We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great overnight stop in middle England” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grill & Grain at the Boatyard

Grill & Grain at the Boatyard
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grill & Grain at the Boatyard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoghton
scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great overnight stop in middle England”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stopped here on our way home to Scotland from Bath. We booked before we left Bath with Booking.Com and got a very good rate for B/B, when we arrived our booking hadn't come through till 1/2 hr before so we were told to order drinks in the bar on the house until it was ready. In no time at all we were shown to our room which was lovely, clean and well furnished, the bathroom was exceptional and with an enormous shower couldn't wait to use it. We went into the restaurant for dinner and had a lovely meal, the food was delicious and the staff couldn't do enough for you. In the morning we found we had no hot water and couldn't try out the fab shower so we went over to the restaurant for breakfast and when we told Susan that we had no hot water she immediately said that she would reduce our room rate.( It transpired that it was a boiler problem) She then cooked us the most delicious piping hot breakfast so large that we didn't eat for the rest of the day. I strongly recommend this place and we will certainly stop here again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank igbScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoatyardInn, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear IGB Scotland,
Thank you for your lovely comments. I apologise for the problem with the hot water, we have had intermittent problems with the boiler, but this electrical problem has now been resolved. I am pleased it didn't affect your stay too much, and I am particularly pleased Sue was able to resolve your problems!

We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    31
    16
    16
    13
See reviews for
34
52
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Room was pristine, with great bathroom facitilies etc and a very comfy double bed. Lovely location, right next to the canal, breakfast was delicious (and large!), and the staff and manager couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful.
Really made our weekend, and will absolutely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoatyardInn, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Ian W,
Thank you for your positive comments it's always good to hear that the service and standards we strive to achieve reap rewards.

My team and I look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Pros: Staff were very friendly and helpful. Excellent location next to the canal and with good walking in the immediate vicinity. Food was of a good standard, especially breakfast. The room was large, clean and well equipped. It was also located in a separate block away from the pub so noise was not a problem.

Cons:Had a long wait for dinner on first night (1.5 hours from sitting down to main course arriving) due to 'busy weekend'. In fairness we were warned about the delay before we ordered and the second night was fine.

Room Tip: Being in a separate block of six chalet-style rooms I imagine they are all very similar. Two are fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoatyardInn, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Alan F,
Thank you for your comments. With regards to your wait I can only apologise, all meals are cooked fresh to order and as a result, delays are unfortunately inevitable on very busy days, but I am pleased that you were warned beforehand and that your second nights service was an improvement. We strive to satisfy in all ways and it is very much an on going problem when a large amount of customers descend at the same time, we continue to address the problems that this brings.

We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

one night stay in a near perfect room - bathroom mould could have been scrubbed away a bit better.
food was typical pub food. Breakfast was ok but rushed & needs more thought. Starting at 0730 is too late & unlikey to attract repeat visitors on a business trip

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ggtandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoatyardInn, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for your comments, and in particular with regards to the mould. This is part of an on going renovation project. The vast majority of our customers are happy with a 7.30am breakfast, we used to start at 8.30am, but in order to satisfy our business clients we moved it to 7.30am.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed here in May 2013 and had a lovely time with friends. The rooms were perfect with the little extras of coffee and tea making facilities. Fabulous shower and plenty of room overall. Overlooking the canal it was lovely and peaceful. The staff were lovely and the food was excellent and reasonably priced. The staff were very attentive and pleasant. Overall a lovely stay in excellent conditions. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

I stayed here on business and it was very pleasant and reasonably priced. The location is perfect overlooking the canal. My room was large, clean,and comfortable with a very large en-suite and a great shower. The staff were very welcoming when I arrived and went out of their way to show me to the room and make sure I had everything I needed. I did not eat here in the evening due to business commitments but breakfast was excellent and Susan the waitress was friendly and efficient. I will definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We have just spent a very nice overnight stay and rate this as a very high 5* the whole experience was relaxing and enjoyable, very picturesque by the water. We had the ribeye steak which was excellent and to die for, the breakfast was also very nice and just what you want to set you up for the day. We found the staff very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble, Terry helped us with the wine selection and made our stay feel very special. The room was very nice, clean and modern, We will be back and would recommend this for a short break or just a relaxing meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoghton
15.5 mi away
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
6.2 mi away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
15.6 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Britannia Bolton Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bolton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
15.2 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grill & Grain at the Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grill & Grain at the Boatyard

Property: Grill & Grain at the Boatyard
Address: 2 Bolton Road, Hoghton PR5 0SP, England (Formerly The Boatyard)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Hoghton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoghton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grill & Grain at the Boatyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our canalside location is a winner in the sunshine - sit back and relax with a long, cool drink as you watch the narrowboats float quietly by. And if the weather's not quite so pleasant, we've got loads of room inside with a choice of comfy sofas or dining chairs and tables.With great value food made on-site from locally sourced ingredients, our menu has something for everyone and the quality of our food is superior.Our bar has four beers on hand pump and we've got a great selection of lagers, cider, wines and soft drinks.And there's no rush to drive home after an evening at The Boatyard - why not stay in one of our six recently decorated and well appointed rooms.Then wake up to a hearty breakfast and grab a latte in our coffee shop before leaving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Grill & Grain at the Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boatyard Hotel Preston
Grill & Grain At The Boatyard Hoghton, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing