We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Place”
Review of The Olde Peculiar

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Armitage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Olde Peculiar
Ranked #1 of 1 Armitage B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Me and my partner stay here twice a year every year and always look forward to our next visit.

The staff are always friendly and helpful an arrival and departure. The rooms in the converted barn are always spotless, some bits are slightly dated but this is not a negative as it adds to the character of the place.

The food and beer prices are reasonable with food quality always very good and beer always to a high quality.

We are only just in our thirties and enjoy the escape. Definately worth a stay and great value for money

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottdavis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 29 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Having booked the accommodation through the recommendations on Trip advisor I want to say what a great place The Olde Peculier was and if I'm ever in the area again I will defiantly stay again. The rooms are impeccably clean, free wifi, and all the usual hotel facilities. They allowed us to choose breakfast time as we had to be out early and it was a true full English!!

Great mixed grill at only £13.95

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny000007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We had a table booked for 2.00 pm for Sunday lunch and arrived about 10 minutes early.
After ordering our drinks and two beef Sunday lunches we were shown to our table.

It didn't seem that busy so we would have expected not to wait too long for our lunch. However after 30 minutes we were still waiting for our order. We ordered another round of drinks.

Finally after nearly an hour we were told that they had run out of beef.
Why after booking in advance, ordering our meal almost an hour earlier and two rounds of drinks we were not told earlier. The rather abrupt and uncaring manager replied ' it was unavoidable'.
We paid for our drinks and left.

It all boils down to bad management for an establishment to run out of any kind of meat so early in the day.
The manager didn't really seem bothered whether the customer was satisfied or not and at no point offered an apology.

After leaving we visited the 'Ash tree' further down the road and was served within 15 minutes of sitting at our table.

Visit the ' Old Peculiar' at your peril !!!!!!!!!

Rubbish.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Lawrence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at the pub after visiting the National Memorial Arboretum, this is a very well run establishment, spotlessly clean, accommodation excellent as was the dinner and breakfast.
The men said the Beer was spot on, what more can you ask.
Loved the Lace Tree plant in the garden which was all part of a well cared for business.
Had a walk along the canal and found the area most interesting.
Would highly recommend for a friendly stop over.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This is a regular stopover for me as I live in the South West but my employers European Head Office is in nearby Lichfield. I travel extensively for my work and have no problems recommending The Olde Peculiar to anyone.

The accommodation is always spotless, with all the amenities that a modern traveller would expect. The bonus is the friendly bar, good food and attentive staff. Add to that the atmosphere that a busy local trade brings(which is always a good sign) and you can see why I seek out this spot in Armitage over the soulless larger hotel chains that can be found locally.

Room Tip: Book early !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed one night here to make a break in a journey from East Anglia to North Wales. It is a very easy stop off the A5. It is a very friendly owner run Pub with B and B. The Pub serves some great draught beers inculding Olde Peculiar. The food in the bar was good quality tastey pub food. I had roast beef dinner which was excellent, and my partner had the home made mushroom pie which was also very good. The service is relaxed and friendly but completely professional. Our twin bed room was a perfectly fine with tea and coffee making facilities. The ensuite bathroom was clean with plenty of fluffy white towels. The room and bathroom also had efficient electric heaters. My full English breakfast was very nice. There is also plenty of off road car parking close enough to the accomodation that you don't have to lug bags very far. In short this B and B does everything you would expect and does it well at a very reasonable price. It is also a nice base for visiting Lichfield or walking the Trent and Mersey canal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BazOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Olde Peculiar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olde Peculiar

Address: The Green | Armitage With Handsacre, Armitage WS15 4DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Armitage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Armitage
Price Range: £35 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Olde Peculiar 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Traditional Old English pub offering B&B in and annex which used to be the stable block. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing