We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired building, but food is fine...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Horse Restaurant

The White Horse Restaurant
Price range: US$0 - US$49
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The White Horse in Boughton is a historic pub restaurant with more than its fair share to offer guests. Not only is this ancient coaching inn mentioned in Chaucer's Canterbury Tales, but its location in a glorious village surrounded by hop field lined walks to Mount Ephraim Gardens and the site of The Peasant's Last Revolt recommend this excellent stop before one even ventures inside. As you may well hope, The White Horse is beautifully traditional inside, with roaring log fires, low-beamed ceilings and a cosy, intimate feel. Meanwhile, outside beautiful landscaping has turned a pleasant pub garden in to an Englishmans dream. Locally renowned chefs are creating quite a stir in the kitchen with locally sourced food which has elevated The White Horse to gastropub levels, providing guests with the opportunity to enjoy high level food in the most comfortable of atmospheres. Sunday roasts take place weekly and occasionally the restaurant hosts live music events.
north yorks
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tired building, but food is fine...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

fAte in the bar food is fine , but pub is need in of some TLC and looking shabby. Bar is dog friendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank happyeater111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    36
    17
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a lovely old pub in the Kent countryside that has been around since Chaucer's time. Set in a picturesque village it serves a range of food with a Caribbean twist. Sunday lunch isn't just the typical roast but there is also a range of fish and other speciality dishes available. Have been several times and the quality if the food is always superb. Wait staff are very nice but can lose direction occasionally. Would still recommend it to anyone as the food is worth the small hassle.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SueE745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited this restaurant/pub a couple of weeks ago. We had a lovely two course meal - we had the garlic/chilli prawns followed by my husband having the smaller steak and I tried the Marlin which was very tasty, plus a nice cold bottle of Pinot Grigio wine. We also used a Groupon, but we were not made to feel uncomfortable in any way, in fact the welcome was very warm and food delicious. We would certainly visit again and have no hesitation in recommending this establishment to anyone. There is also a nice garden area at the back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GillinghamMadhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply Rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

After reading all the reviews I was looking forward to trying out this restaurant.
I booked a table for four persons on 3 occasions. The bar manager, Tara, was very accommodating initially, until I mentioned I would be using a Groupon voucher.

As soon as I mentioned the voucher her approach changed. I was told on all 3 occasions the Groupon 'quota' had been filled and they wouldn't be able to offer me a table, even though 2 minutes prior they had. When I queried this I was met with hostility and was told they were running a business and couldn't have too many Groupon customers in any sitting. I tried to book for the following week as my voucher was nearing its expiry date. I was told the quota was full for lunch and I could only have an evening time that was not really suitable for me, alternatively get a refund from Groupon. Tara kept insisting it would be easier if I just got a refund from Groupon as they were very busy and won't be doing Groupon vouchers again. This made me feel like a second class customer just because I was using a voucher.

I booked reluctantly as I was still keen to try the food and give an unbiased review before the voucher expired. I told Tara I was unhappy with the way I had been treated and would be writing a 'True' review after I had eaten there the following week. 5 minutes later I received a phone call from the owner Paul accusing me of being rude to his staff, telling me that I was not welcome so don't bother coming.

I have never been more insulted. He didn't ask me what had been said or offer any explanation for the way I had been treated.

I cannot comment on the food or drink as I didn't even get to try it. I can however tell you that I have never experienced worse customer service.

I will never be going to this restaurant after the way I have been treated.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Excellent tasty well presented food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We visited this lovely pub restaurant for lunch today using a Groupon Voucher.
The pub was quiet as you would expect on a Monday...many pubs and reataurants dont bother to open on Mondays let alone serve food.
There was plenty of choice on the menu and we both chose the Tian of hot smoked salmon which was lovely, a kick of chilli, lime and pineapple made it very original and something that I will try and copy at home!!
I then had the Nut Roast served with fresh veggies, roast potatoes and a wonderful sauce. My partner had the Salad Nicoise served with a whole tuna steak and new potatoes. All beautifully presented.
We did not have to wait unduly long to be served and the staff were very friendly.
We will definately return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jillhoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse Restaurant also viewed

Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham
Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham
 
Dargate, Faversham
Hernhill, Faversham
 

Been to The White Horse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing