We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Diane P
Vientiane, Laos

poor service and facilities, very disappointing

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Jan 2014
Me and my friends needed a getaway just during the weekends. As a local tourist,I didn't expect much about the service and facilities, but with the money that we paid, it was a huge disappointment. The rooms (we have booked 3 bedrooms) were all poorly cleaned, especially the toilets that looked like never been cleaned before. They smell so bad, the mirror was cracked and the sink was somehow didn't work. Free wi-fi didn't work despite a huge sign in front of the resort. Forgot that you could enjoy the breakfast because it caused me diarrhea afterwards. My bedroom was covered with dust that I had to ask for new bed sheet. Bad experience ever. The management team could have done better if they have a bit more efforts. The view was fantastic, would definitely come back but not staying at this resort, ever.
Date of stay: January 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
    • Hotels.com
    • Official Site
      £35
    • Priceline
    17.7 miles from Long Ngum View Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    £49
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    • Expedia.com
      £49
    18.0 miles from Long Ngum View Resort
    Free parking
    Pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      £47
    • Hotels.com
    27.9 miles from Long Ngum View Resort
    £15
    Fully refundable
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • Expedia.com
      £15
    27.9 miles from Long Ngum View Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    28.7 miles from Long Ngum View Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    28.7 miles from Long Ngum View Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    28.5 miles from Long Ngum View Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Thalat
    Reviews (28)
    Filter reviews
    28 results
    Traveller rating
    2
    6
    6
    8
    6
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    2
    6
    6
    8
    6
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    18 - 23 of 28 reviews
    Reviewed 24 October 2013

    The views from the hotel are very beautiful, specially from the pool area. Unfortunately, the hotel itself is not in very good shape, although it is apparently of fairly recent construction. There's quite a bit of mould in the bathrooms and some of our party had an allergic reaction with sore throats, coughing and sneezing at the end of our stay.

    Additionally, there is new construction going on - right by the pool and the restaurant - and there were power tools, nails, lengths of metal rods, etc lying around all weekend, as well as noises of hammering and sawing. No concept of safety, to say the least.

    The standards of cleaning leave a lot to be desired, with dirty plates and dishes from the previous night's dinner still unwashed in a big basin by the main entrance to the bedroom area. The breakfast is dismal, with cold, greasy fried eggs and lukewarm water for the (bad) instant coffee, but a la carte dinner was ok.

    It really wouldn't take a lot to improve the standards and levels of comfort at this place, but I am not sure the owners or management care very much at all.

    Date of stay: October 2013
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank rmpcv
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 9 July 2013

    With western prices you expect western quality and western service. This 'resort' didn't even come close to living up to reasonable expectations. After viewing all the rooms we decided to take their most superior option. It was the only room that didn't smell like mold. We figured that at a price point of 500,000kip per night (negotiated down to 450,000kip) we would at least be dry and comfortable. As a whole the 'resort' needs some serious TLC. There is old furniture and rubbish strewn allover and the wooden paths have holes with rusty nails protruding. The staff hardly speak a word of English which is fair if offering Lao standards at Lao prices however this place promises and charges much more. When using the swimming pool we were told to use our bath towels as the towel room was locked. My daughter stepped on some broken glass which cut her foot open. They didn't have a first aid kit so we had to drive to the village to get the wound cleaned. Regardless of the high cost of the superior room there were no amenities such as soap, shampoo, kettle, tea or coffee. Our bathroom sink and bath leaked so that our whole bathroom flooded with water. A tap dripped loudly all night and we couldn't sleep. The wifi internet doesn't work in the rooms - instead you need to use the common area which the staff command as their own by playing billiards and loud music all day. On waking to loud building noise in the next room we went to breakfast where were were denied the advertised options and instead served two fried eggs, stale warm, white bread and instant coffee with powder milk and sugar. Nothing was given or offered to our daughter. We asked for juice or milk for our daughter but were told that they didn't have any.
    I feel obliged to offer at least one positive: The views were great.
    After spending a few weeks travelling Laos and a month in Cambodia my family have stayed in many different places, at many different comfort and price points. We are comfortable almost anywhere. The Long Ngum View Resort promised and most importantly charged something that they in no way delivered on.

    Date of stay: July 2013
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Chelsea J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 21 April 2013

    The resort is selling itself as something that it is not. It is not a place that caters to/for foreigners. It is basically a party place for rich Lao from Vientiane Capital (as told to me by my Lao wife). The photos are misleading and do not show that major maintenance is required.

    The owner/manager speaks some basic English but most/if not all staff (who seem to be young family members) do not. Though it was Pi Mai (Lao New Year) and we do know some staff were away.

    There are western style foods on the menu but are very poorly prepared by western standards. All menu items are expensive, even by Laos tourist town comparison (we live and work in Luang Prabang).

    It's, at least, 2 hours from Vientiane Capital by car. Bus service is very difficult. There was construction going on at the resort and so repairs may be in order.

    The cost to rent a boat on the lake is also very expensive. But the restaurants along the lake serve good food at more reasonable prices.

    The view is amazing. Just don't expect any western standards at the resort at prices you would expect in Laos.

    Date of stay: April 2013
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Cobra1899
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 10 January 2013

    We were driven up to the "resort" by a crazy driver along a road that requires a bit of work so it was not the best start, once we arrived we were amazed by the views, the room we had required cleaning, we got the cleaners to reclean it but was still well below what would be acceptable, we were there on a Sunday and Monday so there is no entertainment in the karaoke bar, the bar has an extensive range of wine and spirits on shelves behind the bar but they are just for show, its beer Lao or soft drinks, the pool was nice and great views over the dam, the area surrounding the pool had the previous nights debris all around though, this could be a fantastic resort but it is run down and requires an overhaul,the staff were all nice and helpful

    Date of stay: January 2013
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Ruth M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 5 March 2012

    Long Ngum view resort is just out of Thalat, right next to Ang Ngum reservoir in a little village. It's the perfect place for travelers to explore the man made lake without having to get a tuk-tuk every morning to it. We stayed in one of the Laos style houses, which had an incredible view of the lake and islands. Our room had complimentary bottled water, and wash things.
    It was a little more expensive than we would usually go for (180.000 k) but it was cheaper than the only other option Salapa fishermans round the corner.
    Cleanliness wasn't quite up to the standard you would expect in this price range but it wasn't too bad, although there were a couple of little holes in our wooden floor, and we did get quite a lot of ants in our bathroom. None got into our room though.
    There was no plug socket for the Tv though
    we had air con and a fan and our beds were comfortable.
    There is also a very nice pool which you can see the incredible view from, a restaurant, bar and free pool table. Breakfast was included in the price.
    We arrived on a weekday and the place was almost deserted, it was nice and quiet to relax in but the staff weren't very attentive and nothing was really set out for breakfast till we asked where it was and bar was quiet and empty.
    On Saturday night however the place filled up and all the locals came for a drink. It was like it was a different place. The staff were friendly and attentive, an English speaking woman even turned up and the bar has music. Breakfast on the weekend also seemed like a different place, a buffet style spread. Although we had got everything the day before we had just had to ask.
    I'm not sure whether i would recommend going in the week or weekend, i would say a day of both is perfect. the week is very nice to relax and weekend is a bit busier with more going on. Depends on preference really.

    Date of stay: February 2012
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Florence H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews