We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don' tell anyone”
Review of La Sobronade

La Sobronade
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Vaunac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: AUBERGE DE CAMPAGNE , DANS LE BOUR DE VAUNAC , LES VACHES ET LES OISEAUX FONT PARTIS DU DECORT UNE TERRASSE VOUS ATTEND EN ETE ET UNE SALLE RUSTIQUE EN BOIS AVEC UNE PETITE FLAMBEE( POELE ) POUR L HIVER... DE L OMELETTE AUX CEPES , DES ESCARGOTS DE VAUNAC, DE LA VIANDE LIMOUSINE , DES CONFITURE MAISON SANS OUBLIER LE FOIE GRAS DU CHEF , ET NOS BRASERADES PERIGOURDINE POUR LES AMATEURS DE VIANDE ET DE FROMAGE ! VENEZ NOUS DECOUVRIR .UN ACCUEIL CHALEUREUX VOUS ATTEND
Wooler, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don' tell anyone”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

If you love French cuisine and like to visit the area around Brantome look no further. La Sobronade, just outside Thiviers, is an absolute gem. We have eaten at this restaurant on many occasions with our friends who have a house in this area. The food is rural french - uncomplicatedly delicious. It is accompanied by as much wine as you can drink and comes at a bargain basement price.
Remember you heard of it here first - but don't tell anyone else or they'll all want a piece of the action

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pierre1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aubergelas p, Propriétaire at La Sobronade, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Google Translation
merci beaucoup a vous d'être venu nous découvrir et de nous conseiller a vos amis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    29
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dover, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and warm welcome”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have been staying at Puyfebert for many years and have visited this restaurant for 15 years. We have always found the food to be of an excellent standard. The owners have always been warm and friendly and go out of their way to make us feel welcome. We would recommend this restaurant to the most discerning customer. The present owners have made things even better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aubergelas p, Propriétaire at La Sobronade, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Google Translation
bonjour

a la sobronade la cuisine est simple mais de qualité et le menu du jour a 14€50 est complet et pas cher .... merci a vous d'être venu nous rendre visite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Even better than previous years,”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

When we visit friends in the area each year we love to eat in La Sobronade. This year there were new owners and we were delighted to find that it was even better. They were welcoming and friendly and the food was good and great value for money. It is definitely a 'not to miss' for a great lunch. We did go to a wedding reception there 3 years ago and it was absolutely fabulous!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibesol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aubergelas p, Propriétaire at La Sobronade, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Google Translation
bonjour
il y a toujours une première visite ! et du coup l envie de revenir ! a très bientôt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wished we had found this earlier!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We had been staying in Vaunac but had not visited the auberge until our last day and wished we had ventured here earlier. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating and the food was tasty and plentiful, and good value at 20 euros for the Roy set menu which consisted of a soup, green salad, duck fillets and vegetables, cheese and dessert and wine! There is a separate children's menu of 8euro, I think, and was soup or pâté and then duck fillets and then ice cream. Definitely worth visiting if you are in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jop_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lasobronade, Propriétaire at La Sobronade, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Google Translation
bonjour

il est jamais trop tard ,le principal c'est de nous avez découvert ! tout comme moi je répond a votre gentil message tardivement ...

cdt
la sobronade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and warm welcome”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We have been visiting this restaurant for over 20 years and have always loved the fresh food and friendly welcome. New owners took over in September 2011 and since then it has got even better! The set menus offer excellent value, with wine included and produce is always very fresh and well cooked. The place is popular with local people, especially at lunchtimes, which is always a good sign. The owners go out of their way to make guests welcome and are very friendly. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Sobronade also viewed

Negrondes, Dordogne
Corgnac-sur-l'Isle, Dordogne
 

Been to La Sobronade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing