We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for one night.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostellerie Chateau de la Barbiniere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We got a superior room on the first floor of the main building. This was very spacious and with a very large bed. We used the sofa for our daughter to sleep. The restaurant is serving average dishes and the breakfast is as well average. The wall between corridor and room could be better isolated as you can hear everybody walking in the corridor from the room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sebastien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

Visiting for first time and not fully convvinced. Room on first floor spacious but has a miniscule bathroom with a small bath/shower (feeble spray). Battleship grey with red feature walls not exactly a relaxing environment. Very hot in bedroom - very suprised no air conditioning in an establishment of this standing! On arrival, fridge contained a partly consumed orange juice. Hotel had a group meal booking in restaurant (not advised when booked) which meant normal gastronomic restaurant not available and noise from group making sleep difficile in bedrooms above dining room well after midnight.

On the plus side, the reception and wine bar staff were very welcoming and efficient. Wine bar a very relaxed atmosphere in which to have an informal meal with friends in an attractive setting. Menu limited but food good.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
6  Thank 56edition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We had a great room - lots of space & well furnished - in the chateau. We were made very welcome and dinner was excellent - great food, great service and reasonably priced. In its own grounds with country walks nearby.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dukpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

What a beautiful place where there is no way that you cannot relax. The hotel is sublimely decorated with contemporary art. As for the service, the staff makes you feel at home. The only low point is that they do not have a licence to serve alcohol outside restaurant hours. Highly recommend it

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeromeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Everything was amazing - the room, the grounds, the food, the swimming pool - above all the service and staff who did everything to make our stay perfect!

Notre séjour était superbe - la chambre, les environs, les repas, la piscine - surtout l'accueil et le personnel qui a fait tout pour un séjour parfait!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We spent one night in this fabulous chateau while visiting the Theme park Puy du Fou. The location and sceneries around are breathtaking!
The reception was quick yet welcoming, the hotel owner greets you personnally and takes care of your check in. We were given a room annexed to the chateau where the stables used to be. The room is spacious & clean, with a modern yet warm decor and beds are comfortable. It was rather warm inside, but the night was chilly so we welcomed that.
I would definetly recommend dinner there! It was our first traditional french - 5 course dinner, and it was exquisite! Even the kids menu is! Don't miss it! ( and even if you chose this Hotel because of its location near Puy du Fou, you could easly have dinner and make it to the Cinescenie on time!).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesZant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We spent one night at this impressive hotel. We had a room in the old stables annexe which was comfortable but rather hot.The bed was good, but I had a disturbed night as new guests were shown into the adjoining room at 1.45 am and although they were in the corridor outside our room, the sound proofing was non existent and it seemed as if they were talking loudly in our room.
There was an art exhibition in the hotel which added greatly to the enjoyment of the property. We eat in the lovely restaurant in the evening and had a good dinner, although the location of the kitchen and service area meant that there seemed to be a lot of staff and dirty plates passing through the restaurant.
Altogether a great location, lovely grounds and helpful staff, but a little more attention to detail needed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Laurent-sur-Sevre
9.1 mi away
Chateau de la Flocelliere
Chateau de la Flocelliere
#1 of 1 in La Flocelliere
133 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chateau du Boisniard
Chateau du Boisniard
#1 of 3 in Chambretaud
177 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ibis Les Herbiers
Ibis Les Herbiers
#1 of 5 in Les Herbiers
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Domaine de La Boulaie
Domaine de La Boulaie
#1 of 1 in Treize-Vents
106 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel La Verriaire
Hotel La Verriaire
#1 of 1 in La Verrie
370 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Chaumiere Hotel Restaurant
La Chaumiere Hotel Restaurant
#2 of 2 in Saint-Laurent-sur-Sevre
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Chateau de la Barbiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Chateau de la Barbiniere

Address: la Barbiniere, 85290 Saint-Laurent-sur-Sevre, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Saint-Laurent-sur-Sevre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saint-Laurent-sur-Sevre
Price Range: £80 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hostellerie Chateau de la Barbiniere 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostellerie Chateau de la Barbiniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing