We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the effort of finding”

Trattoria Marsupino
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Briaglia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We were staying in Mondovi which is a pretty town with plenty of cafes but very poor options for dinner. We found this little place on TA. It is in a tiny village and seems to be a family-run inn. We were shown to a courtyard area which soon filled up with large tables of three generation local families. Good quality homemade breads and amuse bouches. All the dishes were delectable and beautifully presented, especially the final trio of sorbets. The use of local Langhe ingredients was showcased. As good and actually probably better than what we had eaten in the more well-known locations in Alba. Worth a detour, as the old Michelin saying went. And if you are in Mondovi then this is a must.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2017

For me, there is no better restaurant, anywhere. Every dish is expertly prepared with the highest quality ingredients. The cheese is the best I have ever had, and the wine list is vast enough for all tastes, and budgets.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nick_0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Trattoria Marsupino is a gem that any Piemontephile should visit. If you're not a Piemontephile, you will be after visiting this charming countryside restaurant. I saw a photo of a group of winemaker friends at Trattoria Marsupino in early December and vowed to visit the restaurant on my next trip to Piemonte. It's about an hour from where we stay near Barbaresco and worth every inch of the drive. The Marsupino family has owned and operated the restaurant and lodgings for over 100 years. It remains a family owned and operated business with papa in the kitchen, mama in the front of the house with her son who is the sommelier, and nonna at the cash register.

Although many Piemonte restaurants that serve the traditional cuisine offer gnocchi with melted Castelmagno cheese -- the Rolls Royce of Italian cheeses -- not all of them offer artisanal cheese from the high alpine meadows. At Marsupino, their tender gnocchi are bathed in melted Des Martin Castelmagno d'Alpeggio DOP from Rifugio Valliera high in the Valle Grana. It is a sublimely delicious dish not to be missed. The other offerings are all beautifully presented and created from the best ingredients available of which Piemonte has in abundance.

The well-curated wine list is filled with treasures from Piemonte and other Italian regions, but stick with the Piemonte wines as they are so much better to enjoy (and purchase) near the source.

I highly recommend Trattoria Marsupino to anyone visiting Piemonte who is seeking a true Piemontese gastronomic experience rooted in generations of tradition. It's where wine producers go to dine and celebrate happy occasions, so follow their example.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VillaArneis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We were here for dinner with friends. Well actually we were a table of 16 people. The service was excellent and friendly, the food seemed to come straight from Heaven, and the wine was blessed by the Etruscan gods.

Two words sum up the whole experience - Un esperenza unica (a unique experience)

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BG176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We had an amazing family dinner at Marsupino! Extremely friendly and attentive service as well as delicious dishes!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank EliseRossHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Marsupino also viewed

Vicoforte, Province of Cuneo
Mondovi, Province of Cuneo
 
Mondovi, Province of Cuneo
Vicoforte, Province of Cuneo
 
Mondovi, Province of Cuneo
Mondovi, Province of Cuneo
 

Been to Trattoria Marsupino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing