We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steeped in history” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoghton Tower

Hoghton Tower
Ranked #2 of 2 things to do in Hoghton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Hoghton Tower is one of Lancashire’s gems – come and find out why. A Tudor – Elizabethan manor and the ancestral home of the de Hoghton family, the Tower stands proudly on its hill overlooking the surrounding countryside. Join a guided tour of the panelled state rooms to hear about the history of the house, the family and the distinguished guests who have enjoyed the house over the centuries. Stroll through the beautiful walled gardens and take in the views. Kids will love the underground passages, the ramparts, dungeons and Dolls House collection. Take a browse in the gift shop and finish your day out in the tea room.Private and School tours available year round with prior arrangement. On the third Sunday of each month, come to our Farmers Market – ‘The Merchant of Hoghton’- a celebration of regional produce. Hoghton Tower can be hired on an exclusive basis for your private pary or wedding. Stay overnight in the Irishman's Tower. All income from tours benefits the Hoghton Tower Preservation Trust – preserving heritage for all.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Steeped in history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Well worth a visit and, if you can, go when there is a European Market on. They have a resident ghost and did you know that James 1st 'knighted the sirloin' there?

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank janelledarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoghtonTower, Manager at Hoghton Tower, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We (and the ghosts!) are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    84
    15
    13
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing afternoon walk through history.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Having lived fairly local and never heard of this place i was amazed upon pulling in to the long driveway to be met by a huge castle/ tower/ stately home.
We paid admission and booked onto a tour then spent the time in between checking out the grounds. Very well maintained and in very good condition throughout, we loved the views from the parapet and it was quite easy to picture yourself in the footsteps of past guardsmen along the walls.

The tour itself was fantastic, our guide was extremely knowledgeable, very enthusiastic and keen to involve the visitors in the narratives which added to the whole feel. Some unbelievable stories and pieces of history have taken place within the walls of this medieval home including some scandals involving a past king! Loved the story behind Sir loin steak and would recommend anyone from close or afar coming to hear the stories and history of the De Hoghton family.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoghtonTower, Manager at Hoghton Tower, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Tower and your walk through history. We hope to see you again soon - perhaps for one of our special events. Why not try the Farmers' Market this Sunday if you're local - lots of lovely local goodies to eat!
Many thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Slightly Disappointed - much more impressive from the outside.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Having lived in nearby Blackburn all my life, and having driven past Hoghton Tower countless times we FINALLY managed to pay this historic house a visit! It wasn't the best day - cold, windy and threatening rain - but this emphasised if anything the commanding and dramatic location.

We were met in the ticket office by a rather grumpy gentleman who looked horrified when I suggested I pay by card. I never carry much cash around with me. Apparently they only have a manual swipe machine and this would be too much trouble. I felt a little uncomfortable, then remembered I had a £20 note which I keep for emergencies. Instead of a smile and a thank you he took it with the same bad tempered expression. You can only look round as part of a tour we were told - the next tour is at 2.30, still no smile, or enjoy your visit .... Not an auspicious start! The rest of the staff we encountered were very nice however!

Rather a dour looking tea room. Toilets clean.

The tour was interesting - Bernard our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable up to a point, but he didn't seem to know the answers to many of the questions people asked and some of his dates were incorrect. Rather disappointed by the interior rooms which had something lacking. Don't expect a National Trust type experience. Admission is £8 per person - not cheap - not really value for money when there are no events taking place.

The building is beautiful and steeped in history but we came away feeling a little disappointed.

Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoghtonTower, Manager at Hoghton Tower, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Catherine
I'm very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit to Hoghton Tower and there are some points in your review that I would certainly like us to improve on - not least of which is the conduct of the person selling tickets on the day you visited, which I'm sure will have tainted your whole trip to the Tower.
Card payments are an ongoing bugbear for us as portable electronic card machines will not work at the Tower due to the poor signal. However, it should never be an issue for us to take a manual card payment and the ticket seller was obviously wrong to imply otherwise.
If it is not too much trouble could I ask you please to contact the office so that I can gain more information from you which will help us to improve our service and avoid similar experiences in the future. As you know, we are not a National Trust property (we're just a small charitable trust) so we do not have the same resources as they to plough into our visitor experience. We do however very much appreciate your comments which will help us to improve.
Once again I am very sorry for your disappointment and hope to hear from you soon.
Best regards
Lisa Brice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Evening performance of Sherlock Holmes.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We attended Houghton Tower last evening to see the open air performance of Sherlock Holmes.The setting provided was very private and bespoke.We arrived around 7.50pm just in time for the 8pm performance.We were shown to the rear lawn by staff . Once there we opened our deck chairs and seated ourselves for the evening performance.There were around 200 guests for the performance.The evening was beautiful and as the light faded there was a little nip in the cool summer night.The whole experience was nothing short of magnificent.The performance from the players was slick and professional and the two hours flew by in no time.Staff were on hand at the conclusion of the performance to escort guests to their vehicles etc.
There were picnics being eaten and wine being quaffed.This added to the whole experience.Tatton Park but in a more private setting.If you get the chance to attend one of these evenings,make an excuse,purchase a ticket and chill out for an evening to remember.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoghtonTower, Manager at Hoghton Tower, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us and the Chapterhouse Theatre Company and hope to welcome you back soon. If you'd like to sign up for our e-newsletter via our website, we can keep you up to date with all our forthcoming events.
Many thanks once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Liked - Atmosphere, information given about the place, knowledgeable tour guides, beautiful and well kept building steeped in history. One of my favourite places since I was a child.
Disliked - nothing apart from the fact I would love to live there!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoghtonTower, Manager at Hoghton Tower, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thanks very much for your very kind words. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that we're one of your favourite places! If you fancy living at the Tower, why not try a short break in our Irishman's Tower self-catering accommodation - a romantic secluded hideaway in your very own rampart! We hope to see you again soon. Many thanks once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hoghton Tower also viewed

Samlesbury, Lancashire
Chorley, Lancashire
 

Been to Hoghton Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing