We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Macbeth at the Tower”
Review of Hoghton Tower

Hoghton Tower
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Hoghton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Hoghton Tower is one of Lancashire’s gems – come and find out why. A Tudor – Elizabethan manor and the ancestral home of the de Hoghton family, the Tower stands proudly on its hill overlooking the surrounding countryside. Join a guided tour of the panelled state rooms to hear about the history of the house, the family and the distinguished guests who have enjoyed the house over the centuries. Stroll through the beautiful walled gardens and take in the views. Kids will love the underground passages, the ramparts, dungeons and Dolls House collection. Take a browse in the gift shop and finish your day out in the tea room. Private and School tours available year round with prior arrangement. On the third Sunday of each month, come to our Farmers Market – ‘The Merchant of Hoghton’- a celebration of regional produce. Hoghton Tower can be hired on an exclusive basis for your private pary or wedding. Stay overnight in the Irishman's Tower. All income from tours benefits the Hoghton Tower Preservation Trust – preserving heritage for all.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Macbeth at the Tower”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our second year of watching the Handlebards at Hoghton Tower - four amazing young actors who had the audience spellbound and enthralled by their rendition of Macbeth. Wonderful setting for a summer's evening picnic with friends - we will eagerly look forward to the 'Bards' visit next year unless they are snapped up by the RSC!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    87
    17
    13
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lancashire Grade 1 gem”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We visited midweek during school term and spent a pleasant few hours there. The family came over with William the Conquerer and have lived in houses on this site since then. Very knowledgeable, entertaining guide. Good onsite café, serving homemade cakes, sandwiches etc. Due to its age there are lots of steps and no lift. Lovely grounds and rose garden

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank av c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoghtonTower, Manager at Hoghton Tower, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. We're delighted that you enjoyed your tour of the house and grounds and your visit to the tea room. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hoghton Tower Visit - A Great Day Out!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We visited Houghton Tower yesterday and enjoyed every minuet. On arrival we were able to look around the June, Farmers Market; which had a great selection of products and foods. We then went into the Tower and toured the gardens, which are walled and maintained to a very hight standard. We then went into the Tower for the 2.15pm guided tour, which was great. The staff who take you around, make this very enjoyable and interesting and could not of done more! I would not hesitate in recommending a visit to Houghton Tower and look forward to returning for one of their other events!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoghtonTower, Manager at Hoghton Tower, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We're so pleased that your enjoyed your day at the Tower and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“brilliant day and amazing guided tour of the tower”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We went to Hoghton tower when the kite event was on and had a thoroughly enjoyable day. The kites where lovely to see and there was the opportunity to make a kite which my daughter really enjoyed. We had lunch in the café which did a tasty lasagne and a plentiful children's lunch box. Unfortunately the café was the source of our only minor gripe with the day which was the rather sparsely filled and small Panini that we ordered for my son and the service was a bit hit and miss; lots of very young serving staff that didn't seem to know what they should be doing. The highlight of the day was the tour of the house. It was a children friendly tour and the guides were brilliant. The children dressed up as knights or princesses and the guides kept us all involved throughout the tour with props and interaction, whilst still imparting the history of the house and families that owned it, topped off with a performance from minstrels, in 17th century style, in the banqueting hall; it was absolutely excellent! Well worth a visit!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Archery24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoghtonTower, Manager at Hoghton Tower, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for your very kind words. We're delighted that you enjoyed your family day out and tour of the house. Those musicians are wonderful aren't they!
I have passed on your comments regarding the tea room to our catering manager - please be assured that all of your feedback is valued and that we will take steps to make improvements where our standards fall short of expectations.
We hope to see you again at one of our other events - The Jungle Book perhaps?!
Many thanks once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Day Trip Local”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

not been since a child and had good memories. Lovely day out, its a guided tour and not a wander around by yourself type of place. Very interesting and fun, Richard and Barbara very entertaining. Great for kids, they wouldn't be bored.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoghtonTower, Manager at Hoghton Tower, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We're delighted that enjoyed your tour and will pass on your comments to Richard and Barbara. Hope to see you at one of our summer events!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hoghton Tower also viewed

Samlesbury, Lancashire
Rufford, Lancashire
 

Been to Hoghton Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing