We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stop with a Lurcher” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Horse Inn
1 review
“Excellent stop with a Lurcher”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We and our dog were made very welcome. The dog was able to stay in our room and they reserved a table in the corner of the restaurant where he had a bowl of water while we ate dinner. The room was clean well equipped and quiet. Dinner was very good, a step up from pub grub without being gastro. Good breakfast.
A large village recreation ground to walk the dog close by. Good spot just of the A2. Will go again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    51
    31
    20
    13
See reviews for
36
93
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camps Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Drove down to Boughton-under-Blean straight from Heathrow and got to the Inn early - 10h00-ish. Little confusion with the booking as they thought we had children with us, but quickly rectified and given our room which allowed us to shower (nice and hot) and change. Also offered us breakfast even though we were past breakfast time. Our room was at the end of the annex so away from the road, nice and quiet at night with the exception of the crying child in the next room - not the Innkeepers fault. Room and bathroom were a reasonable size and clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good albeit a bit on the small side: not used to only one rasher of bacon but this seems to be the norm for a b&b.

Room Tip: Off the road and up the side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The accommodation was cramped. The toilet didn't flush correctly, the shower got blocked and the room generally was unclean. It was a very hot night (and not being able to open the window due to traffic noise), there wasn't any air conditioning or a fan. The garden was untidy and the hanging baskets on the front of the pub were all dead due to lack of water. We decided to stay for only one night instead of two, but there wasn't any offer of a discount. We were offered a quieter room at the back of the building if we stayed again but no thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim m L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Having read the previous three reviews I wonder if we stayed in the same place as they.

The lady who checked us was no "Dragon Lady", in fact she was very helpful. The room was small - no problem really as we only had overnight luggage and the bathroom had a decent shower and plenty of hot water. The bed - whilst not the most comfortable I have ever slept on - was fine.

The bar/restaurant has a good choice of beers. The menu looked good and the food was excellent. Service was not high speed, but why should it be? The wine list was excellent - not too large a range but offered a good choice.

Breakfast was good.

To the question - would I stay at the White Horse again - the answer would beyes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 558JohnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

On checking in we overheard some guests complaining about there being no hot water. We were then reassured that it was a minor issue that was being dealt with and we wouldn't be affected.

Awoke the next morning to no hot water - unable to wash/have a shower etc.

When we brought this up with the landlady on checking she merely shrugged her shoulders and mumbled that the boiler had just broken down, even though we were aware it wasn't working the previous night. No apology, no offer of alternative washing facilities, no offer of a reduction in the room price (we had prepaid so had no recourse). Only received a sour-faced look and a 'deal with it' attitude.

Unbelievably unprofessional and unempathetic. She's clearly not suited to working in the hospitality industry. Previous review describing her as 'Dragon Lady' is laughably accurate.

Elsewhere, the rooms are in desperate need of an update in decor/carpets and a good clean.
Shame this establishment is in poor hands. Has great potential otherwise.

On a positive note - the food looked very good and they had a good range of beers.
By all means dine here, but avoid staying here and especially avoid the landlady.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddyfitzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Firstly, let me say that the food in the bar/restaurant was outstanding.....and that, unfortunately, is where the excellency ends.

We were staying for two nights for a friends Wedding which was being held nearby.....the whole wedding party was staying at the White Horse Inn.

My wife and I, with our twin 2.5 year old boys had the upstairs 'apartment' which consisted of 2 separate rooms, with a bathroom and adjoining corridor with an outer lockable door.. The plan was for our 2 boys to share one room whilst we had the other.

On arrival we were given 2 sets of keys and shown to the room(s). The building is very old, perhaps tudor, and this is evident with the extremely cramped and dark corridors, but is to be expected.

The rooms were not clean unfortunately....the rooms look like they were rarely used, and the carpet was not freshly vacuumed, and this was further evident with the pile of dust all around the skirting boards, like an edging tool on the vacuum had never been used. There was thick dust underneath the beds and lots of rubbish (crisp packets, etc). The rooms had wooden slat blinds, and there was large amounts of residue with dust/dirt stuck to them, like someone had opened a can of coke and it had sprayed onto them, not been wiped off...ever....and the dust had simply stuck to the area. Also, 2 of the blinds control rod was missing so it was extremely difficult to open and close them.

The bathroom was no better unfortunately.....the chrome taps had a thick covering of limescale so that they were frosted, not shiney, and the shower had only sprayed out of 3 holes, all in completely different directions.

The windows in the apartment either would not open, or would not close again once you got them open, and several had the locking arm missing so that they banged back and forth in the wind.

There was a TV and freesat box, but the remotes were so unhealthily dirty we didn't want to use it.

The free wi-fi was intermittant, and when it did connect there was hardly any bandwidth so browsing was painful.....the mobile network reception was better in the area and I got about 10mbit on 3G.

The worst thing about the rooms however, which made my wife and I very shocked.....upon inspect our boys room, we found a yellow capsule tablet on the floor (next to the skirting board funnily enough). I dread to think what it was, or what it might have done if one of our boys had found it and swallowed it.

Our first night there, the wedding party was booked into the restaurant. As they would, the boys needed changing halfway through dinner, so my wife took them off to find the changing facilities. Upon asking she was told there were none, and that they usually gave the key to the nearest room (if it was unoccupied) to change the babies nappies in there.

Well, this particular room was the brides room/bridal suite. The receptionist/manager lady (from hereout called Dragon Lady) asked my wife to ask the bride for her key so that she could change the nappies in her room!! My wife just looked at her and said "no, absolutely not!"

So, my wife proceeded to return to our room to change them there, only to find our key did not fit the outer door. So she return again to the Dragon Lady to report them problem. Dragon Lady then said "well, we did give you 2 keys to the room!!" quite snappily. Usually, if we are leaving the hotel/b&b room together we only take one key....what's the point in both of us carrying keys.

Dragon Lady said she would sort it out, and a few minutes later came back with our other key....which I had left in my bag on our bed. So Dragon Lady had let herself into our room and gone through my bag to find the other key.

After dinner, we left the group early to get the kids to bed, and I went to the bar to pay for our meals. The entire group had placed on one bill, and I got stares when I said I wanted to pay for just our bill from Dragon Lady.....it took her a good few minutes of a show of awkwardness (trying to read the scrawled bill, and then having to go look for her glasses, not listening or writing down what I told her we had, and her then getting it wrong, and tutting at me) for me to actually give them some money.

Needless to say, we shall not be returning and cannot recommend the place to anyone! Unfortunately, the food does not make up for Dragon Lady, or the state of the rooms.

I would have complained at the time, but I didn't want to make a fuss with it being the brides choice, and I feel like Dragon Lady would have eaten me anyway!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank darkcyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Have to agree with last review.We visited in May.We couldn't find any other accommodation in Canterbury.The stairs and hall to the rooms were filthy and had not been vacuumed for days, not a great start.The room was adequate ,but again quite dirty and the bed was truly appalling.I think all managers should be required to sleep in every bed they offer.Although it was an airy light room the windows were very dirty.The food ,however was very good.I would suggest eating there but not staying as poor value for money as a B+ B.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boughton-under-Blean
3.9 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
2.7 mi away
Railway Hotel
Railway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Faversham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
3.9 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Property: The White Horse Inn
Address: 246 The Street, Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham ME13 9AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Faversham > Boughton-under-Blean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boughton-under-Blean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse in Boughton-under-Blean is a historic inn and restaurant with more than its fair share to offer guests. Not only is this ancient coaching inn mentioned in Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales, but its location in a glorious village surrounded by hop field lined walks to Mount Ephraim Gardens and the site of The Peasant’s Last Revolt recommend this excellent stop before one even ventures inside. As you may well hope, The White Horse is beautifully traditional inside, with roaring log fires, low-beamed ceilings and a cosy, intimate feel. Meanwhile, outside beautiful landscaping has turned a pleasant pub garden in to an Englishman’s dream. Our locally sourced British food has elevated The White Horse to gastropub levels with our chefs combination of creativity and talent, providing guests with the opportunity to enjoy high level food in the most comfortable of atmospheres. Sunday lunches take place weekly and jazz suppers are a regular occasion featuring award-winning vocalist Christine Tobin. Located in a village but within easy reach of the channel crossings and many local attractions such as Canterbury Cathedral, Dover and Leeds Castle, golf courses, beaches, nature reserves and zoo's, the White Horse is an ideal place to stay to explore the wonderful Kent countryside. And if walking, there are many stunning walking routes on our doorstep. We welcome walkers, cyclists, dogs and families! Our 13 bedrooms are beautiful with everything you would expect from a modern hotel, including free wi-fi, extensive parking, disabled access, restaurant and bar. The combination of the pub’s history and first-class service guarantees return visits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Boughton-Under-Blean
The White Horse Inn Boughton-Under-Blean, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing