We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, excellent value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Claudio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Claudio
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bergeggi
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place, excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed in the apartments. They were clean and spacious. There is a nice pool. Food in the restaurant is good. The values is excellent. The apartments have good terraces. The only downside is that there may be noise from the harbour which is a the bottom of the mountain.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    48
    21
    8
    12
See reviews for
22
76
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

My husband and I booked a night in this hotel during a short trip to the Ligurian Coast, after friends recommended Claudio's Michelen-starred restaurant. It was wonderful, but it's very special and much of it can only be experienced first-hand. I will do my best to do it justice.

Firstly, I don't understand the bad reviews here but I expect they come from people who a) have not traveled much in Europe or b) didn't come for the food. This is not a normal hotel for normal people. This is a place that you come to for the experience of a Michelen chef, to gasp at the extraordinary cliff view down to the sea, and to relax in peace and quiet. It is not a spa - the staff will leave you alone unless you need assistance. Breakfast is included with the room and there is a swimming pool and deck chairs if you don't want to go to the beach

Many reviewers have said that the staff are grumpy and unfriendly. No...they just get tired of trying to speak in English to guests who are demanding this, that and the other thing. A smile, a little Italian and compliments on the food were all we needed to have them warm to us and the service was excellent.

We had a large room - possibly a junior suite - with a private terrace, a very comfortable and large bed and elegant furnishings and linens. The view was breath-taking, and the beach in Bergeggi is not to be missed. Sadly, we had a very loud and active couple in the room next to us who didn't appear to care who else heard them at all hours of the evening and night. Classless, to be sure.

The bathroom is very large, but dated and I expect that, in time, it will be refreshed. However, everything functioned perfectly well and the staff had provided fluffy bathrobes, towels and olive-oil based body products.

The food is out of this world. Claudio specializes in fresh, local seafood from the mediterranean. Everything is carefully chosen and beautifully prepared. As is typical in a high quality restaurant, it is best to order one of the chef's set menus, although an à la carte menu is also available. Yes, it is expensive, but it is worth it and they will make sure that you eat well and are not rushed. We ordered the menu that started with tuna and shrimp carpaccio and raw oysters, followed by a large mixed selection of shellfish (all menus are for min 2 people) including shrimp, langoustine, lobster, and crab. It was devine! Along the way, you have delicious local wines, and a gorgeous selection of desserts and coffee, if you still have room in your stomach. The service is top-quality at dinner, as one would expect. You must book in advance as people come here to eat - I believe most tables were full and many were occupied by people other than guests of the hotel.

During the day, there's a little shuttle bus that stops in front of the hotel once an hour (1€ per person per ride) that will take you down the cliff to the beach, where the sand is hot and the water crystal clear. As we had checked out of our room before going to the beach, we asked to leave our car in the garage and shower at the pool afterwards. Claudio was very accommodating and even provided us with clean towels for our shower.

If you're looking for a food experience, and an incredible view, this is a great place to stay high above a beautiful Italian coastal village.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank snorkel_girl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

The good thing: The view from the hotel and the restaurant is great. It's a really great view all over the bay. The bad thing: Guests seem to be not very welcome in the hotel. The service was not very interested in making us feel comfortable. No smile, no information, no service. We got the feeling they even ignored us. The rooms are avarage (they are not very clean but also not very dirty). But the pillows are really terrible!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alex183253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

High on a hill overlooking the sea. The view was spectacular. Staff greeted with a smile. The room was large and clean. Ordered a bottle of wine to sit on the deck, it came with cheese, and an assortment of bread and fruit. Only issues were wifi and breakfast a little sparse.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillyBiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ginevra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2010

We had foreseen 7 days in the residence of this hotel. Unfortunately they forgot to inform us that the docks are just underneath, and that workers load containers to boats during the days and also during the night.
As opposed to information received by phone, the hotel is too far up in the hill to walk down to the beach, (just beside the docks). And the roads are not fit for pedestrians.
The access to the swimming pool is a narrow gravel path with several badly maintained stairways on the back side of the buildings, under the stone walls where we even observed a snake escaping into the wall when we came along with our baby.
When confronted with the facts after a few days and especially sleepless nights, the owner's minor son was agressive, threatening and ironic. He didn't understand all we said (I speak fluent italian and my wife is Italian). At the end he let us go without paying for the last night. And we found a nice hotel a bit farther south, with no noise during the night and positive service.
For these reasons essentially, we can definitely not recommend Hotel Claudio in Bergeggi.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Whatround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergeggi
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acqua Novella
2.6 mi away
Mare Hotel Savona
Mare Hotel Savona
#1 of 13 in Savona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Art Hotel
Sea Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vado Ligure
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
NH Savona Darsena
NH Savona Darsena
#2 of 13 in Savona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Zunino
Hotel Zunino
#4 of 20 in Spotorno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.6 mi away
Motel Miro
Motel Miro
#3 of 13 in Savona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claudio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claudio

Property: Hotel Claudio
Address: Via Venticinque Aprile 37 | Bergeggi Savona, 17028 Bergeggi, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Bergeggi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bergeggi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Claudio 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Claudio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing