We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
58
12
6
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
58
12
6
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new owners sunday roast ravioli charming hotel east kent private courtyard lots of character tempura batter good selection of wines by the glass white company toiletries cauliflower cheese fabulous evening pudding bed linen honesty bar the pub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2023

Arrived for Sunday lunch thinking we would have a roast - no, not on the menu! My parents had been a couple of weeks ago and loved it; chatting with the owner who seemed delightful. Sadly, the experience today was hugely disappointing. The food took a long time to come, the risotto went back as just too salty as was the spinach side. Everything with chips, lacking in choice of sides no other vegetables or potatoes. Upset parents. Frontline staff took the brunt of our continued complaints as the owner was out. We will not recommend which is a shame as the whole pub has been upgraded and the decor now is very nice and massive improvement. Maybe it was just an off day, who knows we won’t return.

Room tip: Check the menu
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nicksy1719
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2023

Very welcoming staff who were happy to greet us.
Lovely room. Comfortable bed with soft cosy pillows. Small ensuite had a powerful shower which is always a plus! Coffee/tea making facilities were first class.
Restaurant meals were delicious and breakfast was great with a lovely range of dishes to choose from.
We would heartily recommend this lovely Inn for a visit in this area of Kent. Well situated for visits to Canterbury, Whitstable and Ramsgate.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sarahcD894BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2023 via mobile

Everything about this wonderful inn is just perfect.
Checked in by a warm and friendly guy who explained everything.
Our room had lovely extra touches like homemade shortbread and real coffee and a cafetière. The bed was super comfy with lovely bed linen. Was pleasantly surprised by the size of the bathroom and powerful shower considering it’s a 16c inn.
Dinner was delicious, great menu and great service.

We loved our stay and look forward to returning.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SussexCherries
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2023

This was a great find. Friendly welcome, good food (evening meal and breakfast) and a clean comfortable room. The location is in a quiet town but handy for the main roads so exploring Kent or getting to the channel ports is easy.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 July 2023

My husband and I stayed for 1 night at the White Horse, which was excellent value and on our way to the ferry port (35 mins drive). We found all the staff welcoming, attentive and helpful. Breakfast and dinner was served in the lovely restaurant of the 15th century inn with lots of character. The rooms are very comfy, nice towels and toiletries and a plush bed. There is an honesty bar and snacks at the end of the corridor which is a nice touch.

We would have no hesitation in making a return visit to this charming hotel. Keep up the good work.

Room tip: There’s lots of parking Book restaurant for dinner ahead of arrival
Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Han_Finch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews