We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portobello Motel Cottages
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    Aria on Bank(Dunedin)
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Garden Motel(Dunedin)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (496)
    Filter reviews
    496 results
    Traveller rating
    414
    77
    5
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    414
    77
    5
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsotago peninsulablue penguinsbedroom cottagefish and chip shopnew zealandalbatross centerpenguin viewinghighcliff roadscenic drivefriendly ownersstayed longerelm wildlife tourpenguin placequiet locationminute drivestayed for nightslarnach castle
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    326 - 331 of 496 reviews
    Reviewed 2 February 2014

    As we only booked 2 days before , i was just pleased to find an availability for a family of 4 . The pictures did not do the place justice , and we where surprised at how large the unit was . The owners greeted us like old friends and where very helpful . The kitchen had everything you needed all very clean and new . Excellent spot to go and visit the penguins and albatross .. If only i had known i would have stayed for both nights we spent on the peninsula . We spent one month on both islands sleeping in 8 different houses , This motel being one of our favourites :) excellent value for money and highly recommended

    • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank 617John
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

    We were very pleased to be able to host at least some of your stay on the Peninsula and are delighted you enjoyed the experience.

    It's always nice to know that our guests find the accommodation (and us!) meet their expectations! So thank you for taking the time to write a review...helpful for us and future guests.

    May thanks.

    Kind regards,

    Sue and Keith

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 31 January 2014

    Everything about the Portobello Motel was perfect even though we had some poor weather.
    Great Chalet, with excellent views of the Peninsular and everything you could want inside.
    Both Sue & Keith extremely helpful with nothing too much trouble including arranging trips and giving good advice.
    Car fairly essential although public transport is available.

    Room Tip: Ask for a Chalet with a view of the Peninsular
    • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Dave H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and thank you for being so generous with your comments!!

    We're delighted you found everything to your liking in spite of the weather!

    Hope the remainder of your trip was a great experience.

    Kind regards,

    Sue and Keith

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 January 2014

    Charming bungalows in a charming village on a charming peninsula in a charming province on a charming island. And Keith and Sue were always ready with just the right amount of advice. Much nicer (in our opinion, provided you have transportation) than staying in nearby Dunedin. 1908 food fantastic!

    • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Eric S J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

    What a great review!! Thank you so much.

    It's really nice to know that Portobello has been a success and that your visit here has added something to your New Zealand experience.

    We appreciate the time you've taken to write.

    Kind regards,

    Sue and Keith

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 January 2014

    Keith and Sue made my stay in Portobello most enjoyable. The rooms are well equipped, clean and very comfortable. I very much enjoyed having a proper living room apart from the separate bedroom. Sue and Keith are really friendly and they were always looking for ways to make their guests feel at home.
    I found the peninsula overwhelming with its beautiful scenery and wildlife in abundance (sea lions and seals, penguins, albatrosses). It was the perfect place for a last stop before my flight back home.

    Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a view over Portobello harbour.
    • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Ulrike128
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

    Dear Ulrike,

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our motel. We were very pleased to host your stay on the Peninsula and delighted that you enjoyed the whole experience so much.

    We are very flattered by your remarks and thank you most sincerely.

    All the very best,

    Sue and Keith

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 January 2014

    We really recommend this motel. Right from booking the owners through e mail write back giving helpful suggestions, making you reassured that you are going to be staying somewhere where the owners really care about your stay.
    Excellent recommendations and help for booking and even fresh eggs from their own hens available.
    Very good wi fi and if you a lucky enough to have a harbour view this is icing on the cake.
    We will definitely return and wish Keith and Sue continuing success in their venture. Thank you very much.

    Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    Thank Lynn T
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

    Thank you Lynn. We're so pleased you found our motel comfortable and enjoyed all the Peninsula had to offer.

    It was lovely to meet you both and we would be thrilled to see you again any time!

    Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's good to know we are managing to tick the right boxes!!

    Kind regards,

    Sue and Keith

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews