We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we stayed an extra day!”
Review of YHA Broad Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YHA Broad Haven
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“So good we stayed an extra day!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was a great place to stay. We had a fantastic holiday. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was fantastic. The family room was ideal. Meals were available from the cafe, although we didn't partake they looked delicious. So much to see and do, we stayed an extra day!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shill70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Lovely review, many thanks. There is so much to see and do here - you could stay 2 weeks and visit a different beach every day. Next time you must have lunch in our cafe or enjoy an evening meal overlooking the bay. See you all again soon.

cheers

Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    42
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
63
12
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stepaside, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

needed a base in order to assess the surrounding area as we were looking at businesses and planning to move down. What a great stay, family room was ideal for us and the baby. Good homecooked meals on offer and use of excellant kitchen. perfect, spotlessly clean and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Many thanks for your review. We are all so glad you enjoyed yourselves. The weather was great this summer and this does help.

Take care and visit us again soon.

cheers

Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Spent a lovely week at the hostel. Great staff, dining room, communal kitchen, even great weather! Our room had separate bathroom and loo across the corridor which we had to lock each time we used it (made a bit of a racket but otherwise didn't bother us).
Will certainly be revisiting :-)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your review. Great you had a good time with us. Sorry about the heavy fire doors making a noise.

All the best and come again soon.

Regards

Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Everyone was incredibly friendly, Sue, Laura and everyone else working in the hostel were incredibly nice and helpful. It's a really nice hostel in a beautiful place.I would definitely advise staying.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Many thanks Joseph for your review. We are all so glad you enjoyed yourself. We all hope to see you again soon.

cheers

Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was a good hostel. It was spacious and had good facilities, I would imagine a good place for families - table tennis, snooker, a sitting room with a tv and toys (although I didn't like this room much - it didn't smell fresh) and an excellent dining room with a light conservatory area and room to sit outside. The bedrooms were good, plenty of space and the bathrooms were fine too. The staff were helpful, perhaps not as friendly or chatty as smaller hostels but this is perhaps to be expected in a slightly larger hostel, and their customer service was good otherwise. A good location near to the beach, free parking for hostel visitors, and nearby shops and cafes. The beach was great, and in low tide you can walk along the beach to neighbouring Little Haven. In high tide it is also possible to walk to Little haven, although much more hilly! Very worth doing as Little Haven has more charm than Broad Haven. The hostel could have perhaps done with more labelling in the kitchen as to where things are kept. The main issue I had with the hostel was that there was a childrens activity holiday running there whilst I was staying. The children were fine but there was lots of slamming of doors (mainly because the doors make a slamming sound whenever they are left to close) and children everywhere. I was a bit exhausted upon my arrival so this was a bit frustrating for me, but really it is about expectations - this is often the sort of thing that happens at hostels.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Many thanks for the review.

We did have a small group in during your stay, so sorry they disturbed you so much. All the doors in the hostel are fire doors and can be heavy and make a noise on closing.

Glad you enjoyed the location.

All the best

Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just back from our family (4) holiday in this hostel. Excellent Hostel, only 100 metres from beach. Wide variety of guests from single walkers, cyclists, couples and families. Staff extremely helpful and cheerful. Good security. , very clean, I believe all rooms are en-suite. We self-catered apart from one night, when we had an evening meal -very nice good portion at reasonable price. Kitchen well equipped decent size, coped well with approximately 12-14 people all preparing meals at same time We will be back

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Many thanks for your review. The hostel is in a brilliant location right next to the beach and has great faciltiies for everyone.

All the best

Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hostel is a stones throw from the beach, which has sand and pebbles. The warden and helpers cooked us a tasty and wholesome evening meal and breakfast. Very impressed with the care taken with the food and we were offered free milk and hot drinks in the self-catering kitchen which we didn't use but looked well stocked.

Very friendly staff and we had our own private room with wet room en suite. Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aud90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethbunag, Manager at YHA Broad Haven, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
So glad you enjoyed your time with us. We just love cooking and looking after our guests well. It's always lovely when it is appreciated.

many thanks

Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broad Haven
2.5 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#5 of 13 in Aberystwyth
314 reviews
4.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
505 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#2 of 13 in Aberystwyth
426 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Poppit Sands
YHA Poppit Sands
#7 of 14 in Cardigan
26 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nanteos Mansion
Nanteos Mansion
#8 of 36 in Aberystwyth
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Broad Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Broad Haven

Property: YHA Broad Haven
Address: 100 m from beaches of St Brides Bay, Broad Haven SA62 3JH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Broad Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Broad Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Broad Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great spot for activity breaks: surfing, diving - all kinds of watersports holidays. Make a splash in St Brides Bay when you go sea kayaking or scuba-diving. Refurbished to a high standard, this hostel has views over the bay and is close to a lovely beach, perfect for cheap family seaside breaks. Explore the coastal path or, at low tide, walk the half mile over the sand to Little Haven with its quaint fishermen's cottages and quayside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your YHA Broad Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Broad Haven Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing