We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of L'Hermitage

Walk straight from the house to the pool.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Walk straight from the house to the pool.
View across the open plan salon and dining area to the kitchen. Terrace and pool viewed from the East
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Walk straight from the house to the pool.
View across the open plan salon and dining area to the kitchen.
Terrace and pool viewed from the East
Outdoor eating area showing height adjustable hanging light.
Dine on a 3m long walnut table under the chandelier.
Relax next to the reclaimed white marble fireplace.
Kitchen with lights on
Double bed, mirrored sliding door cupboards.
Two single beds. They can be put together to make a large double
Double bedroom with gold mirrored sliding cupboard doors.
Shower room with underfloor heating, Italian shower and tiles + gold plated fittings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Meounes-les-Montrieux, Var, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Joanne K
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unsafe and uncomfortable”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We disliked this holiday so much we left 5 days early. It is our 1 hard earned holiday a year so I hope that alone speaks volumes.

Our party consisted of 2 adults and our 12 yr old son.

* Our greatest fear was the c. 60 feet sheer drop from the side of the pool. Within 2 minutes of using the pool our son lost his ball down the mountain side. It's such a deep and rocky drop we couldn't see the ball nor the bottom. Photos cannot show just how unsafe it is. It's not just unsafe for children under 5 it's unsafe for anyone walking on the tiled floor that gets slippery when wet. Crazily, the only entry/exit ladder which gets too hot to touch by 1pm on a sunny day is located just 3 foot from the unprotected edge. In our opinion it posed the threat of a very serious accident waiting to happen and we could not relax.

* The hosts were not helpful or friendly. They moaned incessantly at how hard it was to clean the villa ( not that clean) and my idea of a holiday is not being marched around the property after 11 hours of travelling to be told how to clean, what to use and not use, which plants they wanted watered and the pool maintenance regime we were required to do. They also left an inaccurate 5 page inventory for us to peruse which went so far as to include coat hangers and coasters hehe. However because it wasn't accurate and they had €1000 deposit perhaps that isn't funny.

* The pool was not checked or cleaned by them in the 8 days we were there. On our request they were going to come on the 9th day. That's the day we left.

* They do not answer the 3 phone numbers they gave ever which became annoying when 2 x Staffordshire Bull Terrier type dogs had arrived on the property. They were dirty, smelly and distressed but thankfully not hostile. Not knowing the temperament of the dogs however or where they had come from we sent a text when our calls were ignored. The text we got back was along the lines of " No we don't know whose dogs they are, you could phone the police, how's your French."
That was a flippant response to a situation that ruined a day ( 6 hours) of our holiday. There is no fencing round the property to prevent this happening.

* We felt unsafe from the potential of animals and people gaining access to the property. . . We were asked to close the shutters when we went out as a precaution against burglary and shown the buckled and broken lock on the gate up to the property from an attempted previous break in!!

* Both the double beds were uncomfortable with yellow stains on the blue and white bed cover eww.

* Really sharp corners on the kitchen counters and a free standing glass cabinet full of glass wear which wasn't anchored to the wall and wobbled dangerously when opened and closed it. We went to the supermarket and brought 6 glasses so we did not have to touch this cupboard.

* The €35 portable electric grill we saw in Carrefour is the only means of outdoor cooking and it should not be called a BBQ. It barely fits 2 small burgers.

* Poorly equipped kitchen with hardly any space to store food. Our sundries were stored on top of the microwave.

* 2 of the 3 frying pans have no non stick left and we found the remains of a fried egg welded to the pan in the cupboard.

* The wet room is not for everyone it is lovely to look at it but becomes dangerously slippery when wet. A squidgy is provided for the cleaning regime to remove the excess water but it is still dangerous to move around when showered.

* And the town - (not the hosts fault) but it in our opinion was an utter disappointment. Realistically the walk is do-able but not a nice stroll. It is an endurance in the heat, it's a busy often fast, single track road and again we didn't feel safe on it. Walking on that road or down the rocky, uneven, unlit driveway to the property would have been dangerous in the dark. We chose not to spend time in the town which we found to be unfriendly, busy, dirty and over crowded with cars and with limited shops/restaurants.

* Finally we could not sit outside in the evenings because the cast iron outside furniture is so uncomfortable and there were loads of mosquitos which after feasting on us the first evening we did our best to avoid.

* Air conditioning was good

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
We regret that our villa was not appropriate to Joanne needs and wishes. But, before we respond, we like to point out that the inaccurate and distorted facts of the review came after we complained about Joanne leaving our propriety without locking the gate or the garage and leaving the keys of the house on the window sill, next to the front door without our knowledge or permission. Furthermore we found candles on the terrace when we told you that naked flames were not allow at this time of the year.
From the start, we could not satisfied your numerous unrealistic demands more suited to an hotel.
You wanted to arrive very late, we could not as we are not so young any more. Then, you wanted to arrive two hours early to put food you had bought in the fridge. We explained that we clean the house thoroughly between each rental. Every surface is vacuum cleaned, washed, polished and disinfected.
You arrived and praised ’the beautiful house and stunning view’ You added that it was big and understood why we needed two people to clean it from 10am to 4pm.
You had the same warm welcome than everybody else. There was fresh flowers in the living-room,
champagne, juice, mineral water, milk, in the fridge, coffee, tea, herbal tea, sugar, jam, olive oil, balsamic vinegar in the cupboard. All cleaning products you may need, including all soap shower gel, tampons, toilets paper were provided to make life easier in holiday. The bedrooms were fitted with freshly ironed linen, towels and beach towels. All free of charge, as is the welcome pack, to all our guests. All beds have a memory foam mattress, purchased 2 years ago. Often, our guests buy one after sleeping in our beds. Our Boutis (authentic traditional bedspreads) are clean with no stains. You left the house reasonably clean and tidy, but you left the oven gloves coagulated with food, in a cupboard. No problem, mistakes happened, but don’t tell us we had dirty frying pan as this is not true. You volunteered to water the plants ( but didn’t) and we told you to add water to the pool if needed.
You came from Dijon which is 5 hours from Meounes. We believe that it is appropriate to welcome our guest ourselves and to give them a quick tour of the house and to explain how things work. It is brief as we leave a sheet of instruction to refer to. It is all meant to help our guest to feel comfortable in an unknown environment.
You complained about the inclination on one side of the land. It is not a sheer 60 feet drop but a 30 degree inclination as detailed in the deeds. There are 6000m2 of flat land where the villa is situated. We are on a ridge which explained the stunning view of the valley. People put the reclining chairs on the terrace to enjoy it but I have never found them as close to the edge before where you left them. Yes, the pool ladder does get hot when it is 40 C. It is 2 m from the edge of the terrace. We proposed to come and clean the pool, after a week, but added that most people prefer not to be disturbed. When you asked us to clean it, my husband got up at 6am to do it the next day.
We have no record on our answering machine, phone log or on our email after an email at 6:40am. This is strange has we have never encountered that problem before with you or anybody else. I discovered ‘the dogs problem’ after I sent you my midweek usual mail to guests to enquire if they needed anything. You told me about the dogs and I immediately stepped in. I called the Town Hall and the Police. Finally I called my neighbour, just coming back from his job. He came, solved the problem in 5 minutes. You send me a mail thanking me and added they were nice dogs and you had three at homes. The words mountain and mole hill come to mind.
I never asked you ‘how is your French?’ as I knew it was very good from your mail, however you know little of Provençal way of life. Large estates do not have fencing or lighting in the drive. You might have notice that none of my neighbours had any. If you wish flat land with fencing you will find it in towns or suburban environment. But in the future, we will leave a torch for our guests.
The estate is in my family since 1980. It has never been burgled. Maybe it is because we don’t leave the keys on the window sill.
Our beautiful, custom made, hand craft kitchen has corners. They are normal corners but we will buy baby safety corners in case of an other guest suffering from aichmophobia ( fear of corners).
The glass cabinet is from IKEA. It is not designed to be fixed to the wall and is perfectly safe. I don’t know how you spirited the glasses inside the cabinet, where I found them, without touching it.
The BBQ is not from Carrefour and was a lot more than 35euros. Many families have enjoyed it as it takes at least 6 burgers or 12 sausages.
All tiles are slippery when wet. There are two mops and a squeegy to remove excess water. Most people found difficult to leave the shower not because it’s slippery but because they enjoy it so much. From now on we are providing a shower mat.
In brief, we regret that you found Provence boring and our beautiful medieval village, so beloved by Napoleon, Pagnol or the Pompidou ( ex-French president) who were frequent visitors, not to your taste. I believe that the people of Meounes and the Town Hall would be deeply upset about you finding it unfriendly and dirty. Well, everyone else seemed to have a different opinion on Provence, Meounes, our villa and ourselves.

We wish you and your family the best for the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon Je...
2 reviews
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We loved our 10 day stay at the Hermitage. The location is ideal - very private and quiet, 5 minuted to the quaint town, and within driving distance to Toulon, Gorges du Verdon, Nice, Arles, St. Tropaz, - everywhere you want to visit in Southern France is a drive away. The home is spectacular, new, modern conveniences, completely equipped kitchen, fireplace, a shower you won't want to leave, beautifully furnished and comfortable. We loved our host and hostess - they went out of their way to help us, make recommendations, and couldn't have done more to add to our wonderful vacation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2017
Thank you. You were lovely guests. I hope you will come back soon.
Isabelle Allnutt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uncledida...
Yardley Gobion, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic property in a beautiful part of France.”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We're a family of four with two children aged 10 and 7. We had a great two-week stay at L'Hermitage in August 2016.

The villa is beautiful inside. Open plan through the kitchen, dining room and lounge with separately controlled air conditioning units in the main living space and in each of the bedrooms. The outside area is dominated by the pool and patio, with white gravel paths around the perimeter of the villa.

The location is fantastic, offering total privacy with a stunning view across the valley below. I have stayed in some properties where the owners just move out for the summer, but this is not the case here. L'Hermitage is solely a holiday rental, so you won't find any locked cupboards or feel like you are intruding into someone else's home. It was the first time we had visited this region of France and it really is beautiful there with steep hills covered in trees. The local village of Méounes-lès-Montrieux is 800m down a steep road (you'll notice on the way back up) and has excellent shops including a supermarket, butcher and two bakeries plus an ATM. You could quite easily stay in the villa for a week without leaving the village.

L'Hermitage is the best equipped holiday rental I've stayed in. There are beach towels, inflatables and a cool box available for use and a kitchen with all of the pots, pans, utensils and gadgets you might require. Unlike many other properties, the owners provided all of the sundry items you might need such as bin bags, cleaning products, cling film, dishwasher tablets, clothes washing detergent and even coffee machine filter papers! You could definitely fly down to the region, hire a car and be certain that almost of your needs will have been provided for. No charcoal barbecues unfortunately due to the local fire risk, but the owners have thoughtfully provided an electric barbecue which works surprisingly well.

We had really hot weather during our stay, 29-33 degrees most days with only one cloudy afternoon. There were a few insects about, but not too bad. The odd wasp and early evening mosquitoes on some days. L'Hermitage is a great base to explore the region. The best beaches are a 40 to 50 minute drive away. We particularly liked Plage de la Pinède in Hyères (park in Capte and take a short walk north over two wooden bridges) as it is wide, sandy, shallow and quiet. Good for children and sandcastles. Aix-en-Provence is less than an hour away and well worth a visit too.

Thank you Simon and Isabelle for providing us with such a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful private location
Liked least: The roads between Lyon and the south coast.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Thanks for your kind words Graham, and also for leaving the villa so clean. I really appreciated not having to empty the bins! Best wishes to Lisa and the girls, we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew G
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Spectacular - the photos on line do not do it justice”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The villa is luxurious, the pool is glorious, the location is perfect, the owners are excellent, but what caps it all is the view. Basically, the phots on the website do nowhere near do justice to the view & to the exterior of the property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool & the view
Liked least: Woodland creatures: mosquitos, scorpions, hornets. Not for the very faint hearted.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for your comments, Andrew. We will have to get some more photos done.
We would also like to thank you,Sarah, and your children for leaving the villa the cleanest ever! I particularly appreciated that you took the rubbish out. Please come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Setting and view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed L'Hermitage. We agree with you, it is not a location for toddlers and very young children. We refuse to rent to families with children below five years of age, as is stated on the site. Our youngest guest so far was an eight year old and she thoroughly enjoyed her holiday.
The beautiful location (on a ridge),the panoramic view and the villa are more to the taste of older children, adolescents and adults.

We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cjk1980
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful week”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Isabelle and Simon were brilliant with their help in organising this week break at short notice, The villa is spacious and beautifully presented and with many useful extras provided. The view is magnificent and the pool was lovely. The village is about a kilometre away and has a useful store, good boulangerie and boucherie, 2 cafes and an antiques shop, A very relaxing week. Many thanks again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinJL
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise in Provence”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

In advance of arrival, the owners Simon and Isabelle were really helpful, ensuring that they understood our needs. Nothing prepared us for the reality, a beautiful house, lovingly designed atop a Provençal hill with a private heated pool and the most amazing southerly views overlooking the village surrounds and the Gapeau Valley. We found a gem and shall certainly return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing