We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Dining Experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grill & Grain at the Boatyard

Grill & Grain at the Boatyard
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grill & Grain at the Boatyard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoghton
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Dining Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Restaurant Only

Unable to use the coffee bar/lounge (private function) we selected a table in the restaurant.
The barmaid? didn't know what wines were on offer, she simply searched for each one I named. Baked potato with beans and cheese proved to be very watery and tasteless. The "Gourmet Burger" served on a thin plank, looked like a small child's portion. The coffee, when it eventually arrived, was luke-warm. The sweet arrived after the coffee.

At least two other tables were questioning their orders and sending food back to the kitchen.

This establishment has been taken off my list until I see better reports here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrSimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    31
    16
    16
    13
See reviews for
35
52
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Had a family meal here on Sunday. Great carvery with a good selection of meat and veg. Also excellent choice of real ales. Specials menu looked very tempting would defiantly return to try those . Added bonus of being situated in a lovely location next to the canal.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PaulT797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue K, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hi

Thank you for your comments about our Carvery - I am glad that you enjoyed your meals here and that you liked our location. We hope that you will come and visit with us again.
Thank you
Kind regards
Sue Ketley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently to see a comedy act in Blackburn town.

Good points: This hotel is in a picturesque & quiet area but still close enough to Blackburn town (10 min drive - £8 taxi)
Staff very friendly & room was warm & clean, basically had everything in that we needed for a night. The rain forrest shower was the best i've ever had. The full English breakfast was nice!

Bad points: Beds were really uncomfortable.Prefer a firm bed where as this one was the complete opposite.Suppose this comes down to personal taste.Also our double bed was 2 singles pushed together as apposed to an actual double which made it even more uncomfortable as beds kept moving apart.You have to speak to the manager at the adjacent pub/restaurant to check in & i can see this being a problem in very busy periods.

All in all it's actually a decent hotel in a great area but we personally wouldn't return unless we stayed in a room with a firmer bed.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JeMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue K, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Hello
Thank you for your comments which I have taken on board. All of our beds are twins, which we do put together when a Double is required. Only having 6 bedrooms, we always have a mix of people staying with us, business men, couples, friends etc, . However, we are always happy to receive peoples comments and are always looking at ways to enhance our accommodation offer.

As the rooms do belong to the Restaurant/Pub, this is where we ask our guests to check in as there is no where else for them to do it.

Thank you
Kind regards
Sue Ketley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed here for one night .Very friendly staff. Was greeted by Rachel who showed us to our room and explained everything to us, restaurant times n breakfast time.Very good service ,staff were very helpful and polite. Room and en-suite were very spacious . evening meal and breakfast were lovely ,It was nice that you could come and go as you wanted without having to keep passing a reception area . We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria73O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue K, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Hi

Thank your for your lovely comments about your stay with us. We always try to ensure that all our guests are comfortable and well looked after and it would appear that on this occasion, we did just that.
Thank you
We hope to see you again in the future,
Kind regards
Sue Ketley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We haven't used the room facilities as we live within 5 miles of the Boatyard - but have to say it's now our local. The attractive surroundings, relaxing atmosphere, great menu (regularly updated) - high standard of food, cleanliness and friendly attentive staff will keep us coming back for years. Keep up the good work guys :-))

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue K, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Hi
Thank you for your review of the Boatyard, we are glad that we have become one of your regular places to go now and that you like what we are trying to do here.

Thank you
Kind regards
Sue Ketley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

On our arrival, we were greeted by the Manageress (who was called Sue) - she showed us to our room and explained everything to us, how to use things, where things were, when and where breakfast was serve, etc. We stayed for 3 nights over Christmas in room 4 - the beds were so comfortable and the furnishings were lovely. We were really pleased that the rooms were warm and we had a large towel heater/radiator in the bathroom. The walk in large shower was a big plus for us as we are both not getting any younger and find it difficult getting into a bath!

There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room, which were replaced daily and with Breakfast being served till 11am, we didnt have to rush around early morning.

We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBC35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue K, General Manager at Grill & Grain at the Boatyard, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay here. We are so pleased that you chose to stay with us and also that you enjoyed your few days here.
We look forward to welcoming you again when you come back to see your family.
Thank you
Kind regards
Sue Ketley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Visited the Boatyard Inn having booked a trip on the Leeds Liverpool canal with Canal Boat Cruises. We arrived mid afternoon and was shown our room which was in a motel type unit across the car park. This was great as we could pull our car into a space right outside to remove luggage. The room was large with large modern bathroom , great shower as well as a bath but a toilet cistern that ran all night. The bed was probably the worst I had ever slept in, I have a bad back but my husband also had one after one night in the bed. Tea/Coffee was a welcome treat available in room but more than 1 teabag each would have been nice but there were biscuits. Full English Breakfast was included in the price of £69 per night and was very nice. The food in the evening was nothing special available in the Restaurant. The chips were nearly cold and portion size for price was for someone hungry was a bit small and to be quite honest it was not very warm where we were sat either. I would not be rushing back for a meal maybe try some of the local pubs instead.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoghton
15.5 mi away
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
6.2 mi away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
15.6 mi away
Millstone at Mellor
Millstone at Mellor
#2 of 4 in Blackburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Britannia Bolton Hotel
Britannia Bolton Hotel
#10 of 13 in Bolton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
15.2 mi away
Stanley House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grill & Grain at the Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grill & Grain at the Boatyard

Property: Grill & Grain at the Boatyard
Address: 2 Bolton Road, Hoghton PR5 0SP, England (Formerly The Boatyard)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Hoghton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoghton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grill & Grain at the Boatyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our canalside location is a winner in the sunshine - sit back and relax with a long, cool drink as you watch the narrowboats float quietly by. And if the weather's not quite so pleasant, we've got loads of room inside with a choice of comfy sofas or dining chairs and tables.With great value food made on-site from locally sourced ingredients, our menu has something for everyone and the quality of our food is superior.Our bar has four beers on hand pump and we've got a great selection of lagers, cider, wines and soft drinks.And there's no rush to drive home after an evening at The Boatyard - why not stay in one of our six recently decorated and well appointed rooms.Then wake up to a hearty breakfast and grab a latte in our coffee shop before leaving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Grill & Grain at the Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boatyard Hotel Preston
Grill & Grain At The Boatyard Hoghton, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing