We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paying attention to what matters”
Review of The Dairy

The Dairy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$35
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Imagine a venue rich in history with a cool, retro vibe, high quality food and the warm, welcoming atmosphere you get at home. It's right here. Pull up a vintage milk churn stool and prop yourself up at Kent's loveliest restaurant and bar for dinner, drinks, nibbles, or one of our famous fresh milkshakes (served in a milk bottle, of course). Our hot homemade Scotch eggs, locally-sourced cheeseboards and epic fillet steaks need to be seen to be believed. We're proud to say all our produce is sourced from local farmers and cooked fresh on the premises. Come and see what all the fuss is about...
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This, our first visit, gave us the impression that the owners are paying attention to what matters and the result is a good little restaurant which is a cut above most others. The good quality ingredients they use here are worth paying for.

The service was friendly and attentive.

We recommend the steak, which was top notch and the pork belly was also very good. Their signature milkshakes are superbly refreshing but take care on deploying these; they are quite filling.

We hope to return soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDairyKent, Owner at The Dairy, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thanks so much for your wonderful review, Terry. We're so pleased you enjoyed your meal with us. See you again soon! You'll have to come in and sample our Milkshake Of The Month :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 228 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I visited this restaurant for my birthday. Our original chosen restaurant had gas issues so our booking here was very last minute. We were a little nervous at how good our evening would be. Do good restaurants have room at the last minute? ANSWER: Yes they do!

A wonderful restaurant. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left our experience was a welcoming, friendly restaurant with ambience to suit everything from a couple to a group.

The menu is easy to follow. Straightforward with lots of tempting dishes. A real meat eaters menu full of good ingredients and local produce. Don't panic, vegetarians can eat here too. My husband and I shared a baked Camembert to start. We were hungry and were not disappointed. A cheese that had been left to breath before it was put in the oven. The result was a wonderful taste of creamy Camembert which hit our taste buds with its distinctive flavour. A good supply of fresh bread ensured we could enjoy every bit and a decent cranberry sauce added to the taste sensation. Our anticipation of our mains was high. Again sublime; we were not disappointed. My husband ordered steak. Tender, perfectly cooked and extremely tasty. I ate the pork belly. Crispy crackling over tender pork. It was not overly fatty, lots of meat that fell away from the crackling with ease. The vegetable that accompanied my dish - cabbage and apple, tasted like it was cooked with butter- was amazing. A great match with the pork.

From the dishes we ate we felt that a chef with confidence and skill had cooked our meal. The ingredients and produce did the talking. Everything was wonderfully cooked which allowed the tastes to come through. Nothing hidden with sauce and other flavours.

We did not try dessert as post starter and mains we did not have room. Portions at this restaurant are hearty. However, lots of people that night did order and from what I could see desserts are large. The clean plates suggest they are very good too. So try them.

The wine list is simple but decent wines. I only had a glass of white but it arrived perfectly chilled. There is a good choice of local ale...Shepherd Neame...so non wine drinkers can enjoy a lovely pint. In fact they have a full bar so whatever your tipple they can accommodate.

Overall a great restaurant that I would definitely recommend. It's not huge - about 45 covers - so you need to book. However, they have made great use of the space. It was formerly a diary in this little Kent village. Their business flyer actually shows photos of the building's past life and a lot of the decor remind you of this. However, this is a modern restaurant with a hint of the past. For those that arrive before their table is ready a small seating area can accommodate you for a pre-dinner drink.

The waiting staff welcome you with great smiles and genuine friendly "hellos". Service is efficient and not over bearing. We will definitely go back.

Point to note. There is no parking so you have to park in the street. Share cars or go by taxi if you live near.

3  Thank AJW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDairyKent, Owner at The Dairy, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

What a wonderful, heartfelt review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your meal - you must come again and try our epic desserts! Thank you...
All the best,
The Dairy team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Straight up the best steak and I think the best meal out I've ever had.....

The service was fantastic, we had a drink at the bar and then sat when our starter was ready, we didn't wait long. Then our mains arrived. Steak, with mushroom and veg and I was blown away by the steak.
Highly recommended place, nice and relaxed atmosphere, a nice romantic place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheDairyKent, Owner at The Dairy, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Thanks so much, Kevin. We're so glad you enjoyed your steak! Our chef has made quite a name for himself cooking fillets!
Do come and see us again soon,
The Dairy team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My fiancée and I visited The Dairy last month for the first time.
First impressions were great as the décor (based around the Dairy theme) was brilliant. Very good attention to detail, such as the mini milk bottle condiments and the milk bottle light bulbs!

The owners and staff were very welcoming and made sure we were well looked after.
We bought a bottle of red wine, the pork belly and the gourmet burger. The food was very well presented and tasted fantastic. Very rich flavours and you could taste the difference that locally sourced food makes.
We were quite full after our mains but shared a delicious cheesecake dessert together.
We were enjoying the evening so much we moved over to the bar area and onto the enticing leather sofa. I quick extra tipple as we relaxed to the well chosen music playlist.
We would definitely visit again and plan to very soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank JohnnyR83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The food was to die for , steak just melted in your mouth . Great selection on the menu to suit all tastes. The staff and owner make everyone feel welcome and special with nothing being to much trouble. Can't wait to go back .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dairy also viewed

 

Been to The Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing