We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Village luxury”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Biron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Prieure du Chateau de Biron
Ranked #1 of 1 Biron B&B and Inns
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Village luxury”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Wallow in a little luxury at Le Prierure while you tour the Dordogne. The owner of French/American background knows how to meet the needs of the most fastidious traveller with spacious rooms with all mod cons and even tea/coffee making facilities for us tea seeking anglos.
Rooms overlook the terrace and green fields at the back and the chateau in the front.
Breakfast is included and is well presented.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

You will read many superlatives in others' reviews of Le Prieure and after 4 days there I have to say that I can only agree with them. Elizabeth offers the warmest of French welcomes blended with the highest level of attention to detail and service.

Room Tip: Tell Elizabeth what you'd like and take her recommendation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic property. This is a hotel with a real wow factor.
If you are in the region you simply must stay here. Fantastic price for the standard of rooms, breakfast and welcome from the owners.
Great patio area to eat breakfast with a view as far as the eye can see.
A nice selection of reasonably priced wines for you to sip on your return from a days sightseeing.
I can't recommend this B and B highly enough

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Livster64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

We approached the chateau de Biron on our motorbike through the pouring rain and the dark clouds framed the dark stone. There was nobody around as it was late evening. We initially struggled to find the entrance but when we did we were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome by our host - Elizabeth. From the view that greeted us we knew this was no ordinary place. The original stone staircase, the amazing windows and when we got to our room the towering ceiling and massive fireplace. The interesting decor is as fascinating as the building itself. We wished it was fine for breakfast so we could enjoy the terrace with the commanding view over the surrounding countryside but it was still wet and we dined inside. Elizabeth's choice of fruit, freshly baked croissant and local preserves made us not want to leave. We will be back - when it is sunny!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Occasionally you are lucky enough to find a place that is quite unique and wonderful. It was, quite simply, a privilege to stay here and experience the inside of this old Priest's house. Our room was absolutely lovely, as was the whole building from the moment you stepped inside. It was a joy to simply explore all the public rooms, all of which were quite magical. Breakfast in the beautiful dining room was excellent and included in the room rate. Car parking was easy and free. The village auberge was a stones throw away and perfectly adequate. We had a drink on the patio but chose to drive only 8 minutes to dine in the square at Montpazier. There was a lovely sun terrace for guests at the house and beautiful lounges to enjoy. Interestingly there was no TV in the room, but it was available in a lounge. In such a beautiful building we did not miss it. Free wifi was available. The house sat at the walls of the huge Chateau Biron, how lucky we were to have sought it out and booked a night. It really was something special.

Room Tip: All the rooms are individual and beautiful, make your choice from the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firstcuckoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

You just have to pinch yourself as you approach the Chateau from any direction and you can't believe you are really staying in a place with centuries and centuries of history. One normally expects cold drafts and not everything working, but this is different. Elisabeth is charming, and quietly attentive to your every want and need. It is warm, inviting and relaxing. She has great tips for the area and try not to miss a local market. Is is stunningly comfortable and absolutely memorable with beautiful decor in each room. A truly wonderful stay.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank SophieLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

We have arrived back from a nights stay at this beautiful place. Having made a booking at least four weeks before we arrived we were slightly taken aback to find our room had been double booked. However the alternative with a complimentary bottle of wine exceeded our expectations. It was stunning beautifully detailed with a massive comfortable bed. We even had the delights of a lightening storm at 6 am which i am sure wasn't part of the package but was wonderful to hear while snuggled up in the cosy bed linen. Our only comment was although the bathroom had his and her basins the his basin didn't allow for shaving. Tea and coffee was available but sadly no milk for the seasoned earl grey tea drinkers. The owner has obviously taken great pride in the detail and furnishing of this wonderful abode and while the owner was indisposed her partner made every attempt to welcome us. We loved our brief stay and would definitely return.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Prieure du Chateau de Biron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Prieure du Chateau de Biron

Property: Le Prieure du Chateau de Biron
Address: Le Bourg, 24540 Biron, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Biron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Biron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DELUXE BED AND BREAKFAST IN THE DORDOGNE CAREFULLY RENOVATED AND DECORATED WITH CARE FOR THE COMFORT AND PLEASURE OF ITS GUESTS. IT IS IDEALLY LOCATED TO VISIT ALL THE MAJOR SITES IN THE DORDOGNE WHILE OFFERING A PRESERVED SETTING IN AN UNTOUCHED VILLAGE AT THE FOOT OF THE MAGNIFICIENT CASTLE OF BIRON. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing