We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay close to beach”
Review of YHA Broad Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YHA Broad Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Family of 5 stayed for 2 nights. Excellent location, friendly staff and great value. The beach is just a very short walk away - even our 2 year old could toddle there. The accommodation is good, with a good kitchen, lounge area with games and large dining room. The shower was good and was great to have washing facilities. Will come again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thanks for the review Paul.

See you again soon by the sounds of it!

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for YHA Broad Haven
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a good half-term break at this YHA. En suite shower in family room was handy as was the large self-catering kitchen. Kids enjoyed pool table and good ping pong table too. Well-placed for trips - especially to see the puffins of Skomer.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thanks for the review Martin!

Good to know you're making the most of the YHA experience

All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Another fantastic visit to Broad Haven YHA. Facilities, food, staff all top notch and the hostel is in a super location for fieldwork along the cliff tops and on the beach. Everything is within a short walk. We also take our group to Tenby for some Human Geography/tourism work while based at Broad Haven YHA. I would thoroughly recommend this as a place to take GCSE Geography students.
Sarah Conolly. Wolverhampton Girls' High School.

Room Tip: Rooms are of a variety of sizes from 4 bedded upto 8 bedded. All are en-suite.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Many thanks for the review. We have restocked the self catering kitchen and hopefully will see you all again.

many thanks

Sue and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed here for one night, I would happily stay again. The hostel is in a great location, a stone's throw from the beach.

Plenty of showers and toilets, decent communal areas including a pool table, pubs in the village and a key-card to get in/out of the hostel at any time.

The only downside I could see was the self catering kitchen which was poorly laid out, and not overly well equipped. There are 77 beds in the hostel but there were only 5 of us staying there the night I stayed and we were tripping over each other while cooking, so I imagine the problem would be worse if the place was full.

Overall though a great hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Many thanks for your review. We are aware the self catering kitchen does get busy at times, but as we offer a full meals service, we hope to get at least 3/4 of the hostel having our meals.

Hope to see you again.

All the best

Sue and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Had an excellent stay at YHA Broad Haven hostel, really helpful and friendly staff, our room was clean and spacious with a double bed with a single bunk. The en-suite bathroom was very clean.

The general hostel facilities were excellent which included roomy lounge area and not forget the excellent breakfast served in the dinning area and conservatory.

Cannot wait for our next visit

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G_JSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Brilliant review, many thanks for writing one. See you again.

cheers
Sue and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just had 2 nights here and explored a bit more of stunning wales including st Davids and surrounding excellent coastal walks.
Broad Haven youth hostel is a friendly clean and affordable place to stay and its not just for youths, you meet interesting people and the facilities are better than in a Band B or hotel. Choice of self catering in the well equipped kitchen or having the work done for you and ordering food which will be prepared for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crabrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the trouble to let us know how your visit went with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed it.

Thanks very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here with our youth rugby team on tour - booked the hostel for exclusive use and found it to be ideal. All rooms bar one were en suite with plenty of communal space including large dining / conservatory room, lounge and bar area with pool table. plus out door table tennis. The beach is very close and the hostel has a large drying room. The staff were very friendly and accommodating -( kept food available for our late comers on the Friday night). The food was great and plentiful and the staff were happy to work around our itinerary, plus there is a large kitchen for our own use. The bar was also well stocked with very friendly service. Over all the hostel was warm, clean and large enough for a large group to not feel crammed in. Plus we also had use of a lecture room - ideal for our awards giving. The staff were brilliant and very tolerant of excited, energetic children on their first tour! We would defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: 13, 14 & 15 are quieter rooms as away from the main corridor and the noise from the bar and pool...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 821Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Many thanks Diane for your comments, we loved having you all over the weekend.

Please keep us in mind with any future tours.

All the best

Sue and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broad Haven
2.5 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
319 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
485 reviews
4.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
439 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Poppit Sands
YHA Poppit Sands
#7 of 15 in Cardigan
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Brecon Beacons
YHA Brecon Beacons
#1 of 1 in Libanus
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Broad Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Broad Haven

Address: 100 m from beaches of St Brides Bay, Broad Haven SA62 3JH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Broad Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Broad Haven
Price Range: £27 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Broad Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great spot for activity breaks: surfing, diving - all kinds of watersports holidays. Make a splash in St Brides Bay when you go sea kayaking or scuba-diving. Refurbished to a high standard, this hostel has views over the bay and is close to a lovely beach, perfect for cheap family seaside breaks. Explore the coastal path or, at low tide, walk the half mile over the sand to Little Haven with its quaint fishermen's cottages and quayside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your YHA Broad Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Broad Haven Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing