We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go here instead of The Namaste Lounge”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sahib's

Sahib's
Ranked #9 of 47 Restaurants in Northwood
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Go here instead of The Namaste Lounge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Good food, pleasant staff, different menu to the norm. There is a pool table at the end of the restaurant which is good for some and strange for others. Better than Namaste Lounge.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mictayhalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    24
    13
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Expensive lacking in taste”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

My first visit in 2 years

The quality if of food was well below par, there's plenty of other places nearby which are far better.

Ordered lamb curry it had lots of grizzle sent it back. No offer of getting another dish

Won't be going back


Helpful?
2 Thank Kam47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Dump of Northwood gave me food poisoning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I went here because a business associate told me it was amazing.

It's atmosphere isn't great it feels like a beat up old pub with a kitchen area / snooker table at the back with an open kitchen.

The veggie food was good but these people clearly have no idea on how to cook meat.

I got food poisoning from the food I ate here and will not go here again.

Food poisoning could have been caused by one of two things at the restaurant, poor hygiene standards or uncooked food either way, won't go back here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank iloveluxuryholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ignore unfounded reviews about the staff - this place is amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

With the rise of heavily discounted '5-course' or 'eat-as-much-as you like' offers springing up in most Indian restaurants these days, comes the problem of the same one or two sauces used for most dishes (just altered slightly after your order is taken), so flavours are not always authentic. This is not so here.

The food is outstanding and not commercial in any way. The menu is very extensive and incorporates many unusual dishes - and the starters are just amazing! Every dish can be altered to your own specific requirements. My husband and I love their chilli mogoo,(a type of potato, flavoured and fried with the most awesome spices), the sizzling lamb chops are to die for and their pakora divine!

Contrary to a couple of other reviews which seem to have a personal vendetta against a waiter named Kannan, please do not be put off by these. We have visited the restaurant on numerous occasions and in fact, find all the staff to be incredibly attentive and obliging and this particular waiter to be a very sincere and unpretentious gentleman. In fact he goes about his duties very efficiently and always tries to please, whilst not hovering - making you feel uneasy and 'watched' as you often get in some Indian restaurants. He has always been more than polite to us and to others and I can only imagine the previous reviewers were just personally hostile to him.

The whole ambiance is relaxed and the place is large enough not to notice the pool-table or the TV's on the walls if you choose not to and the very well-stocked bar is large but unobtrusive.

Indian cuisine is definitely our favourite and having sampled the food of many Indian restaurants, both locally and further afield, we feel Sahib's definitely is one of the very best. You cannot fault the quality of the food, the quantity of the portions, the impeccable service and the prices.

Writing this review has made me hungry - can't wait to go back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diamonddate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Had a great evening with 12 friends. Service was great from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Food was fantastic too. We asked the waiter for his name, he said Kannan! Don't know why he is getting bad reviews, really couldn't fault him. Thanks

Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sahib's also viewed

Northwood, Greater London
Northwood, Greater London
 
Northwood, Greater London
Northwood, Greater London
 
Northwood, Greater London
Northwood, Greater London
 

Been to Sahib's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing