We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite simply a must not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Ambrosia

L'Ambrosia
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Pezens
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Aragon, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quite simply a must not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

I have eaten here a number of times over the last few years and have never been disappointed. It's a rare and exciting experience to be there at the beginning of such a meteoric career. Daniel Minet is an enormously talented young chef already recognised by the great and the good of the culinary world. Every meal an adventure of culinary delights through which the diner is skillfully led by one of the attentive members of staff. Add to this the warmth and charm of Daniel's father and the chance to visit L'Ambrosia must not be missed - you owe it to yourself.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    40
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuq Toulza, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“wonderful culinary experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Dinner at LAmbrosia was ecxellent; the food was exquisite and the wine was great! The service was a bit long (only because I did not have much time available that evening.) I would appreciate the sommelier giving me advise on the type of wine that would suit the food rather than asking me if I wanted red or white, fruity or dry (which I suppose would be fine with somebody else....) The young waiter was very efficient and knowledgable. The highlight of the dinner was the "paella destructurée 2012" which was delicious!! As I was travelling alone I look forward to going back and sharing the experience with friends!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank philandoTarnFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ambrosia is a perfect name for this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

The food and service are impeccable at this wonderful 1 star Michelin restaurant. I felt that the price of the menu was fair - 44 euros for a 3 course meal + 2 amuses bouche and pre- and pos-dessert. The food was fabulous and presented beautifully! The server recommended a good middle priced wine which was perfect with the menu. I will be sending friends here.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ChiliGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“What a great surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

This place is a hidden gem! Situated 15 mins to the north of Carcassonne, this is lovely. There is plenty of parking so no issues there. The menus are innovative and varied and you get lots of treats such as pre-desserts etc. We have eaten here twice in the last month with different friends and it's been a real winner. Both times we went for the 44euro menu - which was great! The foie gras selection was the best I think I have ever had the macaroon is a surprise with the black truffle but delicious.

The decor is a little old but the food and wine (good selection and not overly expensive)more than makes up for it - as does the attentive
service. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this if you fancy somewhere new/out of town for a change.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jules196350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
153 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Good, but overpriced for what they offer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

This Restaurant recently got a Michelin star.
It's the youngest chef in France to get this star.
Food is really god and service is OK, but very slow.
I was expecting more for the most expensive meal in our 20 day trip in Europe

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudio-1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Ambrosia also viewed

 

Been to L'Ambrosia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing