We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and clean hostel”
Review of Django's EcoHostel

Django's EcoHostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cloughjordan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Django's EcoHostel
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here with a group of students recently. Many had never stayed in a hostel before!

Clean: All common area, the kitchen and bedrooms were really clean and well kept.
Friendly: Pa is lovely and very welcoming. So are the other guests!
Convenient: The hostel is in the EcoNeighbourhood but within walking distance of everywhere in Cloughjordan. The hostel is a 10 minute walk from the train station.

The village of Cloughjordan and the EcoNeighbourhood are fascinating places. Within walking distance there's trails, lovely pubs, a cookery school, galleries and beautiful countryside.

I would definitely stay here again, with a group or family.

Room Tip: As it's an EcoHostel all rooms are bright!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here during the wonderful Cloughtoberfest, which is Ireland's new Gypsy Jazz festival. The hostel is named after Django Reinhardt. We found it to be a great hostel, it has a lovely big clean kitchen, spotless rooms and ensuite in the family rooms, Pa the host is a really good guy and it is altogether recommended by us!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nothangingabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Being that I am severely and painfully disabled I was allotted a lovely ground floor room which was en suite, warm, comfortable and beautifully clean and Hygienic.
A lovely welcome note from Pa also gave me clear details of all facilities and directions for use of the roomy kitchen and dining area.
The Eco-village concept is new to me but I admire the enterprise and intentions which I learned a little more about.
I totally appreciated the warm friendly atmosphere and enjoyed my stay.
Great value, comfort and service..Thank you so much...Rose

Room Tip: Just explain what you require and I am sure that Pa will try to provide a satisfactory room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roseanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

I was really interested to see how an Eco hostel would work and was hugely impressed. The kitchen is fabulous with great Eco friendly appliances and lovely furniture. The rubbish bins are provided to allow guests to separate the waste which shows an enormous commitment to the ideals of the hostel. The Eco village is a work in progress but really inspirational and the older part of Cloughjordan also has nice pubs. Cloughjordan House has lovely events going on also. A wonderful place to visit. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathleenNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed here for an experience weekend for the Eco-village that was cancelled at the last minute. Our host, Pa Finucane, was part of the group that worked to connect us to the community so we could get a good picture of the village.

The hostel was spotlessly clean and comfortable, and Pa went the extra mile, providing a spare room when my husband wasn't feeling well and wanted to sleep in a separate space--and refused to take any extra payment for it! Wifi was rock-solid and free--many chain hotels could learn a lesson here!

The only downside was the myriad of fire doors that we had to go through every few steps, it seems. Clearly, the council had not made it easy to balance environmental considerations with building codes.

We loved having a full kitchen facility at our disposal (we have multiple dietary restrictions), and the location was a terrific base for exploring the area. Of course, the main attraction for us was reducing our footprint: international travel spews tons of greenhouse gases, and we didn't feel we sacrificed any comfort at all to do the Right Thing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank actranslation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
Thank KarlBigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Django's EcoHostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Django's EcoHostel

Address: Ecovillage, Cloughjordan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Cloughjordan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Cloughjordan
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Django's stands in the heart of Cloughjordan's ecovillage, in the heart of Ireland. Open to all, all year round, close to Lough Derg, Rock of Cashel and so much more. Green design and technology throughout bring you comfort with a conscience. Shared dorms and private twin, double and family rooms, all en-suite. Come to Django's to enjoy quality hostel accommodation at budget hostel prices. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing