We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly amazing hospitality in a beautiful B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Linen Shed

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boughton-under-Blean
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Linen Shed
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Truly amazing hospitality in a beautiful B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The Linen Shed is a jewel of a find. We would not hesitate to recommend staying here, and it's our second visit. Vickie and Graham are incredible and bountiful hosts, not forgetting Tina of course. This is truly a bespoke and boutique experience in a beautiful home, where nothing is too much trouble and breakfast is incredible. Vickie and Graham are also fantastic with local recommendations of where to eat and drink. We stayed in the ground floor room and cannot understand what the problem was for the client below with the bathroom as it is spacious, contains a stunning claw foot bath and a fantastic shower. We ate at The Sportsman and The Dove at Dargate, and if you are up for a good long walk, it's a lovely walk from The Linen Shed to Seasalter and Whitstable. Cannot find fault at all with The Linen Shed - it is a fabulous experience, do not hesitate to go!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissAtlantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    1
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Repton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

An interesting converted military building in the wooden Kentish style and very consciously decorated in the shabby chic style using quite a lot of worn French furnishings and plumbing. Parking is on the road below the house and our room was by the front door with a bathroom across the hall. The bed was comfortable and while there were no tea making facilities, we were offered coffee or tea on arrival and when we came in at night. The French plumbing in our bathroom left a bit to be desired - we failed completely to make the shower work and the high level chain-flush cistern took a good 10 minutes to refill.
If all you want is bed and breakfast (which was fine) then this might not be for you (it is the most expensive B&B we have ever stayed in), but if you want to sample shabby chic that has appeared in a number of the glossy magazines, then its a good opportunity.

Room Tip: The house is on a very high bank above the road so the ground floor room is quiet. The other two roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

What a beautiful retreat, a warm welcome, stunning rooms, amazing hospitality and the breakfast was DELICIOUS!
Vicky and Graham deserve a medal for this wonderful treasure they have created!
we will be back as soon as we can!
Vicky & Steve

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is probably one of the best B&B experiences I have ever had! I recommend it all the time and now use it as a bit of a bench mark when visiting other places.
We were greeted on arrival with tea and home made flapjacks and shown around the garden. We instantly felt at home and continued to do so throughout our visit. Not only are the rooms beautifully designed and the hospitality spot on but the amazing home made food is delicious and left us feeling completely spoilt. We had a fantastic weekend in the area, had some great walks and meals in the surrounding towns.
I could not rate The Linen Shed highly enough, it is an absolute gem of a place and I can;t wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flora N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Perfect
Attention to detail is amazing
No corners cut
Me and Vicky chatted for ages about food/restaurants, she knows her stuff!
The 'piece de resistance' was when I was offered Truffle salt for my Rosti and eggs
Top notch
Will be back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevedunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed her for three nights to celebrate my partner's 30th birthday after a recommendation from a friend. From the outset we had a very friendly and warm welcome from Vicky and Graham. They ushered us into the garden to sit on the 'stoop' with a cup of tea and some home-made granola (we ate so much of the granola over the three days it was so delicious).

The Linen Shed is a labour of love. All the rooms have been designed with attention to detail and wonderful touches - huge French wardrobes and dresses next to delicate floral china and tea sets. Our room, The French Room, was gloriously cool despite the heatwave. The bed was super comfy and the bathroom clean.

Vicky is an excellent, and French-taught, chef and her breakfasts were some of the best we have tasted. We would recommend the potato rosti with bacon and eggs, as well as the homemade pancakes and maple syrup. Vicky also gave us some good recommendations of Wheelers Oyster Bar and The Sportsman for evening meals. And she showed us her favourite local pub down the road in the village where we joined her and her friends for a drink.

We cannot thank Vicky and Graham enough for having us to stay. Conversation was relaxed, fun and easy. Vicky and Graham make a real effort to get to know their guests, but are never overbearing. We were made to feel not just at home but like one of the family. We met Mister Wilfred and Cecil (the little cat balls of fluff made to be loved....) as well as Vicky's lovely mum Tina who lives down the road. We were so sad to leave after our special three days and we can't wait to come back and celebrate our 2nd year wedding anniversary - linen is close enough to cotton for us :) - though I am sure we will be back sooner. Thank you Vicky and Graham for a wonderful week.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but the French Room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

We've just stayed for two nights and cannot recommend it enough. The hospitality is amazing, the house stunning and the breakfasts the best ever! Would definitely recommend. We stayed in the french room with private shower room. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was lovely. Also visit the queens head for dinner, very tasty and reasonably priced and the staff are lovely. Thanks again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boughton-under-Blean
4.3 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
3.1 mi away
Railway Hotel
Railway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Faversham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
3.2 mi away
Faversham Creek Hotel
Faversham Creek Hotel
#1 of 16 in Faversham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sun Inn
Sun Inn
#3 of 16 in Faversham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Linen Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Linen Shed

Property: The Linen Shed
Address: 104 The Street, Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham ME13 9AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Faversham > Boughton-under-Blean
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boughton-under-Blean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vintage style, weather boarded boutique B&B in "The foodie triangle of Kent". Pretty village location, four miles to the sea, 6 miles to Canterbury, 7 miles to Whitstable and endless walks and cycle routes on the door step. Serious breakfasts and gourmet picnics prepared using locally sourced produce. The emphasis is on smiley service, food and comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Linen Shed Hotel Boughton-Under-Blean
The Linen Shed Boughton-Under-Blean, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing