We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed due to a damage caused by a fire.

“Well worth a visit”

Grill & Grain at the Boatyard
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grill & Grain at the Boatyard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoghton
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Stayed here for one night on business. Arrived quite late and the kitchen was closed at this time. However the lady on duty was very helpful and rustled up a hot meal for me, and very nice it was too.
Pleasant surroundings (pity about the rain), the accommodation was clean and more than comfortable. Certainly a great night sleep.
The coffee shop is a nice relaxing place to do a spot of work. The free wifi is a nice touch.
Excellent value, friendly staff, will be back if i'm in the area again

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planeswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    31
    16
    16
    13
See reviews for
35
52
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich - London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

I've been working in the area as a contractor and have been staying at the boatyard for several weeks.

Excellent rooms great fitting far better than the £90 hotels in the area, good towels and quality sheets fantastic bathrooms, very clean and modern. Plasma screen TV and tasteful decor.

Easy access as near a motorway junction so took no time getting to work in the mornings.

Right on the canal next to the water with pleasant views, once a month classic car club does visit as do a local scuba diving society, apart from that it is very quiet and cosy.

Food is reasonbly priced and I've found the staff to be very friendly and helpful

There is another country pub down the road which is very pleasant and view and canal walks make it an excellent destination far better than any travel lodge ....

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VincentSanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2009

enjoyed our stay at the boatyard inn - we stopped their our our cycling holiday along leeds Liverpool canal. Family room was very large with huge bed and double sofa bed for child. The rooms were very clean and the walk in wet room was amazing. The boatyard Inn itself was lovely good situation right next to canal, the only trouble was the rain as it would have been lovely to sit on decking outside. The food was ok standard pub grub, the only issue was the chips which were under cooked. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawntoduskLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2009

i was told it was under new ownership. and all the better for it.
very clean modern rooms, new staff training is working,
a vast improvement. 1st class.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren101Burnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2009

I arrived with my children to what is a lovely area of countryside, only 3 or 4 mins from the M6/M61. The site was perfect to unwind after a hard drive. Plenty of parking, good sized restaurant, food good and priced at a reasonable rate, real ale even better, served by child friendly and adult friendly people. Mostly tourists and business people, however the location was superb. I did not think for the money that we would end up staying somewhere as good.
The rooms are as good as any that i have spent three times on, which is amazing that you can find good value in such a great place. I looked on website and thought there must be a catch, however we did not find one. .

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2009

This is a lovely canal side pub with lots of outside seating. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms were modern with a lovely bathroom. We had a lovely sunny day which made the stay even better as we could sit outside. There are a few other pubs withing walking distance if you fancy a stroll. There were no boy racers in cars as someone else stated. The food was ok for the price, we paid £8 for a main meal which wasn't too bad. The only down side was we would have liked a full English breakfast in the morning. There is a small cafe type bar which offers things on toast and drinks. Other than that we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynTWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

got to inn about 5pm , nice and quite right by the water, given keys to our room ,very nice to a high standard, large bath room ,all new ,great , went and had a drink sat by the water, nice ,back to room and showed then changed to go to main building for dinner, this is when the good things ended, the car park was full of boy racers, driving around with out thought to any one when i say racers there were about 50 cars , in the resturant only 1 very over worked younge lady waiting on all the tables , and at the bar where you order your food and drinks a wait of 20 mins is to long ,the food ,i have had better ,cool and not a lot of it for the money,the white wine was warm , we wanted a sweet but after waiting at the bar with only 1 person serving for again over 20 mins i gave up , the inns owners need to get there act together as the rooms were very good,back across the boy racers to our room fealing let down , would i stay again NO nor would i recomend it to any one who wants a quite stay , good food and service,

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoghton
0.0 mi away
Bolton Whites Hotel
Bolton Whites Hotel
#1 of 13 in Bolton
1,205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
Last Drop Village Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bromley Cross
1,550 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bolton (Stadium/Arena) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Samlesbury Hotel
0.0 mi away
Mercure Bolton Georgian House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Worsley Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grill & Grain at the Boatyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grill & Grain at the Boatyard

Property: Grill & Grain at the Boatyard
Address: 2 Bolton Road, Hoghton PR5 0SP, England (Formerly The Boatyard)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Hoghton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hoghton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grill & Grain at the Boatyard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This place is temporarily closed due to a fire. It will reopen when repairs are complete. Our canalside location is a winner in the sunshine - sit back and relax with a long, cool drink as you watch the narrowboats float quietly by. And if the weather's not quite so pleasant, we've got loads of room inside with a choice of comfy sofas or dining chairs and tables.With great value food made on-site from locally sourced ingredients, our menu has something for everyone and the quality of our food is superior.Our bar has four beers on hand pump and we've got a great selection of lagers, cider, wines and soft drinks.And there's no rush to drive home after an evening at The Boatyard - why not stay in one of our six recently decorated and well appointed rooms.Then wake up to a hearty breakfast and grab a latte in our coffee shop before leaving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grill & Grain at the Boatyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boatyard Hotel Preston
Grill & Grain At The Boatyard Hoghton, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing