We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Portobello Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Portobello Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portobello
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Warm and Welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Motel facilities and staff were fantastic.
After travelling down from Christchurch for a long weekend in Dunedin with the family we were welcomed by the friendly staff, swiftly checked in and shown to our room.
We had a 2 bedroom unit, one room with a queen bed the other with 2 singles. It was clean, welcoming and had everything you would expect. The beds were comfortable and there were plenty of blankets etc to hand for those extra cold nights. We didn't need them even though the nights we were in Dunedin were cold as the rooms are well heated.
Parking was available immediately outside the room.
The Motel is located on the peninsular where access to gorgeous beaches, fantastic views and wildlife reserves are close by. All within a quick drive of the city centre.
Next time we are in Dunedin overnight we will definitely stay here.
The whole family loved it!

Room Tip: Let the owners know what time you will be arriving and they will have everything ready for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveS_Chc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you so much for your very generous review.

We are truly delighted you were so satisfied with your accommodation.

There is so much to see and do in and around the Peninsula so it is very pleasing to see our guests take full advantage of it.

We'd love to welcome you again before too long!!

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    72
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
110
273
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Passing through Dunedin on our way to Queenstown, we decided to take a night at Portobello. The Potobello Motel was fantastic. Clean, beautifully appointed and located for views of a fantastic little waterside town. We'd recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Ask for views if possible. We had a lovely view from a small deck, overlooking the town and the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Chillietravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased you decided to stop over in Portobello and are delighted you were so pleased with your choice!!

We both hope the rest of your trip was really enjoyable.

We look forward to seeing you back again.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed two nights here. Owners were very funny and helpful when we arrived. They gave us an overview of the town (it's tiny) and activities. They booked the Elm Wildlife Tour for us the next day (which was fabulous, see my review).

Our room had a balcony with a view of the lake - very nice. Room was all open, like a studio. We didn't use the kitchen other than to store a few things in the fridge (like wine!) Bathroom was a good size - soap, shampoo, and blowdryer provided; stall shower.

Bed had electric blankets. Room heater was "portable" and not on when we arrive (it was a warm day). It took a while to warm up but once it did we were comfortable.

Small wardrobe closet, but we primarily lived out of our suitcase. Parking is right outside your door. Restaurants and "town" is a walk down the driveway. We were each given 1mb of wifi which worked well and was sufficient for our stay.

Both yellow-eyed and blue penguins are in the area, as are albatross, seals, and sea lions to name a few. This is a nice place in a charming small town. So much to do if you prefer walks on isolated, beautiful beaches and enjoying the wildlife. Very relaxing!

(Note there is no gas station in town, or on the Peninsula, so fill up before heading out). But do go!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jankabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of our Motel!. We appreciate it very much.

For the benefit of our readers we actually give 200MB of wi fi away free per day! However, in this constantly changing world, this will doubtless be increased as New Zealand catches up with the rest of the world!!!

Many thanks again for your kind comments.

kind regards,

Sue and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Portobello Motel is very nice, has comfortable beds and beautiful surrounds. If you don't have a need to be in town, it is highly recommended. The innkeeps were very friendly and accommodating and we enjoyed our stay very much. No doubt we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your review and your very kind comments.

We certainly hope you will return before too long!

Many thanks.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had a great 2 night stay at the Portobello. Spent the day exploring the Otago Penensula. Keith and Sue were a great help with info on the area. Room was spotless and we had a great view from our deck. It was just warm enough in the afternoon to sit out on the deck and have some wine and cheese. I would recommend this motel highly. We ate at the 1809 restaurant which was also outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

It gives Keith and I great pleasure to know that our guests have really enjoyed their stay.

We love it that we have such a good quality restaurant in the 1908 Café, and that it's just across the road.

Thank you for your kind comments.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the 2-bedroom cottage for 3 nights. The room is spacious, tidy and clean, and well-equipped. The owner couple, Keith and Sue, are very friendly and helpful. I heard about that from my sister who stayed there before. It's very true! They talked with us to find what we need and gave us tips for sightseeing and food. Maureen who works there is also a very nice lady. We enjoyed our stay very much. The only thing we would complain is the water from the shower is too slow.

Helpful?
Thank ConyBrownBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are delighted you came here on a recommendation and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We were certainly delighted to decided to stay!!

Generally our showers are pretty high powered so perhaps the lever wasn't pulled out quite far enough.

Thank you again.

Kind regards,

Sue and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Stayed overnight at The Portobello Motel on a recent trip.
Quite cold that night so the heating and electric blanket very welcome.
Motel room very clean and usual motel kitchenette which came in handy for breakfast
Sensational view over the harbour from our unit
Owner Keith Rhodes very helpful with directions and lot of local knowledge about places to go and see.
Portobello is a nice village and a good location to explore the Otago Peninsula. Drive along the waterfront terrific so make sure you keep your eyes on the road.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a great view - owner happy to show you the rooms before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim V V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue R, Owner at Portobello Motel, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you for your complimentary comments. They are much appreciated!

We endeavour to give our guests the best experience we can so it's lovely when we tick the boxes. We hope you pay us another visit before too long.

Thanks again.

Kind regards,

Sue Rhodes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portobello
7.2 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
7.7 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.9 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
7.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
7.1 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portobello Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello Motel

Property: Portobello Motel
Address: 10 Harington Point Road, Portobello, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin > Portobello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portobello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Portobello Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Motel is set back off the main road through the little village of Portobello. The setting is peaceful and quiet. Our 4 studio rooms have lovely views over Portobello Harbour.Our 2 one-bedroomed and 2-two bedroomed cottages, whilst not having harbour views, are both spacious and comfortable.All the units come fully equipped for self catering although the delightful 1908 Restaurant is situated just across the road from the end of our drive. The Hotel next door has a Bistro bar, providing good food and beer and the Penguin Cafe offers hot and cold snacks and picnics. The local shop is well stocked too.The Portobello Motel is only 20 minutes from Taiaroa Head where the Royal Albatross , sea lions,seals, penguins and many sea birds are to be found.There are some lovely walks in the area too. Bring your binoculars for wildlife watching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Portobello Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing