We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great welcome”
Review of Portobello Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portobello Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portobello
Certificate of Excellence
Villeneuve-sur-Lot, France
1 review
“Great welcome”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We arrived feeling tired, well into the evening after a long drive from Akaroa. Keith and Sue were very friendly and welcoming before showing us to our unit. Their welcome really revived us. The unit was spacious and very comfortable with all the facilities we wanted. It goes without saying that it was spotless. On Keith and Sue's recommendation we went to a restaurant across the road for a very good meal. After a good nights sleep we went back to reception and Sue suggested that as we are interested in wildlife we go on a boat trip to see albatross. She phoned the boat company and booked it for us. The motel is about 10 minutes drive from the jetty where the boat left so very conveniently positioned. Without that suggestion we would not have known that we could go and see albatross before we continued on our way.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank femmeanglaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for your generous review!

We're so pleased you were able to fit in a Monarch cruise before you left the Peninsula. It is a truly delightful tour. Last week there were some whales just off Taiaroa Head!!

Thank you for choosing Portobello Motel and for telling us you enjoyed it.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    72
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
112
279
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

First the motel - we had a lovely spacious room with a well equipped kitchenette, spotless bathroom, good quality bedding, linens and towels. The location was perfect for touring the Otago peninsula and its wildlife - as well as being convenient to Dunedin.

Perhaps the best reason to stay here is the owners. They are extremely friendly, kind and knowledgeable. They know the area and how to get the most out of your stay. Get them to advise you and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlySemiRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Manager at Portobello Motel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words!

It's very good to know that our guests have been satisfied with the location and level of accommodation so thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We booked this hotel from TripAdvisor reviews and it was very much worth while. Such a beautiful place to stay. The rooms were lovely and spacious (we had the two bedroom unit). The drive there was stunning and worth going the water view road. Keith and Sue are extremely lovely people and Keith was so very kind to my daughter and made her feel really welcome taking the time to talk to her and myself. Definitely a must to stay. It was new years eve 2013 and we had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicolaMcIvor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for your very kind review.

We're delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and were very pleased to meet and talk to you both. Hopefully the remainder of your trip was very enjoyable!

Thank you for taking the time to write.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

The rooms are spacious and clean and the motel is set away from the main road,so is very quiet. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The only slight criticism is that the rooms are slightly impersonal, they would benefit from some pictures on the walls and a few dollars spent on better quality fittings, we kept worrying that items such as towel rails etc were going to come of the wall as they were very flimsy. Having said that we really enjoyed our stay and would happily return if we were in the area.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PeterRAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to write.

We are in a continual process of adding to,replacing and refurbing the rooms so I am pleased to take your comments and ideas on board. Some of the rooms do have lovely wildlife photos (taken by Elm Wildlife) which we have had enlarged and put on canvas.

We would be very pleased to welcome you back at any time!

Thank you again.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewistown, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our clean and spacious room had a nice view of the harbor, especially from the outdoor deck where my wife and I shared a bottle of wine after a night of viewing the "Little Blue" penguins at the Royal Albatross Centre on the tip of the Otago Peninsula. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful and the area was beautiful. This place is a worthwhile stop.

Tom & Linda Montata, USA

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write your thoughts. The views over the harbour are lovely. It is very peaceful and serene.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're delighted you enjoyed it.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at the Portobello Motel in February 2014 and would highly recommend it for travellers . Sue and Keith were extremely helpful in booking tours for us , making recommendations and attending to any little inconviences in our unit . The units are clean , well kept and quiet . The only downside might be the drive into Dunedin with both routes being on winding/hilly terrain , but the scenery on both is outstanding and the access to the albatross center and penquins makes up for it . We would definitely stay there again .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doop0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We're very pleased we were able to make your stay a pleasant one!

The drive to Portobello is, as you say, interesting! There are 2 routes; one along the harbour at sea level and one which runs along the spine of the peninsula so the views are tremendous. Beautiful on a sunny day!

Thanks again.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Excellent accommodation. We were only in Dunedin for the night and both Keith and Sue were more than happy to point us to some of the more popular tourist spots. Due to time constraints this we didn't see them all and as such we will return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahdog1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We would be delighted to see you again in the future!

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write on our behalf.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portobello
1.9 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
625 reviews
7.2 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
725 reviews
7.7 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
7.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 61 in Dunedin
279 reviews
7.1 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello Motel

Property: Portobello Motel
Address: 10 Harington Point Road, Portobello, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin > Portobello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portobello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Portobello Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel is set back off the main road through the little village of Portobello. The setting is peaceful and quiet. Our 4 studio rooms have lovely views over Portobello Harbour.Our 2 one-bedroomed and 2-two bedroomed cottages, whilst not having harbour views, are both spacious and comfortable.All the units come fully equipped for self catering although the delightful 1908 Restaurant is situated just across the road from the end of our drive. The Hotel next door has a Bistro bar, providing good food and beer and the Penguin Cafe offers hot and cold snacks and picnics. The local shop is well stocked too.The Portobello Motel is only 20 minutes from Taiaroa Head where the Royal Albatross , sea lions,seals, penguins and many sea birds are to be found.There are some lovely walks in the area too. Bring your binoculars for wildlife watching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Portobello Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing