We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely rural french cuisine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Sobronade

La Sobronade
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Vaunac
Price range: US$14 - US$36
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: AUBERGE DE CAMPAGNE , DANS LE BOUR DE VAUNAC , LES VACHES ET LES OISEAUX FONT PARTIS DU DECORT UNE TERRASSE VOUS ATTEND EN ETE ET UNE SALLE RUSTIQUE EN BOIS AVEC UNE PETITE FLAMBEE( POELE ) POUR L HIVER... DE L OMELETTE AUX CEPES , DES ESCARGOTS DE VAUNAC, DE LA VIANDE LIMOUSINE , DES CONFITURE MAISON SANS OUBLIER LE FOIE GRAS DU CHEF , ET NOS BRASERADES PERIGOURDINE POUR LES AMATEURS DE VIANDE ET DE FROMAGE ! VENEZ NOUS DECOUVRIR .UN ACCUEIL CHALEUREUX VOUS ATTEND
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely rural french cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have visited this restaurant many times when staying with friends in the area. If I can't manage to get there I feel deprived. The food is typically rural french and is excellent. The owners are very friendly and always make everyone feel welcome. Prices are very reasonable including wine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lasobronade, Propriétaire at La Sobronade, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour

Quelle peine que de ne pas pouvoir vous faire ressentir par les mots de notre passion de ! mais vous l'avez ressenti en mangeant .. Merci de revenir prochainement ..

cdt

la sobronade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    28
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We regularly stay near here and always visit La Sobronade. We have never had a bad meal and in fact it just gets better every time we go. The owners are very friendly and always go out of their way to ensure customers enjoy their meal. They always remember specific things like our favourite drinks and how we like our meat or omelettes cooking. The food is of an excellent quality, always very fresh local produce and very skilfully cooked. This time we visited twice, once for an evening meal with friends and once for lunch on Easter Sunday. On both occasions we couldn't fault it. The restaurant was full for the lunch, with over 70 local people (always a good sign!) enjoying a great meal. Even when catering for so many people, the food and service were excellent. We can't recommend this place highly enough - don't miss it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lasobronade, Propriétaire at La Sobronade, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour
merci a vous de nous faire confiance et de venir manger a notre table a chacune de vos visites en France ! Grasse a vous je sais que mon métier je le fait bien ! et je le fais par passion .Votre gentillesse nous touche! a très bientôt en Périgord !
PS: Promis je vais essayer d'apprendre l'Anglais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wooler, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don' tell anyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

If you love French cuisine and like to visit the area around Brantome look no further. La Sobronade, just outside Thiviers, is an absolute gem. We have eaten at this restaurant on many occasions with our friends who have a house in this area. The food is rural french - uncomplicatedly delicious. It is accompanied by as much wine as you can drink and comes at a bargain basement price.
Remember you heard of it here first - but don't tell anyone else or they'll all want a piece of the action

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pierre1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aubergelas p, Propriétaire at La Sobronade, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Google Translation
merci beaucoup a vous d'être venu nous découvrir et de nous conseiller a vos amis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have been staying at Puyfebert for many years and have visited this restaurant for 15 years. We have always found the food to be of an excellent standard. The owners have always been warm and friendly and go out of their way to make us feel welcome. We would recommend this restaurant to the most discerning customer. The present owners have made things even better.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aubergelas p, Propriétaire at La Sobronade, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Google Translation
bonjour

a la sobronade la cuisine est simple mais de qualité et le menu du jour a 14€50 est complet et pas cher .... merci a vous d'être venu nous rendre visite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Even better than previous years,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

When we visit friends in the area each year we love to eat in La Sobronade. This year there were new owners and we were delighted to find that it was even better. They were welcoming and friendly and the food was good and great value for money. It is definitely a 'not to miss' for a great lunch. We did go to a wedding reception there 3 years ago and it was absolutely fabulous!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibesol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aubergelas p, Propriétaire at La Sobronade, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Google Translation
bonjour
il y a toujours une première visite ! et du coup l envie de revenir ! a très bientôt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Sobronade also viewed

Saint-Jean-de-Cole, Dordogne
Corgnac-sur-l'Isle, Dordogne
 
Negrondes, Dordogne
 
Saint-Pierre-de-Cole, Dordogne
Saint-Romain-et-Saint-Clement, Dordogne
 

Been to La Sobronade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing