We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for young families” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brenley Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boughton-under-Blean
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brenley Farm
Wakefield, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great for young families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed here in August 2010, and were really impressed. We have a three year old son, and like many families, we don't relish the traditional "family room" which squeezes the entire family into one room, forcing Mum and Dad to retire early (and quietly) so that their offspring can get some sleep!

Tom's Room at Brenley Farm got round that beautifully - it's actually two very good sized interconnecting rooms. The children's room has lego, brio, books, a DVD player and DVDs - everything they could need. The adults room is large and bright, with all mod-cons and quality toiletries. Outside there's a lovely garden with play area, and plenty of dogs/cats/chickens/horses to make friends with. My only grumble (and it is a slight one) is with the showers, which are very low pressure and tend to dribble on you unpleasantly. I've deducted a star for that!

The breakfasts are amazing - home produced fruits and fruit juices, eggs fresh from the chickens and so on. Delicious.

All in all, a real find, and we will be staying here again next year - if Maggie will have us!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodielexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
10
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

Two years ago we were looking for a B&B that could and would take in our large family (mum,dad, six kids) Through the Farmstay OK site we came across Brenley Farm and from our first stay onwards it has been a wonderful experience. Even though the kids were a little bit on the busy side from sleeping together, no one ever complained (those old thick stone walls may have helped) The dog, the cat and all the horses, the playground and the pool. The lovely rooms, the super breakfasts and above all Maggies wonderful hospitality all add up to making this a very special place, very well worth visiting (with or without a family)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dutch-mum-of-six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

Stayed for two nights whilst attending a wedding in Canterbury. Beautifully peaceful setting, yet not too far off the main road. Found the farmhouse quite easily, and immediately made welcome by Maggie (a fantastic host), left to relax and given suggestions for eating out in nearby Boughton-under-Blean. Superb breakfasts with lots of choice, and nothing too much trouble. And not to set a precedent, but Maggie even gave me a lift to fetch my car on the morning after the wedding, which was completely beyond the call of duty. First class all round, and if I ever head into Kent again, I'll definitely be staying at Brenley Farm.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MLJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2009

I cant believe only one person has reviewed this B&B!!

My partner David and I stayed here for three nights in July 2008 (we found it through the Walkers Brit Trips, had three nights for the price of two.)

It was one of the best B&B's we have stayed in. The location was rural yet only 10 mins drive to a roundabout with directions to Faversham, London and Canterbury.

The farm house was lovely, the room we stayed in was 'Gandma's' and it was spaceous and had lovely views of the lawn, duck pond and of an evening David and I would enjoy the late summer nights, watch the sun go down and watch the rabbits hopping about the lawn.

Maggie the proprietor was lovely. One of the best hostesses we have ever met! She was welcoming and showed us to our room and after that gave us tea and cakes while we sat outside and soaked up the sun while listening to the silent hum of insects and the twitter of birds. We were very lucky as we escaped the horrid English summer of 2008 where it rained for most of the time)

What made David and my holiday special here, was not just the lovely walks we had of an evening around the farm, looking at the horses and making friends with the farm cat, but because David and I dont usually have a cooked breakfast, at some B&B's we have been to, we have had many questioning glances as to why we dont eat much first thing of a morning but Maggie was understanding and simply left us to our own devices. Just serving us tea and coffee first thing, and there was always a continental breakfast with fruit and cereal for me. :)

I would definately suggest this B&B if you are travelling in the area. We had a lovely time, were made to feel welcome and the farm was our home for three nights. I would definately love to go back again one day :)

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christine_lucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2006

A friend and I stayed here four nights on a tour through Kent and found it a great central point to tour from, including a day by train to London.

The accomodations were great, roomy, fresh, clean and well-appointed. The choice of local products for breakfast were broad and tempting. And, it has all "mod cons," including TV and electric tea kettle.

They have a very informative web site, [----------] with some good photos. We were there in January, so missed a lot of the advantages of being out in the country, but a morning walk uncovered a number of birds, including ring-necked pheasants and a short-eared owl, and several rabbits.

I look forward to returning with my husband. BTW, the gracious hostess is the current president of the UK FarmStay Assn., so you know she's conscientious!

Helpful?
2 Thank dodgema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boughton-under-Blean
3.0 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
4.9 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.1 mi away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#3 of 3 in Boughton-under-Blean
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
2.1 mi away
Faversham Creek Hotel
Faversham Creek Hotel
#1 of 16 in Faversham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brenley Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brenley Farm

Property: Brenley Farm
Address: Brenley Farm House Brenley Lane, Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham ME13 9LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Faversham > Boughton-under-Blean
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Boughton-under-Blean
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brenley Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brenley, a working farm close to Canterbury and Faversham is tucked away amidst orchards and hop gardens, paddocks and duck pond, yet with easy access to the many attractions of Kent. We offer spacious rooms and a warm welcome, with tea and home made cakes at our elegant Georgian family farmhouse, giving you the perfect start to a country house short break, visiting friends or on business. Delicious and varied breakfasts using home grown and local, seasonal produce. Also available is our group accommodation bunkhouse barn The Old Stables. This is very simply hostel style in a converted 17th century stable building. It has it'sown rustic charm, but luxury it's not! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brenley Farm Boughton-Under-Blean, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing