We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Portobello Motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Portobello Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Portobello Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portobello
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Portobello Motel”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This small charming place is centrally located on the Otago peninsula. From Portobello you can visit the penguins, Larnach castle or ride on the Monarch boat. The proprietor is lovely and will make reservations for you. There is a lovely little grocery store at the bottom of the driveway and there is a small but usable kitchen in the room. Better yet, eat at 1908, the restaurant at the bottom of the hill -- make reservations! The rooms have harbor views and large sliding glass doors for fresh air. Clean and not too expensive. Loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for harbor view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamanimalrescue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We're both so pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and that the Peninsula and Portobello and our motel met your expectations.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and will come back again to explore some more!!

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    72
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
110
273
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights because Dunedin had an event and the rooms were filled. This place was awesome. Now that I know about it we will stay here again. The best and friendliest hosts. Very nice, large and very clean rooms. Very. Lose to the Albatross center and the Blue penguins are not to be missed. The 1908 restaurant is ver close and very good. Sue and Keith are very knowledgable and very funny. We loved our stay and highly recommend this place for anyone who wants peace and quiet and friendly people. I cannot express how great this place was. Thank you Sue and Keith for an awesome stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brook G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your super-kind comments!! Keith and I were delighted you stayed here and enjoyed our conversations with you very much!

The Peninsula is very beautiful and it gives us huge pleasure to see our guests getting the best from it. It was nice the Albatross took a keen interest too!!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We were referred here from another hotel in town, and I am glad because this was much better. The owners are so friendly and are great to have a laugh with. The bed felt so good after a day of travel. Beautiful view of the bay, close to all the attractions on the peninsula, over all great place. Felt I needed to review to keep their status up.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We really appreciate it.

We were delighted to be able to host your stay and that you got the chance to see the Peninsula.

We hope you'll take home happy memories of your experiences in New Zealand and will come back again before too long!!

Thanks again for your kind comments.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

I hadn't heard the sound of silence for quite some time and forgot what it was like until we visited this place. The service was super friendly, the room was very clean, tidy, warm and comfortable.
If you need to get away from it all I highly recommend coming here :-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chch_kraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words. It is very peaceful here.

We're pleased we ticked a few boxes for you!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

An easy to find after short scenic drive from Dunedin City. This motel is in a beautiful quiet location with views of the harbour., on the Otago Peninsula. It is close to all the peninsular wildlife and historic Larnach castle. Saw 8 species of bird in one afternoon drive round Hoopers inlet, sun burnt on Allens beach, no other humans in sight, where oyster catchers were nesting on the foreshore and saw fur seals. At the Royal albatross colony saw 4 birds soaring over head, a bird landing and crossbill feeding. Back at the hotel we used excellent laundry facilities. The motel was modern and well looked after, atmosphere relaxed, friendly and helpful, we'd have liked to stay longer and would definitely come back again next time visiting Dunedin. Don't forget to see the free early settlers museum which is a gem and next door you can have Dim Sum in the Chinese gardens. Great motel for couples having a private break or families wanting activities.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit with a view of the harbour from their front terrace - most do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your very comprehensive review!! It describes the Peninsula beautifully.

We're so glad we were able to offer you and your family some quiet space to enjoy our beautiful surroundings, as well as seeing some of the great things Dunedin has to offer.

Lets hope we see you again before too long!!

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Portbello Motel, owners happy to offer advice and recommendations. Great place to stay if you are taking a few days to explore the Otago Peninsula. If you plan on travelling to and from Dunedin the ~ 20km drive to the city is best done just once a day.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zak1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Many thanks for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed yourselves while you were here!!

The road trip to Dunedin is lovely but yes, once a day is probably enough!!

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights in April 2014. Especially the hosts were amazing!! They cared about everything and made our honeymoon stay very special. Loved the view over the bay!!! As a daytour we can recommend to explore the beautiful nature and wildlife on the peninsula.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tykson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
We were very pleased to be included as part of your Honeymoon so thank you for choosing our motel!!

We're delighted it was a memorable stay and look forward to seeing you again!!

Thank you for taking the time to write you review.

kind regards,

Sue and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portobello
7.2 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
707 reviews
7.7 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.9 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 57 in Dunedin
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 57 in Dunedin
325 reviews
7.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
273 reviews
7.1 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 57 in Dunedin
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello Motel

Property: Portobello Motel
Address: 10 Harington Point Road, Portobello, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin > Portobello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portobello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Portobello Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel is set back off the main road through the little village of Portobello. The setting is peaceful and quiet. Our 4 studio rooms have lovely views over Portobello Harbour.Our 2 one-bedroomed and 2-two bedroomed cottages, whilst not having harbour views, are both spacious and comfortable.All the units come fully equipped for self catering although the delightful 1908 Restaurant is situated just across the road from the end of our drive. The Hotel next door has a Bistro bar, providing good food and beer and the Penguin Cafe offers hot and cold snacks and picnics. The local shop is well stocked too.The Portobello Motel is only 20 minutes from Taiaroa Head where the Royal Albatross , sea lions,seals, penguins and many sea birds are to be found.There are some lovely walks in the area too. Bring your binoculars for wildlife watching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Portobello Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing