We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portobello Motel Cottages
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aria on Bank(Dunedin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Motel(Dunedin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveller rating
414
77
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
77
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsotago peninsulablue penguinsbedroom cottagefish and chip shopnew zealandalbatross centerpenguin viewinghighcliff roadscenic drivefriendly ownersstayed longerelm wildlife tourpenguin placequiet locationminute drivestayed for nightslarnach castle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
302 - 307 of 496 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

An idyllic location overlooking Portobello Bay, only 15mins scenic drive from Dunedin. Don't let that drive put you off, its only a short trip by main road, well surfaced and double width - this is not the end of the earth! Such a lovely warm welcome from our hosts Keith and Sue and their staff, to accommodation that was exemplary and spotlessly clean. A beautiful self-contained unit, with every facility imaginable and a balcony view over the village and harbour to die for! It is the warmth of the welcome and the attention to detail that has been put into this facility which makes this THE place to stay. Immaculate in every detail, beds, bedding, furniture, kitchen, shower - just so well-equipped, vehicle access, parking, local facilities etc. Locally, a great cafe for breakfast with a good social atmosphere, great restaurant/pub nearby, the village shop has more than you will ever need - and the fish and chip shop and its staff are just fantastic. Brilliantly quiet and relaxing, but there is so much to see and do on the Peninsula we just couldn't fit it all in. Busy days out and about on some glorious beaches and walks, then relaxing with a glass of wine on the balcony after a meal and time spent watching those penguins come home. Can't speak highly enough of the Portobello Motel and we will certainly be returning. We actually left feeling we'd stayed with great friends they'd made us so welcome.

Room Tip: Get in quick for the best balcony views, but no room will disappoint you.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you so much for your great review!! It is very gratifying to know that we are hitting the mark with our accommodation.

We were truly delighted to meet you both and hope the rest of your holiday was a great experience and you've taken home some really great memories of our part of the world.

We would love to welcome you back any time in the future!!

Thank you again.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Otago Peninsula is spectacular and the motel was centrally located for our rambles. There is a lovely restaurant just across the road, and a cafe with good coffee around the corner. Not much view from our unit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ainahou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for giving us your thoughts on the Motel and area.

The 1908 Restaurant is certainly very handy and a definite bonus in a small village like Portobello. So too is the Penguin Café which serves food all day.

The only rooms with harbour views are the Studios unfortunately although one of the one bedroom units does have a partial harbour view. The bigger rooms have more of a rural outlook. Sorry to disappoint but you don't have to step out too far to see the pretty surroundings!

Thanks again.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Nice views overlooking the water, a good restaurant at the end of the short drive and ideal for exploring the Otago peninsular.
Rooms are large, clean and well equipped. Beds a little hard for us but nice linens and good towels. Bathroom clean and roomy and shower good.
Nice to have a completely separate building so really nice and quiet.

Room Tip: Any, all look good
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to write it.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and sorry you found the beds a little too firm for your liking, but thank you for bringing it to our attention.We are considering having 'toppers' available in the future.

Thanks again.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Although Portobello is farther from Dunedin that we envisioned, we highly recommend the Portobello Motel to travelers who want to be immersed in the wild, breathtaking Otago Peninsula. We stayed in the 1 bedroom cottage - a self-contained unit with a lot of space and windows. It was very clean, with complete kitchen and great bed. Good restaurant choices are a short walk away, plus one advantage of being far out on the peninsula is that after two scenic choices for the drive to this destination, one is very close to the Royal Albatross Center where one can visit the free museum and have a chance to see not only Royal Albatross, but blue penguins, and fur seals.

We enjoyed chatting with Keith and Sue and learned of some enjoyable activities (Thieves' Alley and the Middlemarch access to the Otago Rail Trail) from them.

Our only recommendation is that they clarify for their visitors that the grocery shopping in Anderson's Bay is on Anderson's Bay Road, one street south of Portsmouth Drive, the main road between Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula. It is certainly best to buy supplies there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cen811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments.

I will update the information about shopping and petrol on Andersons Bay ROAD as opposed to Andersons Bay. Thank you for pointing that out. Easily remedied.

We're both delighted you enjoyed your stay on the Peninsula so much. It certainly has beautiful scenery. We feel very privileged to live here.

Thanks again.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We decided to have a less than typical arrival in New Zealand. Rather than staying in Aukland our first night we took another short flight to Dunedin. We are SO glad we did! There were so many things to do in the area. But best of all was our stay at the Portobello. Keith and Sue were amazing and very welcoming. They knew we were there for my 50th birthday trip and they went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. They left me a lovely tray with fresh roses, chocolates and wine. We had a great view from our large apartment. The place was SPOTLESS. I don't know how the heck they can get it so clean!

Thank you Keith and Sue for a wonderful birthday! I'm sorry it's taken so long to write this review.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToriM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for your very kind comments and for taking the time to write a review.

We were delighted to be able to add a little 'something' to your birthday celebrations and even more pleased that you decided to start you holiday here on the Peninsula. For the majority of travellers this is their last stop before going on to Christchurch or Auckland so we were particularly pleased we were first on your itinerary!!

Glad everything was to your liking and that we met your expectations.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews