!

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed for two nights at the Portobello Motel. Our room was a bit dated, but very well kept and maintained, immaculate clean and comfy. We had a studio room with a great view to the sea. The motel is in walking distance to the 1908 restaurant (great food) and the pub. What make this motel most special are the wonderful hosts Sue and Keith. Upon our arrival they were not able to greet us in person as we were later than expected and thus left us a long explanatory and very helpful letter with some recommendations. We met both in person on the next morning and they were very friendly and helpful. Sue also booked for us some interesting tours on the peninsula. The Otago Peninsula is a very special place and so beautiful. We highly recommend staying at the Portobello Motel and like to thank Sue and Keith for the great stay we had.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milmiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for your very kind review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that our recommendations helped you to make the most of what was available on the Peninsula while you were here.

The blue penguins continue to come onto Pilots Beach in very large numbers (150-200 per night) and the rather windy weather recently has showcased the Royal Albatross and their graceful gliding, making viewing spectacular.

Thanks again and kind regards.

Sue and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had a wonderful time staying at this motel. The host/managers were so nice, friendly and helpful. Location is great, too. Everything we needed was there.There is a lot to explore in the area and this place gets you much closer then staying in Otago. Portobello has restaurants and shop open even on Christmas day for a few hours.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tondastours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Keith and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us over Christmas, and found the motel (and us) to your liking!!

We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday and wish you all the very best for the New Year.

Kind regards,

Keith and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Immaculate modern warm comfortable accommodation. Although just a very lucky unplanned one night stay, it was difficult leaving as we enjoyed our stay so much. Keith & Sue made us feel so much at home that they felt like family to us. Perfect hosts! We would definitely like to stay here again if we're down this way.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Keith and I were delighted to be able to help you out with your overnight stay and were very pleased to meet you.

I do hope you'll call in and see us next time you're in town!!

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate it.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portobello
7.2 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
741 reviews
1.9 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
634 reviews
7.7 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
291 reviews
7.1 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
293 reviews
7.2 mi away
Alexis Motor Lodge
Alexis Motor Lodge
#5 of 61 in Dunedin
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello Motel

Address: 10 Harington Point Road, Portobello, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin > Portobello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portobello
Price Range: £84 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portobello Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel is set back off the main road through the little village of Portobello. The setting is peaceful and quiet. Our 4 studio rooms have lovely views over Portobello Harbour. Our 2 one-bedroom and 2 two bedroom cottages, whilst not having harbour views, are both spacious and comfortable. All the units come fully equipped for self catering although the delightful 1908 Restaurant is situated just across the road from the end of our drive. The Hotel next door has a Bistro bar, providing good food and beer and the Penguin Cafe offers hot and cold snacks and picnics. The local shop is well stocked too. The Portobello Motel is 20 minutes or less from Royal Albatrosses , sea lions, seals, penguins and many other sea and shore birds. There are some lovely walks in the area too. Bring your binoculars for wildlife watching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Portobello Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing