We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 3 night stay”
Review of YHA Broad Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
YHA Broad Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent 3 night stay”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Had an excellent stay at YHA Broad Haven hostel, really helpful and friendly staff, our room was clean and spacious with a double bed with a single bunk. The en-suite bathroom was very clean.

The general hostel facilities were excellent which included roomy lounge area and not forget the excellent breakfast served in the dinning area and conservatory.

Cannot wait for our next visit

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_JSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Brilliant review, many thanks for writing one. See you again.

cheers
Sue and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    39
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
59
11
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just had 2 nights here and explored a bit more of stunning wales including st Davids and surrounding excellent coastal walks.
Broad Haven youth hostel is a friendly clean and affordable place to stay and its not just for youths, you meet interesting people and the facilities are better than in a Band B or hotel. Choice of self catering in the well equipped kitchen or having the work done for you and ordering food which will be prepared for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crabrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the trouble to let us know how your visit went with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed it.

Thanks very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here with our youth rugby team on tour - booked the hostel for exclusive use and found it to be ideal. All rooms bar one were en suite with plenty of communal space including large dining / conservatory room, lounge and bar area with pool table. plus out door table tennis. The beach is very close and the hostel has a large drying room. The staff were very friendly and accommodating -( kept food available for our late comers on the Friday night). The food was great and plentiful and the staff were happy to work around our itinerary, plus there is a large kitchen for our own use. The bar was also well stocked with very friendly service. Over all the hostel was warm, clean and large enough for a large group to not feel crammed in. Plus we also had use of a lecture room - ideal for our awards giving. The staff were brilliant and very tolerant of excited, energetic children on their first tour! We would defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: 13, 14 & 15 are quieter rooms as away from the main corridor and the noise from the bar and pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 821Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Many thanks Diane for your comments, we loved having you all over the weekend.

Please keep us in mind with any future tours.

All the best

Sue and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just returned from yet another fantastic break at Broad Haven Youth Hostel. The place is spotless, nothing is too much trouble for the brilliant staff & the food is excellent (& great value for money too). The hostel is a really good base to explore all the area has to offer - which is a lot with something for the whole family (gorgeous beaches, theme parks, country parks, Wildlife park etc.). All in all a great family holiday - we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Woo! We did it again! Thank you Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We've visited four times now, twice bringing our friends and their children along too. The rooms are spacious (with en-suite wet-room with shower), the kitchen well sized (even when the hostel is full) and equipped and the dining room light and bright (where you can eat you own food and well as buy the hostel's meals). There's plenty of parking and a big drying room for wet gear. The huge beach is just a two minute walk, is generally fairly quiet and is good for sand castles/bodyboarding - the kids love it and so do we. The coast path in both directions is stunning. So you can park the car and not move it if you want to on a short stay with the kids, albeit Pembroke castle and the Marloes makes for great days out.
The manageress Susan and the staff at the hostel are excellent, from the thorough explanation on arrival right through to helping with little issues that arise when you're away. They are always warm and friendly, and the hostel is kept in spotless condition.
As a result we've booked again for summer 2014, and our friends are coming again too....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott_Sue2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Delighted to hear you had such a good stay, and it's always especially good to know that we're tip top in the housekeeping department.

Thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We live in Suffolk, but our daughter had to do AS level science practicals in Haverfordwest. This required a 12 night stay over Easter somewhere near to Haverfordwest. We needed to self cater most of the time (for dietary reasons) and cottages for 2 weeks over Easter were very expensive, so we stayed in a private room in Broad Haven YHA. We were very pleased we made this choice. The managers Gary and Sue and their staff Laura, Jon, Ray and Jane were very friendly and helpful. The food was good (we had a generous breakfast there each day for £4.99 each). Our room, which had a double bed with single bunk on top, with an en-suite wet-room type shower, was clean and warm. The self catering kitchen was large enough even when the hostel was full over the Easter weekend. It was cleaned very thoroughly every day, and the whole hostel was also kept admirably clean. The view from the dining room, in which we ate both breakfasts and self-catered meals, was breathtakingly beautiful over St Bride's Bay. There is a wonderful sandy beach (or beaches, actually) complete with coves/caves/rock pools etc, and the Welsh coastal path is within a couple of hundred metres. We were sorry to leave, and are looking forward to our daughter doing her A2 practicals next year, when we will certainly stay at Broad Haven YHA again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skipperstevehar... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hello all!

Thank you so much for this fabulous review, and the letter which made everyone's day (especially the boys!)

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Love and welsh wishes from the team at yha broad haven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I recently returned from a week-end at Broad Haven YHA with my family, hubby and sons of 10, 12 & 17.
Well where do I start? Ample free parking, can get a ticket from reception.
We were met in a clean and tidy reception area by the manageress Susan, who was very welcoming and helpful, she explained all the hostel facilities available.
Very large self catering kitchen where you can label up and leave all your food stuff, lounge/ tv area, (not that we used it). A large conservatory dining area with beautiful views of the sea, there was also an outside seating area, where bar-b-cues are had in the nicer weather.
Accommodation was Spacious and comfortable with bunk style beds.
Breakfast was buffet style help yourself, very tasty and so a great start to the day, Laura who served it was such a cheerful and happy young lady.
Ideally situated for exploring the beautiful local area and beaches. After a day of adventures it was great to get back to the hostel for a nice hot shower, wet room available for hanging up wet clothes.
Evening meal was very nutritious and filling, Gary the Manager was very knowledgable about the local area and very helpful a real "home from home" feeling.
Boys played pool in the reception area and there is also wi fi available.
A great time was had by us all, I would highly recomend a stay at Broad Haven YHA and have booked to go back in a few months.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely review!

Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broad Haven
2.5 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
310 reviews
4.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
504 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
YHA Poppit Sands
YHA Poppit Sands
#8 of 14 in Cardigan
23 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nanteos Mansion
Nanteos Mansion
#7 of 36 in Aberystwyth
341 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Brecon Beacons
YHA Brecon Beacons
#1 of 1 in Libanus
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Broad Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Broad Haven

Property: YHA Broad Haven
Address: 100 m from beaches of St Brides Bay, Broad Haven SA62 3JH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Broad Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Broad Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Broad Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great spot for activity breaks: surfing, diving - all kinds of watersports holidays. Make a splash in St Brides Bay when you go sea kayaking or scuba-diving. Refurbished to a high standard, this hostel has views over the bay and is close to a lovely beach, perfect for cheap family seaside breaks. Explore the coastal path or, at low tide, walk the half mile over the sand to Little Haven with its quaint fishermen's cottages and quayside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Broad Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Broad Haven Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing