We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been nice”
Review of Brenley Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boughton-under-Blean
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brenley Farm
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Could have been nice”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Turn up and greeted by the proprietor's husband who stared at us dumbfounded and made our two kids feel scared. Was very unhelpful and looked at the kid with disdain. It made us want to leave straight away. He eventually managed to show us to the room but couldn't have been more unhelpful.

Its a shame really as Maggie was nice, tried to make us feel welcome and the breakfast was excellent. Just makes you wonder why you would run a b&b if you clearly don't want people in your house.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aus-mex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie B, Owner at Brenley Farm, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and I'm so sorry you met the grumpy farmer. You are right - it is not his business, it's mine, he does the farming. Farming can be quite a solitary occupation and sometimes their social skills desert them! As I recall, you arrived early whilst I was still out shopping and probably woke him up. I do hope this experience has not put you off farms for good and to be fair when he does farm walks, families really enjoy them. That;'s where his expertise lies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
11
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Very close to the M2 and just a few miles from Faversham this is a great place to stay if you like it rural and peaceful. I had a room facing garden at the back. Very spacious, comfortable with everything I could want. Breakfast was around a big table with the other guests. Lots of options for breakfast and it was all very very good. The owner was very welcoming and I would definitely return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank DeEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie B, Owner at Brenley Farm, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. I do hope you had an easy journey back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

A comfortable, spacious old farmhouse, Brenley Farm is set in the lovely peaceful Kent countryside next to a livery stable. My husband and I were made welcome with tea and homemade cake. We had a large, bright bedroom with plenty of storage space, a king sized bed and two comfy armchairs. We were there only two nights, but woke each morning to the sound of birdsong and the anticipation of a delightful breakfast. Maggie makes a good breakfast - wholesome food, locally sourced - and delicious. Service was helpful without being intrusive. Brenley Farm is a delightful place to get away from it all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penny_ibbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Very welcoming on a wet and wild evening, even with gales howling outside the room (Tom's room) was warm and quiet. Bed very comfortable, great selection of toys under the bed in the child's room. All facilities that you could hope for in a B & B. Breakfast was fantastic, we tried most of the range between us over two mornings and all was fabulous. Great range and very high quality.
Our son loved playing on the rocking horse after breakfast and loved ther outside play area and visiting the horses on the farm.
Very close to the M2/A2 so very easy access despite the sinkhole appearing just up the road a few days before our visit. Great recommendation of local place to eat from Maggie the owner.

Room Tip: Tom's Room was ideal for a small family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
166 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Review: The farm was an almost perfect fit for our extended family (parents, daughter and son-in-law, and two toddler grandchildren) to experience rural England. It’s about an hour and a half from Heathrow in the Kent countryside, but it seems to be on another continent from London. The tiny village of Boughton is a five-minute drive or 30 minute walk across open fields and a golf course. The Berry’s have been on this working farm for several generations (we met all three grown sons representing the next generation), raising apples (the biggest I’ve ever seen), hops, and pears. The farm house is large and gracious, with the three guest rooms upstairs. Our bedroom was quite big, but the shower and toilet were in small converted closets, and the wash basin was in the room − not a problem, but different. The kids had a family suite that included a well-equipped children’s room, with age-appropriate toys and a pac-n-play (although we had brought our own). The farm also has a somewhat overgrown play gym, so it truly caters to kids.

​Breakfasts were hearty and warm, with prepared dishes ranging from a full English breakfast (thankfully without black pudding) to more manageable scrambled eggs with tomatoes on toast or bagels with salmon and cream cheese. Maggie had a good selection of cereals and store-bought granola as well as homemade jellies and local honey. When we arrived well before normal check-in, Maggie volunteered to set the cold breakfast spread for us, which was a life saver after a long plane ride with the little kids.

​The farm is a good base for kid-oriented activities. They don’t have many animals − a couple of very loveable dogs, a brace of ducks in the pond, and a clutch of chickens out back, behind the garden and swimming pool. Farming World (a commercial attraction) is ten minutes away, however, and it is well stocked with horses, cows, sheep, goats, pigs, chickens, ducks, and even falcons. It also has both indoor and outdoor play gyms that are just right for 2 to 8 year olds. We also took a manageable excursion to Leeds Castle and Dover Castle, both of which are quite kid-friendly. For meals, The Queens Head pub in nearby Boughton-under-Blean was open all afternoon to accommodate an early dinner. We also liked The Three Mariners pub in Oare (about an 8-minute drive), Alimo (a Moroccan restaurant in charming Whitstable, a 15-minute ride − be sure to walk down to the pebble-strewn beach), and The Sun Inn (in Faversham, a 7-minute drive).

​Maggie Berry is a wonderful hostess, and made us feel at home. As a different kind of English experience for the grandchildren, Brenley Farm was a hit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Woodroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie B, Owner at Brenley Farm, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you so much for you lovely comments. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here on the way to Dover, it was a l idyllic and quite location. Greeted with lovely coffee and cake in the garden (very hot day), in the company of the farm dogs and a large cat.

Stayed in the family room with my mum, it was perfect. Good beds and a nice seating area in both rooms. Only very tiny niggle was the bath was very slippy and noth extra bath mat that I could see, so worried about mum.

Breakfast was perfect and a very pleasant chat with other guests.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Baileychester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I had a delightful stay at Brenley Farm House in Faversham from Friday 2nd August to Monday 5th August 2013. The main purpose for staying in Faversham was to visit the Belmont House and Gardens which were close by, for a special art exhibition. I also wanted to visit a goat farm. I stayed with another friend and we shared a suite which was very spacious and thoughtfully furnished. Wi-Fi worked perfectly. The bathroom included wonderful shower gel and cream. Full breakfast was included and splendid with various options of cereals, breads, homemade yogurt and jams and selection of hot meals which were well presented by Maggie, the owner. The farm is a working farm and therefore offers a lovely setting great for walking. It is just a few miles from two train stations which have direct connections to London and Canterbury. Since we like to exercise, we walked the 2 miles from one of the stations, which would be a few minutes away if driving.
The overall experience provided great value for money and a perfect stay since we value exercising and the outdoors.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boughton-under-Blean
3.0 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
375 reviews
4.9 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
374 reviews
5.2 mi away
Howfield Manor Hotel
Howfield Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chartham
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Faversham Creek Hotel
Faversham Creek Hotel
#1 of 15 in Faversham
141 reviews
1.1 mi away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#3 of 3 in Boughton-under-Blean
199 reviews
5.0 mi away
Huntingfield House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brenley Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenley Farm

Property: Brenley Farm
Address: Brenley Farm House Brenley Lane, Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham ME13 9LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Faversham > Boughton-under-Blean
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boughton-under-Blean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brenley Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brenley, a working farm close to Canterbury and Faversham is tucked away amidst orchards and hop gardens, paddocks and duck pond, yet with easy access to the many attractions of Kent. We offer spacious rooms and a warm welcome, with tea and home made cakes at our elegant Georgian family farmhouse, giving you the perfect start to a country house short break, visiting friends or on business. Delicious and varied breakfasts using home grown and local, seasonal produce. Also available is our group accommodation bunkhouse barn The Old Stables. This is very simply hostel style in a converted 17th century stable building. It has it'sown rustic charm, but luxury it's not! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brenley Farm Boughton-Under-Blean, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing